njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group:

Department of Institutions and Agencies

Subgroup: New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute



Institutional History

The New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute in Montgomery Township, Somerset County, had its origins in the State Village for Epileptics, which was established on the site in 1898 for the care and treatment of children and adults with epilepsy (P.L. 1898, chap. 113, p.185). In light of advances in the treatment of epilepsy during the 1940s and 1950s, the State Board of Control determined in 1952 that a facility exclusively for epileptics was no longer necessary. In September of that year, the Board appointed Dr. Robert S. Garber as superintendent of the Village to redirect its purposes.

In 1953, the New Jersey Legislature formally abolished the State Village and replaced it with the New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute. The latter agency's stated purpose was to "study the causes and to contribute to the knowledge of the control, prevention and the cure of neuropsychiatric disorders" and to provide care and treatment for individuals "suffering from diseases and disfunction of the brain and nervous system, including acute alcoholics, drug addicts, cerebral palsy cases and juvenile psychotics who require hospital care" (P.L. 1953, chap. 122, p. 1307). The Institute took over the Village's lands and facilities, and those serving on the Village Board of Managers continued as members of the Institute's board until their terms expired. Under Dr. Garber's guidance, sixty percent of the Village's epileptic patients were re-evaluated and either sent back into their communities or transferred to other state facilities. The resulting patient space could then be used for the treatments described in the Institute's establishing legislation.

Among the programs developed at the Institute were: a facility to care for emotionally disturbed and psychotic children; an in-patient treatment center for male alcoholics (which also provided statewide aid to out-patient facilities run by the New Jersey Department of Heath); and a regional Mental Health Center to provide in-patient and out-patient psychiatric services to residents of Somerset County. The Institute also continued treating epileptics through the New Jersey Consultation Service for Convulsive Disorders, which ran clinics for epileptics throughout the state and provided residential services for those with severe cases of the disease.

Further, as the establishing legislation directed, the Institute served as a center for research and training. Its Research Bureau conducted studies in experimental psychology, neuro-endocrinology, neuropsychology and neuropharmacology. Graduate and postgraduate study of neuropsychiatry was provided through various residency training programs. These included a 3-year psychiatric residency training program and a 4-year program covering general and child psychiatry.

On 1 July 1983, the Institute was renamed the North Princeton Developmental Center. Today (1994) the Center treats patients with developmental disabilities, neurological disorders, and cerebral palsy.



Bibliography

Baker, Walter C. A History of the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics. (Belle Mead, NJ: Van Harlingen Historical Society, 1993).

Mendelson, Michael and Helen Burlingham. "A History of the New Jersey Neuropsychiatric Institute" [unpublished paper]. (Skillman, NJ, 1972).


Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations