njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Institutions and Agencies
Subgroup: New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute
Series: Minutes of the Board of Managers, 1952-1981
Accession #: 1994.032, 1995.057
Series #:  SINNE001
Guide Date:   12/1994 (EC)
Volume:  1.75 c.f. [7 volumes]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

This series consists of the minute books of the Board of Managers of the New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute covering the period 11 February 1953 to 18 November 1981. The first volume documents the transitional period when the State Village for Epileptics was reorganized to become the Neuro-Psychiatric Institute. Pages 1-27 of this volume (covering 10 September 1952 - 14 January 1953) contain minutes for the Village alone; pages 28-51 (covering 11 February 1953 - 15 April 1953) contain minutes for joint board meetings of the Village and the Institute. The remainder of the volume contains minutes for the Institute only. NOTE: Although the Institute's minutes do not officially begin until February 1953, the entire volume is pertinent to the history of this agency as the planning for it is documented beginning on 10 September 1952.

In addition to detailed information about the organization of the Neuro-Psychiatric Institute, the minute books describe the development of its programs and services. They also chronicle the admission and discharge of patients and other day-to-day administrative functions.


Contents

Box Inclusive Dates
1 10 September 1952 - 5 February 1955
2 9 March 1955 - 12 February 1958
3 9 April 1958 - 21 August 1963
4 18 September 1963 - 19 February 1969
5 19 March 1969 - 18 October 1972
6 15 November 1972 - 19 May 1976
7 16 June 1976 - 18 November 1981

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations