njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Institutions and Agencies
Subgroup: New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute
Series: Admission Registers, 1954-1983
Accession #: 1996.038, 1998.047
Series #:  SINNE002
Guide Date:   11/1996, Rev. 3/2000 (EC)
Volume:  1.25 c.f. [5 boxes]


Institutional History | Content Note | Contents | Notice to Researchers

Access Note

The records of patients admitted to state hospitals are confidential as stipulated by NJSA 30:4-24.3, which reads as follows:

All certificates, applications, records, and reports made pursuant to the provisions of Title 30 of the Revised Statutes and directly or indirectly identifying any individual presently or formerly receiving services in a noncorrectional institution under Title 30 of Revised Statutes, or for whom services in a noncorrectional institution shall be sought under this act shall be confidential and shall not be disclosed by any person...

Exceptions to this rule can only be made when: 1) the patient or his or her legal guardian gives consent to access; 2) a court, for the purposes of its proceedings, deems that failure of the disclosure of this information is contrary to the public interest; 3) disclosure is deemed necessary by the Commissioner of Human Services in order to carry out any provisions of Title 30 or Article 9 of NJSA 2A:82; or 4) disclosure is deemed necessary by the Commissioner of Human Services in order to conduct an investigation to determine the patient's financial ability to pay for services received.



Content Note

This series consists of registers of admissions to the New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute for the period February 1953 to June 1983. The first admission records for the Institute are contained in the final volume (No. 13) of the admission registers of its predecessor, the New Jersey State Village for Epileptics at Skillman. A photocopy of the relevant portion of this volume is included here. Beginning with Volume 14, the Institute used its own admission form (though the State Village's admission number sequence was continued). The Neuro-Psychiatric Institute's admission form records the following information for each patient: admission number, the patient's name, sex, race, date and place of birth, marital status, occupation, name and relationship of responsible party, and date of release, transfer or death.



Contents

Box Vol. Admission Nos. Inclusive Dates
1 13 #6260-6412 February 1953 - October 1954 [photocopy]
  [14] #6413-7412 October 1954 - July 1957
2 15 #7413-8410 July 1957 - May 1959
3 16 #8411-9409 May 1959 - June 1961
4 - #13310-21021 September 1966 - September 1971 [notebooks]
5 - #20583-28250 September 1971 - June 1983


Notice to Researchers Using Admission Records of the
New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute


A patient admission number will be needed in order to locate an individual record in the Neuro-Psychiatric Institute's admission registers. Admission numbers can be obtained by contacting:

Division of Developmental Disabilities
P.O. Box 726

Trenton, NJ 08625-0726
(609) 292-9435


Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations