njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Institutions and Agencies
Subgroup: New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute
Series: Miscellaneous Administrative Records and Publications, 1954-1987
Accession #: 1994.032
Series #:  SINNE003
Guide Date:   12/1994 (EC)
Volume:  0.25 c.f. [1 box]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

This series consists of miscellaneous materials relating to the administration of the New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute. Included are various histories of the Institute, a survey of the Institutes' buildings, and a 1965 proposal for the development of the grounds into a comprehensive psychiatric facility. NOTE: This series also contains historical material from the Van Harlingen Historical Society which postdates the reorganization of the Neuro-Psychiatric Institute as the North Princeton Developmental Center.


Contents

1. Miscellaneous histories [6 items]:
    a. "A Mini History of the New Jersey Neuropsychiatric Institute," no date.
    b. "Pertinent Facts, July 1954 - July 1955, at The New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute, Princeton, New Jersey."
    c. "Dedication of the Edward A. Strecker Building, The New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute, June 28, 1957."
    d. "Prospectus of Program at the New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute" by Robert E. Bennett, M.D., 18 September 1962.
    e. "A History of the New Jersey Neuropsychiatric Institute" by Michael Mendelson, M.D., in collaboration with Helen Burlingham, Skillman, NJ, 3 March 1972.
    f. "New Jersey Neuropsychiatric Institute," January 1981 [chronology and organizational chart].
2. Compilations on the use of facility buildings [2 items]:
    a. "History of the Facility Building at North Princeton Developmental Center," no date [lists buildings by name, showing date of construction and usage; includes structures built in 1982 and 1984].
    b. Survey of Neuro-Psychiatric Institute buildings, ca. late 1950s.
3. Materials from the Van Harlingen Historical Society [4 items]:
    a. Van Harlingen Historian: Newsletter of the Van Harlingen Historical Society, Summer 1985 [includes an article which describes the six historic farms which became the North Princeton Developmental Center's grounds].
    b. Van Harlingen Historian: Newsletter of the Van Harlingen Historical Society, Spring 1987 [describes the "May in Montgomery" program but does not mention the Developmental Center specifically].
    c. May in Montgomery: "Villages on View," Blawenburg, Bridgepoint, Harlingen, May 16, 1987, Montgomery Township, Somerset County, NJ."
    d. Note from Montgomery Banister, President of the Van Harlingen Historical Society, to Elio J. Bernochi, Business Manager of the North Princeton Developmental Center, thanking him for the Center's participation in the "May in Montgomery" program, 30 May 1987.
4. "Preliminary Design For The New Jersey Psychiatric Institute, Skillman, New Jersey, State Control Number BC-4736," Diehl and Stein, Architects, Princeton, NJ, 1 December 1965.

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations