njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Institutions and Agencies
Subgroup: New Jersey Home for Disabled Soldiers
Series: Case Files [Incomplete], ca. 1866-1920s
Accession #: 1993.024
Series #: 

SINSH001

Guide Date:  1993 (JK)
Volume: 37 c.f. [74 boxes]


Institutional History | Content Note | Box List

Access Note

Patient information contained in this series is confidential as per NJSA 30:4-24.3, which reads in part: “All certificates, applications records, and reports made pursuant to the provisions of Title 30 of the Revised Statutes and directly or indirectly identifying any individual presently or formerly receiving services in a non correctional institution under Title 30 or the Revised Statutes, or for whom services in a non correctional institution shall be sought under this act shall be kept confidential and shall not be disclosed by any person ... ”



Institutional History

The New Jersey Home for Disabled Soldiers was established under the direction of Governor Marcus L. Ward in 1865 by An Act to authorize the establishment of a Home for Disabled Soldiers. The institution was modeled after Louis XIV's "Hotel des Invalides" (according to the Home's first annual report), and opened on 4 July 1866 to all soldiers who served New Jersey and were disabled by wounds, or who had served thirty years and received a pension. In 1867, admission was also opened to soldiers who were not residents of the state when they enlisted, but had been disabled while serving in New Jersey (see A supplement to "An Act to authorize the establishment of a Home for Disabled Soldiers"). The supplemental legislation also provided for temporary admittance of state residents whose disability was incurred subsequent to service, and to out-of-state soldiers who were in distress. In 1903, An Act relating to admission to the Home for Disabled Soldiers also enabled widows, whose husbands would have been eligible for admittance, to be granted admission.



Content Note

These case files relate to veterans of the Civil War, Spanish-American War, and World War I. The files vary greatly in content, but often contain the following types of documents: applications for admission, discharge papers, death notices, correspondence, and wills. In many cases, the documents record the names and addresses of next-of-kin, in addition to information on the veteran. The series is arranged alphabetically by the name of the resident. Following the box contents list below, the files are listed individually. In cases where there was more than one file under a particular name, additional information has provided relative to military service.

NOTE: It is known that probably 4-5 cubic feet of case files were lost prior to the transfer of this series to the State Archives. This material was apparently lost after the files were removed from file cabinets and placed in boxes. Because the files were completely jumbled at the time of boxing, sections are missing throughout the entire alphabet. The following large sections of the alphabet are clearly missing (except for a few items which had been misfiled): the end of the K's, all of the L's, some of the Mac's, all of the Mc's, the beginning of the Van's.



Box List

Box Contents
1 Abbot - Alston
2 Ambrose - Astley
3 Atchinson - Bannon
4 Baptiste - Beacher
5 Beadle - Berg
6 Bergen - Blackwood
7 Blaich - Britton
8 Broadhead - Caldwell
9 Callaghan - Carley
10 Carlile - Conklin
11 Conley - Coonan
12 Coonrod - Cozine
13 Cozzens - Cullen
14 Culley - Davidson
15 Davis - Deitrich
16 Delacroix - Dietz
17 Dietzel - Donnelly
18 Donoho - Driscoll
19 Dromsfield - Dutlinger
20 Dwight - Elberg
21 Elberson - Everett
22 Everham - Farrelly
23 Farrington - Fireng
24 Firth - Forbes
25 Ford - Frick
26 Fried - Garland
27 Garnier - Gemble
28 Gendling - Goetz
29 Goldberg - Grassman
30 Halford - Harris, Charles
31 Harris, Edward - Hawk
32 Hawke - Hooper, Stephen
33 Hooper, Thomas - Huethwohl
34 Huff - Hurtt
35 Husch - Kase
36 Kates - Lynch
37 Maas - Malone
38 Maloy - Marshall
39 Marston - Miller, John P.
40 Miller, Joseph - Monks
41 Monroe - Moran
42 Morch - Mosson
43 Mott - Muri
44 Murphy - Myers
45 Nagel - Noirot
46 Nolan - O'Grady
47 O'Hara - Page
48 Paige - Perrine
49 Perrott - Plummer
50 Plunkett - Proal
51 Probert - Ransier
52 Rapp - Rey
53 Reynolds - Rivington
54 Roach - Roselle
55 Ross - Ryan
56 Ryer - Schmidt
57 Schmiedle - Seher
58 Seiber - Shipps
59 Shireff - Skillman
60 Skirm - Smith, John H.
61 Smith, John S. - Sorrell
62 Sorter - Stay
63 Stickle - Stockman
64 Stopkes - Sutherland
65 Sutphen - Terhune
66 Terrell - Timpson
67 Tindall - Trowbridge
68 Troxell - Urie
69 Van Stevens - Wain
70 Wait - Warden
71 Ware - Williams, George H.
72 Williams, Hiram W. - Winans
73 Winchell - Wrigley
74 Wyckoff - Zitzow

Created November 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations