njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Institutions and Agencies
Subgroup: New Jersey Home for Disabled Soldiers
Series: Minutes of the Board of Managers, 1866-1903
Accession #: 2003.077
Series #:  SINSH003
Guide Date:  1/2004 (EC)
Volume: 1.2 c.f. [4 vols., 1 portfolio]


Content Note | Contents

Access Note

Patient information contained in this series is confidential as per NJSA 30:4-24.3 which reads in part: "All certificates, applications records, and reports made pursuant to the provisions of Title 30 of the Revised Statutes and directly or indirectly identifying any individual presently or formerly receiving services in a non correctional institution under Title 30 or the Revised Statutes, or for whom services in a non correctional institution shall be sought under this act shall be kept confidential and shall not be disclosed by any person ..."



Content Note

This series consist of minutes of the Board of Managers of the New Jersey Home for Disabled Soldiers for the period 25 May 1866 to 20 March 1903. Although the early minutes are brief and sporadic, they become more informative and regular beginning in July of 1875. The minutes include some information regarding the Home’s governance, finances and personnel, but most information and discussion centers on admission to or expulsion from the facility. Names of those who have applied, been admitted or expelled are routinely recorded throughout.

On 7 January 1889, new bylaws established a standing Executive Committee of the Board, which became responsible for the general supervision of the Home’s management. This included the physical plant, finances, and personnel, as well as admissions and expulsions. The Executive Committee (which would meet more often then the full Board) began keeping its minutes in the third volume of this series, while the Board’s minutes continued in volume 2. Beginning on 1 May 1893, Board minutes were recorded chronologically with the Executive Committee minutes in volumes 3 and 4.

It should also be noted that beginning on page 350 of volume 2 are the minutes of the commission to “select and purchase a site and erect a building for a new Home for Disabled Soldiers,” (PL 1886, chap. 45, p. 124) covering the period 3 May 1886 to 18 November 1889. Most of the Board members were also appointed to this commission, which may explain the dual use of this volume. Finally, volume 2 also included several loose items that have been foldered separately and placed at the end of the series.



Contents

1.
25 May 1866 - 6 September 1880
2.
8 November 1880 - 6 February 1893
3 May 1886 - 18 November 1889 (Commission Minutes)
3.
14 January 1889 - 18 March 1895 (Executive Committee and Board)
4.
1 April 1895 - 20 March 1903 (Executive Committee and Board)
5.
Rough Minutes and Miscellaneous loose items found in Volume 2:

a. Rough minutes - 27 November 1888
b. Rough minutes - 11 February 1889, 18 February 1889, 1 April 1889
c. Rough minutes - 9 April 1889
d. Rough minutes - 18 November 1889
e. Rough minutes - 6 February 1893
f. Letter from Superintendent Peter F. Rogers to the Board of Managers, 5 April 1891
g. Miscellaneous notes, no dates

Created November 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations