njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Legislature
Series: Inventories of Damages by the British and Americans in New Jersey, 1776-1782
Accession #: Unknown
Series #:  SLE00003
Guide Date:  1/1992 (JK)
Volume: 1.5 c.f. [7 vols.]; 2 reels [35-mm]


Contents | Reel List

Legislative History

In order to enable the state legislature to devise a means for relief of New Jersey citizens who had suffered personal damages during the Revolutionary War, the Council and General Assembly passed an act on 20 December 1781 to procure an estimate of damages done in the state by the British troops or their adherents, by the Continental Army, or by the militia of New Jersey or of neighboring states (Chap. V, Laws of 1781, p. 6). The act authorized appraisers in each county to make inventories for each damage claim, and required them to file these inventories with the legislature at their first sitting after each annual election.

An amendment to the act, dated 27 December, stipulated that the appraisers were to meet beginning in August 1782. The inventories, however, are dated as late as 1786; and the appraisers recorded in most of the volumes are not those appointed in 1781. Finally, it should be noted that there are no inventories on file for Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Monmouth, Salem, or Sussex counties.



Contents

Volume Contents
  Index
1 Damages by the British
in Bergen County
2 Damages by the British
in Burlington County
3 Damages by the British
in Essex County 
4 Damages by the British
in Middlesex County
5 Damages by the British
in Somerset County 
6 Damages by the Americans (in Bergen, Burlington, Hunterdon, Morris, Somerset)
& Acct. of James Whitall, Red Bank, 1779


Reel Listing - REVOLUTIONARY WAR

Reel Contents Explanatory Notes
236 Inventory of Damages by the British
and Americans, 1776-1782
Index to Damages
British Damages - Monmouth & Essex Counties
American Damages - Bergen & Hunterdon Counties
237 Inventories of Damages by the British
and Americans, 1776-1782
British Damages - Bergen, Burlington, Middlesex & Somerset Counties

Created April 2005
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations