njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Legislature
Series: Petitions and Other Papers relating to County Courthouses and the Establishment of Counties, 1760-1858
Accession #: Unknown
Series #:  SLE00007
Guide Date:  Pre-1989
Volume: 0.5 c.f. [1 box] & 1 OV folder



Contents

1. Report of the Governor's Council concerning an ad for building a Court House and goal in Sussex County.
22 November 1760.
2. Petition of the Freeholders and Inhabitants of part of the Township of Dover, Monmouth County to the Legislature supporting the creation of a new County. 4 March 1786.
3. Petition of a number of Freeholders and Inhabitants of Bergen County to the Governor, Legislature Council and General Assembly in support of a law authorizing the building of a new Court House. 18 October 1784.
4. Petition of the inhabitants of Little Egg Harbor, Burlington County in support of a New County. 22 December 1784.
5. Petition of the inhabitants of Gloucester County to the Legislative Council and General Assembly supporting the Division of the County. 3 April 1785. [See OV folder].
6. Extract from the Minutes of the Board of Justices and Freeholders of Salem County. 23 July 1785.
7. Deposition of inhabitants of Burlington County concerning the creation of a new county. 19 November 1785.
8. Petition of the inhabitants of Gloucester County to the Legislative Council and General Assembly supporting the creation of a new county. 12 May 1786. [2 items].
9. Petition of the inhabitants of Gloucester County to the Legislative Council and General Assembly proposing that a new county be created. 15 May 1786. [4 items].
10. Report of Assembly Committee to consider the petition of Little Egg Harbor and Dover Township. 16 May 1792.
11. Samuel W. Stockton to the President of the Legislative Council, Trenton. 29 October 1792.
12. Petition of inhabitants of Little Egg Harbor Township, Burlington County to the Legislature concerning the creation of a new county. 17 May 1793.
13. Petition of inhabitants of Stafford Township, Monmouth County to the Legislature concerning the creation of a new county. 8 October 1793.
14. Petition of the inhabitants of Dover Township, Monmouth County to the Legislature, concerning the creation of a new county. 8 October 1793.
15. Petition of the Board of Justices and Freeholders of Burlington County to the Council and General Assembly in support of a law authorizing a new Court House to be built. 2 January 1794.
16. Petition of inhabitants of Burlington County to the Legislative Council and General Assembly opposing a law to vote for a new Court House. 11 January 1794. [2 items].
17. Petition of the inhabitants of Burlington County to the Legislative Council and General Assembly opposing a law to vote for a place for a new Court House. 11 January 1794. [10 items].
18. Petition of inhabitants of Burlington County to the Legislative Council and General Assembly in support of a law to vote for a place for a new Court House. 20 January 1794. [10 items].
19. Petition of inhabitants of Burlington County to the Legislative Council and General Assembly in support of a law to vote for a place for a new Court House. 20 January 1794. [13 items].
20. Extract from the Minutes of the House of Assembly. 12 February 1794.
21. Petition of the inhabitants of Little Egg Harbor, Stafford and Dover Township concerning the creation of a new County. 12 February 1794.
22. Petition of the Freeholders and Inhabitants of Little Egg Harbor, Burlington County to the Legislature in support of a new County. 30 September 1794.
23. Petition of the inhabitants of Little Egg Harbor, Burlington County, to the Legislature concerning the creation of a new County. 30 September 1794.
24. Petition of the inhabitants of Somerset to the Legislative Council and General Assembly concerning the Court House. 17 October 1796. [2 items].
25. Petition of Freeholders and Inhabitants of Somerset County concerning location of Court House. 20 January 1797.
26. Petition of a number of inhabitants of Somerset County to the Legislature concerning the Court House.
17 February 1797.
27. Petition of the inhabitants of Washington Township, Morris County to the Legislative Council and General Assembly to create a new County. 26 December 1800.
28. Petition of the inhabitants of Mansfield Township, Sussex County to the Legislative Council and General Assembly supporting the erection of a new County. 26 December 1800. [2 items].
29. Report of [Assembly] Committee concerning petitions of inhabitants of Sussex, Morris and Hunterdon supporting the creation of a new County. 9 February 1801.
30. Petitions of the inhabitants to the Legislative Council and General Assembly opposing the division of Sussex County. August-September 1801. [6 items].
31. Petition of inhabitants to the Legislative Council and General Assembly opposing the division of Sussex County. September 1810. [17 items].
32. Extract of Minutes of meeting held in Hardwick Township, concerning the division of Sussex County. 26 December 1810.
33. Petitions of the inhabitants to the Legislative Council and General Assembly supporting the Division of Sussex County. December 1815. [7 items].
34. Extract of Minutes for a meeting held at Sparta, Sussex County concerning the division of the County.
5 January 1816.
35. Copied from the Record of the Board of Freeholders of Salem County. 4 August 1816 - 14 May 1817.
36. Extract of Proceedings of the Board of Freeholders of Salem County. 14 August 1816.
37. Extract of the Minutes for a meeting held in Newton Township, Sussex County concerning the division of the County. 26 December 1816.
38. Extract of Minutes for a meeting involving Montague, Sandiston, and Wallpack Townships, Sussex County concerning the division of the County. 2 January 1817.
39. Extract of the Minutes of a meeting held in Vernon, Sussex County concerning the division of the County.
8 January 1817.
40. Petition of the inhabitants of Salem County to the Board of Freeholders of said county in opposition to the building of a new Court House. 2 May 1817.
41. Petition of the inhabitants of Salem County to the Board of Freeholders in opposition to the building of a new Court House. 2-10 May 1817. [9 items].
42. Petition of the inhabitants of Salem County to Council and General Assembly in opposition to the building of a new Court House. 16 June 1817. [24 items].
43. Petition of the inhabitants of Mansfield Township, Sussex County to the Legislative Council and General Assembly supporting the erection of a new county. October 1823.
44. Petition of the citizens of Morris County to the Legislature to create a new county with Hackettstown as the county seat. 15 January 1858. [7 items].
45. Petition of the Board of Freeholders of Bergen County to the Council and General Assembly for a law authorizing the change in location of the County Court until the new Court House is completed. [N.D.].
46. Petition of citizens of Middlesex County to the Legislature opposing the creation of a new County to be named Stockton. [N.D.].
47. Petition of the inhabitants of Middlesex County to the Senate and General Assembly opposing the creation of a new County to be named Stockton. [N.D.]. [4 items].
48. Petition of the inhabitants of Sussex to the Legislature for a law authorizing an election to determine the location of the Court House. [N.D.].
49. Petition of the inhabitants of Sussex County to the Legislature supporting the division of Sussex County. [N.D.].
[2 items].
50. Petition of the inhabitants of Sussex County to the Legislature opposing the creation of a new County. [N.D.].
51. Petition of the inhabitants of the Lower Part of Sussex County to the Legislative Council and General Assembly opposing the division of Sussex County. [N.D.].

Created April 2005
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations