njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: New Jersey State Archives
Series: Original Military Commissions, Discharge Papers and Soldiers' Memorials, 1861-1910
Accession #: 1975.003, 1977.037, 1989.029, 1995.017, 1999.049, 1999.055 and unknown
Series #:  SNJSA009
Guide Date:  4/1995 (JK); rev. 9/1999 (EC)
Volume: 1 c.f. [13 items]


Contents

Content Note

This series contains original commissions, discharge papers, and memorial certificates of New Jersey soldiers and sailors. The majority of the records pertain to Civil War soldiers and were received by the Archives from private sources. Researchers should note that a great number of similar documents (probably received by the Adjutant General's Office from private sources) can still be found in the bound Civil War regimental records.



Contents

Box
1. Commission certificate, Capt. John G. C. Macfarlan, Ten Eyck Guards, 1st Regiment, Burlington Brigade, New Jersey Militia, Trenton, NJ, 1 August 1861 [14"x17"; Accession #1977.037].
2. Discharge certificate, Private Silas H. Benjamin, 5th New Jersey Light Artillery [Battery E], New Jersey Volunteers, Richmond, VA, 12 June 1865 [8.5"x11"; Accession #1999.049].
3. Discharge certificate of Private James T. Jones, Company B, 4th Regiment of the New Jersey Veterans Volunteers, Halls Hill, VA, 23 June 1865 [8.5"x11"; Accession #1999.055].
4. Honorable discharge certificate, Private Lewis Gooden, Company A, 3rd Regiment, New Jersey Cavalry Volunteers, 4 July 1866 [14"x18"; Accession #1975.003].
5. Honorable discharge certificate, Private John Wilson, Company B, 29th Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers, Trenton, NJ, 4 July 1866 [14"x16.5"; Accession #1989.029].
6. Papers of Private Samuel Crowell, Company M, 2nd Cavalry, New Jersey Volunteers, 1863 and 1866 [2 items], as follows:
  a) Honorable discharge certificate, Trenton, NJ, 4 July 1866 [16"x20"].
  b) Soldier's memorial for Company M, Trenton, NJ, 28 September 1863 [14"x18.5"].
7. Discharge certificate of Seaman Warren Jones, First Division, Battalion of the West, New Jersey Naval Reserve, Trenton, NJ, 21 March, 1901 [8.5"x11"; Accession #1999.055].
8. Papers of Cpl. David Herbert, Co. E, 6th Regiment/Co. F, 8th Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers, 1888-1910 [5 items; Accession #1995.017], as follows:
  a) Service certificate, Adjutant General's Office, Trenton, NJ, 7 July 1888 [8"x10.5"].
  b) Letter from Adjutant General C. McClure re: request for replacement discharge certificate, War Department, Washington, DC, 23 December 1910 [8"x10.5"].
  c) Certificate in Lieu of Lost or Destroyed Discharge Certificate, War Department, Washington, DC, 28 December 1910 [8.5"x11"].
  d) Personalized memorial certificate, no date [16"x26" on board, edges chipped; provides service details and notes on the history of the 6th and 8th regiments].
  e) "Army of the Potomac" memorial published by The National Tribune, Washington, DC, 1904 [19"x25.5", badly torn].

Created July 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations