njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of State
Subgroup: Census Bureau
Series: 1885 State Census of New Jersey
Accession #: Unknown
Series #:  SSTCE004
Guide Date:  12/2003 (A)
Volume: 35 c.f. [45 boxes]; 11reels [35-mm]


Reel List

Contents

Volume Contents
1 Atlantic County (all)
2 Bergen County (all)
3 Burlington County:
Bass River Twp. - Florence Twp.
4 Burlington County:
Egg Harbor Twp. - Woodland Twp.
5 Camden County:
Centre Twp. - Winslow Twp.
6 Camden County:
Camden City (Wards 1-4)
7 Camden County:
Camden City (Wards 5-8)
8 Cape May County (all)
9 Cumberland County:
Bridgeton City - Hopewell Twp.
10 Cumberland County:
Landis Twp. - Stone Creek Twp.
11 Essex County:
Belleville Twp. - Montclair Twp.
12 Essex County:
City of Newark (Wards 1-5)
13 Essex County:
City of Newark (Wards 6-8)
14 Essex County:
City of Newark (Wards 9-12)
15 Essex County:
City of Newark (Wards 13-15)
16 Essex County:
City of Orange - West Orange Twp.
17 Gloucester County (all)
18 Hudson County:
City of Bayonne - Harrison Twp.
19 Hudson County:
Kearney Twp. - West Hoboken Twp.
20 Hudson County:
Jersey City (District 1)
21 Hudson County:
Jersey City (District 2)
22 Hudson County:
Jersey City (District 3)
23 Hudson County:
Jersey City (District 4)
24 Hudson County:
Jersey City (District 5)
25 Hudson County:
City of Hoboken
26 Hunterdon County (all)
27 Mercer County:
Chambersburg - Princeton Twp.
28 Mercer County:
City of Trenton - West Windsor Twp.
29 Middlesex County:
Cranbury Twp. - New Brunswick
30 Middlesex County:
North Brunswick - Woodbridge Twp.
31 Monmouth County:
Atlantic Twp. - Millstone Twp.
32 Monmouth County:
Neptune Twp. - Wall Twp.
33 Morris County:
Boonton Twp. - Montville Twp.
34 Morris County:
Morris Twp. - Washington Twp.
35 Ocean County (all)
36 Passaic County:
Acquackanonk Twp. - West Milford Twp.
37 Passaic County:
City of Paterson (Wards 1-4)
38 Passaic County:
City of Paterson (Wards 5-8)
39 Salem County (all)
40 Somerset County (all)
41 Sussex County (all)
42 Union County:
Clark Twp. - City of Elizabeth
43 Union County:
Fanwood Twp. - Westfield Twp.
44 Warren County (all)
45 Abstract (entire state)



Reel Listing - 1885 STATE CENSUS

Reel Contents Explanatory Notes
1 Atlantic Co. (all)  
2 Bergen Co. (all)  
3 Burlington Co.:
Bass River - Florence Twp.
 
4 Burlington Co.:
Little Egg Harbor - Woodland
 
5 Camden Co.:
Centre - Winslow Twp.
 
6 Camden Co.:
Camden City (1st - 4th Wards)
 
7 Camden Co.:
Camden City (5th - 8th Wards)
 
8 Cape May Co. (all)  
9 Cumberland Co.:
Bridgeton - Hopewell Twp.
 
10 Cumberland Co.:
Landis - Stone Creek Twp.
 
11 Essex Co.:
Belleville - Montclair Twp.
 
12 Essex Co.:
Newark (1st - 5th Wards)
 
13 Essex Co.:
Newark (6th - 8th Wards)
 
14 Essex Co.:
Newark (9th - 12th Wards)
 
15 Essex Co.:
Newark (13th - 15th Wards)
 
16 Essex Co.:
Orange - West Orange Twp.
 
17 Gloucester Co. (all)  
18 Hudson Co.:
Bayonne - Harrison
 
19 Hudson Co.:Kearny - West Hoboken Twp.  
20 Hudson Co.:
Jersey City (1st District)
 
21 Hudson Co.:
Jersey City (2nd District)
 
22 Hudson Co.:
Jersey City (3rd District)
 
23 Hudson Co.:
Jersey City (4th District)
 
24 Hudson Co.:
Jersey City (5th - 6th Districts)
 
25 Hudson Co.:
Hoboken (1st - 4th Wards)
 
26 Hunterdon Co. (all)  
27 Mercer Co.:
Chambersburg - Princeton Twp.
 
28 Mercer Co.:
Trenton - West Windsor Twp.
 
29 Middlesex Co.:
Cranbury - New Brunswick
 
30 Middlesex Co.:
North Brunswick - Woodbridge Twp.
 
31 Monmouth Co.:
Atlantic - Millstone Twp.
 
32 Monmouth Co.:
Neptune - Wall Twp.
 
33 Morris Co.:
Boonton - Montville Twp.
 
34 Morris Co.:
Morris - Washington Twp.
 
35 Ocean Co. (all)  
36 Passaic Co.:
Acquackanonk - West Milford Twp.
 
37 Passaic Co.:
Paterson (1st - 4th Wards)
 
38 Passaic Co.:
Paterson (5th - 8th Wards)
 
39 Salem Co. (all)  
40 Somerset Co. (all)  
41 Sussex Co. (all)  
42

Union Co.:
Clark - Elizabeth

 
43 Union Co.:
Fanwood - Westfield Twp.
 
44 Warren Co. (all)  
45 Summary of 1885 Census by County  

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations