njhome my new jersey people business government departments
Archives collection guides


Record Group: Department of State
Subgroup: Secretary of State's Office
Series: Municipal Filings, 1768-1906
Accession #: Unknown
Series #:  SSTSE002
Guide Date:   7/1991 (JK)
Volume:  1 c.f. [2 boxes]


Box 1 | Box 2

Contents

During the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, many municipal documents were required to be filed with state government, and in particular with the Secretary of State. Public laws passed in 1798 and 1848, for example, required that municipal boundary surveys be so filed.

The series described here was initiated by P.L. 1888, p. 330, which required that a description of all changes in ward boundary lines and an appropriate map thereof be filed with the Secretary. The law was probably passed in response to the frequency with which New Jersey's cities added new wards and changed old boundaries in the late nineteenth century, as they sought to keep up with rapid population growth. By the early twentieth century, however, wards had become less important as political entities, largely because Progressive-era legislation had stripped them of much of their once-held authority over such areas as public education and fire protection. Perhaps for this reason, the requirement for state filing was dropped by P.L., in favor of filing only with the county clerk.


Contents

Box 1
1. Allendale Bor., Bergen Co.: resolution changing name, 20 April 1903.
2. Anglesea Borough, Cape May Co.: boundaries and official certificate of result of special election, 16 April 1890
[5 items].
3. Asbury Park City, Monmouth Co.: report of commissioners appointed by the common council to divide territory annexed to the city into wards, 23 July 1906.
4. Beach Haven Bor., Ocean Co.: certificate of members of council, 6 December 1890 [4 items].
5. Belmar Bor., Monmouth Co.: certificate referring to boundaries and results of first election and certificate of first election for officers and borough boundaries, 18-20 November 1890 [4 items].
6. Bernards Twp., Somerset Co.: report of commissioners regarding tax matter, 5 February 1895 [14 items].
6a. Bethlehem and Union Twps., Hunterdon Co.: draft of survey of boundary line, March 1853.
7. Boonton Twp., Morris Co.: notice of change of election district, 27 July 1880.
8. Brigantine Beach Bor., Atlantic Co.: certificate showing the result of election of officers and boundaries, 7 July 1890 [4 items].
9. Camden City, 9th Ward, Camden Co.: ordinance establishing and providing for election of officials, 18 March 1889; affidavit as to population, 22 May 1889 [2 items].
10. Camden City, 11 and 12th Wards, Camden Co.: report of commissioners for dividing into wards the town of Stockton, recently annexed to the city, 19 April 1899 [2 items].
11. Cape May Point Bor., Cape May Co.: boundary line and certificate of a special election incorporating mayor and common council, 24 August 1891.
12. Chatham Village, Morris Co.: incorporation, 23 September 1892.
13. Clinton Twp., Hunterdon Co.: deed and bargain and sale from Allen L. Bassett and wife to the inhabitants of the township, 29 March 1875.
14. Delford Bor., Bergen Co.: ordinances extending the corporate boundaries, 13 April 1887 and 19 January 1895 [5 items].
15. Dover City, Morris Co.: results of election held to decide whether to be a city or town, 7 May 1896 [6 items].
16. East Orange City, Essex Co.: certificate of result of special election, 7 December 1899.
17. Englewood City, Bergen Co.: certificate of incorporation of mayor and city council, 12 March 1896.
18. Flemington Village, Hunterdon Co.: order for election to incorporate, 24 August 1894.
19. Hasbrouck Heights Bor., Bergen Co.: ordinance No. 10 extending the borough limits, 22 July 1895.
20. Helmetta Bor., Middlesex Co.: ordinance extending corporate limits, 23 March 1897.
21. Holly Beach City Bor., Cape May Co.: certificate of the result of an election for incorporation, 19 April 1890.
22. Junction Bor., Hunterdon Co.: incorporation of mayor and council, 20 February 1895.
23. Kearny Twp., Hudson Co.: certified copy of a resolution dividing the township into wards, 6 January 1897 [16 items].
24. Madison Bor., Morris Co.: ordinance to extend the corporate boundaries and to annex certain lands and premises purchased and owned, 19 May 1891; ordinance no. 13, 24 November 1891; ordinance no. 19, 14 August 1895; ordinance extending boundaries, 11 March 1899 [4 items].
25. Montclair Town, Essex Co.: incorporation, 24 February 1894 [13 items].
26. Mount Arlington Bor., Morris Co.: ordinances extending the corporate limits, 29 July 1891 and August 5, 1893; ordinance no. 29, extending limits, 21 May 1894 [3 items].
27. Mont Vale Bor., Bergen Co.: extension of boundaries, 25 February 1896.
Box 2
1. Newark City, Essex Co.: new ward boundaries, 11 May 1892.
2. Newark City, Essex Co.: map of the boundary lines of the territory formerly part of the City of East Orange annexed to and consolidated with the City of Newark, 23 August 1906.
3. Ocean City, Cape May Co.: returns of election for boundaries, 21 May 1884; official certificate of result of a special election, 16 April 1890 [3 items].
4. Ridgefield Park Bor., Bergen Co.: boundary line in the matter of the incorporation order, 19 July 1892 [2 items].
5. Ridgewood Village, Bergen Co.: boundary line in the matter of the application for the incorporation, 28 December 1894.
6. Riverton Bor., Burlington Co.: boundaries, 4 January 1894 [3 items].
7. Schraalenburgh Bor., Bergen Co.: statement of an election held August 28th, 31 August 1894.
8. Sea Isle City Bor., Cape May Co.: official certificate of result of a special election, 17 April 1890 [3 items].
9. Somers Point Bor., Atlantic Co.: election and boundaries, 19 April 1890 [3 items].
10. South Atlantic City Bor., Atlantic Co.: certificate of election for incorporation, 13 May 1890 [2 items].
11. South Orange Twp., Essex Co.: certificate of election, 9 February 1904, [2 items].
12. Spring Lake Bor., Monmouth Co.: certificate showing result of first election and boundaries, 6 April 1892.
13. Springfield and Mansfield Twps., Burlington Co.: return of the division line, 1 September 1768.
14. Stockton Town, Camden Co.: certificate of incorporation as a town, etc., 24 March 1894.
15. Trenton City, Mercer Co.: division into wards of the territory formerly in the Borough of Chambersburg and the Township of Millham annexed to the city, 1 June 1888; determination of commissioners, 31 May 1900 [3 items].
16. Union Town, Hudson Co.: copy of resolution dividing town into three wards, 1 October 1897 [4 items].
17. Upper Saddle River Bor., Bergen Co.: extension of corporate limits, 24 May 1895 [2 items].
18. Waterford and Voorhees Twps., Camden Co.: partition line, 17 November 1899.
19. West Cape May Bor., Cape May Co.: boundary line and official certificate of result of a special election, 8 May 1890.
20. West Hoboken Town, Hudson Co.: ordinance changing from a township to a town, 20 June 1884; proceedings and election, 20 April 1892; certified copy of resolution relative to dividing wards, etc., 29 March 1891 [6 items].
21. West New York Town, Hudson Co.: in the matter of a special election incorporating the Township of Union into the Town of West New York, 8 July 1898 [8 items].
22. Wildwood Bor., Cape May Co.: incorporation of mayor and council, and boundaries, 21 May 1895 [2 items].
23. Woodcliff Bor., Bergen Co.: extension of corporate limits, 7 October 1895.
24. Wood-Ridge Bor., Bergen Co.: extension of boundaries, 12 April 1897.
25. Fragment showing signature of William C. Burroughs, City Clerk, ca. 1900.

Created September 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations