njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of State
Subgroup: Secretary of State's Office
Series: Returns of the General Election of 1860
Accession #: 1971.002
Series #:  SSTSE015
Guide Date: 1/1997 (JK)
Volume: 2.0 [22 map folders]


Contents

Content Note

This series consists of the returns of the twenty-one New Jersey counties for the general election of 1860, filed with the Secretary of State, along with the State Board of Canvassers' statements. Included for each county are election tallies broken down into district for the following offices: electors of the president and vice president (this was the Abraham Lincoln-Stephen A. Douglas election), members of Congress, members of the General Assembly and State Senate, and county offices (e.g., sheriff and coroner). In addition to the tallies, each county's return generally includes a certification by the respective board of county canvassers and a statement by the county freeholders. The State Board of Canvassers' statements are included at the beginning of the series in Folder 1.

NOTE: These oversized documents were originally folded into small packets. They have been flattened and stored in map folders for the sake of preservation. Many of the documents are brittle, torn, or nearly fragmented. Researchers are requested, therefore, to handle these manuscripts with extreme care.



Contents

Folder Description
   
1. State Board of Canvassers' Statements [2 items - 3 pages].
2. Atlantic County [6 items].
3. Bergen County [3 items].
4. Burlington County [3 items].
5. Camden County [2 items].
6. Cape May County [3 items].
7. Cumberland County [3 items].
8. Essex County [6 items].
9. Gloucester County [4 items].
10. Hudson County [1 item - 4 pages].
11. Hunterdon County [3 items].
12. Mercer County [2 items].
13. Middlesex County [3 items].
14. Monmouth County [2 items].
15. Morris County [4 items].
16. Ocean County [5 items].
17. Passaic County [3 items].
18. Salem County [3 items].
19. Somerset County [3 items].
20. Sussex County [4 items].
21. Union County [5 items].
22. Warren County [3 items].

Created January 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations