njhome my new jersey people business government departments
Archives collection guides


Record Group: Department of State
Subgroup: Secretary of State's Office
Series: Statistics of Orphanage resulting from the Civil War, 1865-1867
Accession #: 1962.007
Series #:  SSTSE016
Guide Date:   10/1991 (JK)
Volume:  1 c.f. [2 boxes and 1 vol.]; 1 reel [35-mm]


Content Note | Contents | Reel List

Institutional History

On 6 April 1865, the New Jersey legislature passed an act "to secure statistics of orphanage resulting from deaths of soldiers and sailors of New Jersey during the present war" (NJ Laws of 1865, chapter 459). The act required that each municipal assessor file with the municipal clerk a list of boys and girls orphaned, or half-orphaned, by the death of a Civil War soldier or sailor as of the first of May each year. These returns were to be forwarded to the Secretary of State, who was required to copy the information into a book of orphanage statistics. For securing these statistics, the Secretary of State was to be paid twenty-five dollars by the State Treasurer, from which the municipal assessors and clerks would each receive five cents per orphan listed. While the law required municipalities to file a return with the state each year, only a few municipalities filed after 1865.

Content Note

Returns of orphanage record the following information: name, company and regiment, and date of death of father; name of mother; names and ages of orphaned children; and remarks as to the family's circumstances. This series includes both the original returns and the "Statistics of Orphanage" volume compiled by the Secretary of State from the 1865 returns. Additional orphanage returns have been found in birth and death sections of the vital statistics registers for the years 1865-1871, as follows:

County Municipality Year Section Vol. Page
Atlantic Galloway Twp. 1866 Deaths A 688
Bergen New Barbadoes Twp. 1866 Deaths B 515
Burlington Beverly Twp. 1866 Deaths C 757
   "
   " 1867 Births D2 611
   " Northampton Twp. 1865 Deaths C 741
Camden Camden City, Middle Ward 1865 Deaths E 476
   " Camden City, North Ward 1865 Deaths E 477
   " Washington Twp. 1866 Deaths E 478
Cumberland Maurice River Twp. 1866 Deaths H 709
   "     " 1867 Deaths H 721
   "     " 1868 Births BV 231
   "     " 1869 Deaths AM 157
   "     " 1870 Births BY 228
Monmouth Holmdel Twp. 1865 Births Y 360
Ocean Brick Twp. 1868 Deaths AL 520
   "     " 1869 Births BX 235
   "     " 1870 Births BZ 233
   "     " 1871 Births CB 194R
Warren Hardwick Twp. 1865 Deaths AH 548

Unless otherwise noted, the original returns listed on the following pages are dated 1865 and consist of one sheet.



Contents
Box 1
Atlantic County
1. Egg Harbor City, 1865 & 1866 [2 items]
2. Egg Harbor Twp.
3. Hamilton Twp.
4. Mullica Twp.
5. Weymouth Twp.
Bergen County
6. Franklin Twp.
7. Hackensack Twp.
8. Hohokus Twp.
9. New Barbadoes Twp.
10. Washington Twp.
Burlington County
11. Beverly Twp.
12. Burlington Twp.
13. Chesterfield Twp.
14. Cinnaminson Twp.
15. Little Egg Harbor Twp.
16. Lumberton Twp.
17. New Hanover Twp.
18. Northampton Twp.
19. Pemberton Twp.
20. Washington Twp.
Camden County
21. Camden City [4 items]
22. Centre Twp.
23. Gloucester Twp.
24. Newton Twp.
25. Waterford Twp.
Cape May County
26. Middle Twp.
Cumberland County
27. Bridgeton City (3rd Ward)
28. Deerfield Twp.
29. Downe Twp.
30. Fairfield Twp.
31. Hopewell Twp.
32. Maurice River Twp.
Essex County
33. Belleville Twp.
34. Bloomfield Twp.
35. Caldwell Twp.
36. Clinton Twp.
37. East Orange Twp.
38. Millburn Twp.
39. Newark City [10 items]
40. Orange Twp.
41. West Orange Twp.
Gloucester County
42. Clayton Twp.
43. Deptford Twp.
44. Greenwich Twp.
45. Mantua Twp.
Hudson County
46. Bayonne City
47. Greenville Twp.
48. Jersey City [2 items]
49. North Bergen Twp.
50. Union Twp.
51. West Hoboken Twp.
Hunterdon County
52. Alexandria Twp.
53. Bethlehem Twp.
54. Clinton Town
55. Clinton Twp.
56. Delaware Twp.
57. East Amwell Twp., 1865 & 1866 [2 items]
58. Kingwood Twp.
59. Lebanon Twp.
60. Raritan Twp.
61. Readington Twp.
62. Tewksbury Twp.
63. West Amwell Twp., 1865 & 1866 [2 items]
Mercer County
64. East Windsor Twp.
65. Hamilton Twp.
66. Hopewell Twp.
67. Trenton City [6 items]
68. Washington Twp.
Middlesex County
69. North Brunswick Twp.
Monmouth County
70. Atlantic Twp.
71. Freehold Twp.
72. Manalapan Twp.
73. Matawan Twp.
74. Ocean Twp.
75. Upper Freehold Twp.
76. Wall Twp.
Morris County
77. Hanover Twp.
78. Jefferson Twp.
79. Morris Twp.
80. Randolph Twp.
81. Rockaway Twp.
82. Washington Twp.
Ocean County
83. Brick Twp., 1865, 1866 & 1867 [3 items]
84. Dover Twp.
Passaic County
85. Paterson City, 1865 (& 1866 for North Ward) [4 items]
86. Wayne Twp.
Salem County
87. Lower Alloways Creek Twp.
88. Mannington Twp.
89. Pilesgrove Twp.
90. Pittsgrove Twp.
91. Salem Twp.
92. Upper Alloways Creek Twp., 1865, 1866 & 1867 [3 items]
93. Upper Penns Neck Twp.
94. Upper Pittsgrove Twp.
Box 2  
Somerset County
95. Bernards Twp.
96. Branchburg Twp.
97. Bridgewater Twp.
98. Franklin Twp.
99. Hillsborough Twp.
100. Warren Twp.
Sussex County
101. Byram Twp.
102. Frankford Twp.
103. Green Twp.
104. Hampton Twp.
105. Lafayette Twp. (marked 1866)
106. Montague Twp.
107. Newton Twp.
108. Sandyston Twp.
109. Sparta Twp.
110. Stillwater Twp.
111. Walpack Twp., 1865 & 1866 [2 items]
112. Wantage Twp. [2 items]
Union County
113. Elizabeth City [6 items]
114. Plainfield Twp.
115. Rahway Twp.
116. Union Twp.
Warren County
117. Blairstown Twp.
118. Franklin Twp.
119. Frelinghuysen Twp.
120. Hackettstown Twp.
121. Harmony Twp.
122. Hope Twp.
123. Independence Twp.
124. Lopatcong Twp.
125. Knowlton Twp.
126. Phillipsburg Town
127. Washington Twp.
Bound Volume:
"Statistics of Orphanage, State of New Jersey," compiled from official returns by Whitfield S. Johnson, Secretary of State, 1865.


Reel Listing - CIVIL WAR

Reel Contents Explanatory Notes
D4-105

Statistics of Orphange resulting
from the Civil War, 1865-1867

 

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations