njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of State
Subgroup: Secretary of State's Office
Series: Ordinance, Disallowances and Bills, 1727-1846
Accession #: 1962.002, Unknown
Series #:  SSTSE018
Guide Date:  Pre-1989 (JK)
Volume: 1.5 c.f. [3 boxes]



Content Note

The documents included in this series were originally filed with enrolled laws in the office of the Secretary of State, and are therefore attributed to this agency.


Contents

Bills
1742
Bill entitled, "An act declaring how the estate or right of a feme covert may be conveyed or extinguished," 1742.
1744
Bill entitled, "An act for setting and better regulations of the militia of the province of New Jersey, and for making provision in cases of insurrection, rebellion or invasion," 1744.
Bill entitled, "An act for ascertaining what part of Trenton Bridge shall be built, rebuilt and repaired by each of the townships of Nottingham and Trenton," 1744.
1745
Bill entitled, "An act for the support of the government of his majesty's collony of New Jersey for one year to commence the 23d day of September one thousand seven hundred and forty four and to end the 23d day of September one thousand seven hundred and forty five," 1745.
Bill entitled, "An act for better setling and regulating the militia of this colony of New Jersey for the repelling invasions and suppressing insurrections and rebellions," 1745.
1747
Bill entitled, "An act to oblige the several sherrifs of this colony of New Jersey to give security take the oaths or affirmations therein directed for the due discharge of their offices and to prevent their too long continuance therein," 1747.
Bill entitled, "An act to settle the quotas of the several counties in this colony when it shall be necessary to make a provintial tax," 1747.
1751
Bill entitled, "An act to vest the mayor, recorder, aldermen and commonalty of the city of Burlington with the ferry from said city to the town of New Bristol," 1751. [fragment]
Bill entitled, "An act for erecting a toll bridge over Salem Creek," 1751.
1760
Bill entitled, "An act to enable Joseph Corson, Isaac Beaner, John Mackey, James Willits and their associates to build by subscription a toll bridge and causey in the county of Cape May," 1760.
1765
Bill entitled, "An act to enable the justices and chosen freeholders of the county of Hunterdon to erect a new and convenient court house and goal in the said county," 1765.
Bill entitled, "An act to explain and amend an act entitled a supplementary act to the Act Intitled an act to regulate the size of Traps &c and to prohibit the watching with a gun in the night time, and other purposes therein mentioned," 1765.
1769
Bill entitled, "An act for the more speedy recovering debts above ten pounds, and under fifty pounds in the inferior courts of common pleas within this colony," 1769.
Bill entitled, "An act to rebuild and maintain the bridge over Crosswicks Creek near Richard Browns Mill, and to make the same a county charge," 1769.
1772
Bill entitled, "An act to prohibit the importation of persons into this colony from any of the neighbouring governments who have been convicted of felony," 1772.
Bill entitled, "An act to prevent the holding of fairs in the province of New Jersey," 1772.
1773
Bill entitled, "An act to naturalize Jacob Chesnutwood," 1773.
Bill entitled, "An act to naturalize Lucas Von Beverhoudt," 1773.
Bill entitled, "An act for erecting a dam, mills and other water works on Nacut Creek in the county of Gloucester, and to indemnify those whose property may be injured thereby," 1773.
1774
Bill entitled, "An act for regulating roads and bridges," 1774.
Bill entitled, "An act to enable the owners and possessors of the low lands, meadows and swamps on both sides of Assunpink Brook from the province line to the lands of John Ely, to remove the obstructions to the free course of the waters of the same brook," 1774.
Bill entitled, "An act to authorize the present treasurer of the Eastern division to bring an action against the late treasurer of the said division for the sum of £6,570.9:4, for which the said late treasurer claims allowance in his accounts alledging the same to have been stolen from the treasury, and for other purposes therein mentioned," 1774.
1775
Bill entitled, "A supplementary act to an 'act entitled appointing commissioners for finally settling and determining the several rights, titles and claims to the common lands in the township of Bergen, and for making partition thereof in just and equitable proportions among those who shall be adjudged by the said commissioners to be entitled to the same'," 1775.
1781
Bill entitled, "An act to remove dangerous and disaffected persons from places near the lines of the enemy for the better security of the well affected inhabitants of the state," 1781.
Bill entitled, "An act to provide for the payment of the several officers of the government of the state of New Jersey to commence the thirteenth day of October, one thousand seven hundred and eighty, and to end the second Tuesday in October, one thousand seven hundred and eighty one inclusive," 1781.
1792
Bill entitled, "An act to enable the inhabitants of the township of Elsinborough in the county of Salem to repair their highways by hire and to raise money in order to defray the expenses of the same," 1792.
1797
Bill entitled, "An act for appointing commissioners to lay out and open a road from Monmouth Court House to some part of Sandy Hook Bay," November 1, 1797.
1806
Bill entitled, "An act to amend an act passed the twenty-fourth day of May A.D. 1780, entitled 'an act to alter the law directing the descent of real estate'," March 7, 1806.
1846
Bill entitled, "An act to establish a new township in the county of Salem to be called the Township of Upper Pittsgrove." [1846].
N.D.
Amendments to a bill.
Bill entitled, "An act to incorporate the Township of Lafayette in the county of Sussex." [N.D.]. [2 items].
 
Ordinances
1727
An ordinance for regulating and establishing fees within his majesty's Province of New Jersey.
 
Disallowances
1731
Disallowance of an act concerning the acknowledging and registering deeds and conveyances of land, and declaring how the estate or right of a feme covert may be conveyed or extinguished, 1731.
Disallowance of an act for the frequent meeting and calling of the General Assembly of the province for the alternate sitting thereof, 1731.
1770
Disallowance of a supplementary act to an act entitled an act appointing commissioners for finally settling and determining the several rights, titles, and claims to the common lands of the Township of Bergen, and for making partition thereof in just and equitable proportions among those who shall be adjudged by the said commissioners to be intitled to the same, June 6, 1770.

Created January 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations