njhome my new jersey people business government departments
Archives collection guides


Record Group: Department of State
Subgroup: Secretary of State's Office
Series: Deeds, Surveys and Commissions, ca. 1650-1856
Accession #:

1964,006

Series #:  SSTSE023
Guide Date:  12/2003 (A)
Volume: 100 c.f. [141 vols., 38 boxes, 1 mss.folder]; 69 reels [60 35-mm, 9 16-mm]


Box List


Reel Listing - COLONIAL DEEDS

Reel Contents Explanatory Notes
1 Card Index to Deeds
Aaronson, Aaron - Cadwalder, Thomas
Indexes grantors and grantees
References given to deed volume &
page number
GSU Reel #539948
2 Card Index to Deeds
Cadwalder, Thomas - Estaugh, John
Indexes grantors and grantees
References given to deed volume &
page number
GSU Reel #539949
3 Card Index to Deeds
Estaugh, John - Houghton, Thomas
Indexes grantors and grantees
References given to deed volume &
page number
GSU Reel #540239
4 Card Index to Deeds
Houghton, Thomas - Marshall, Daniel
Indexes grantors and grantees
References given to deed volume &
page number
GSU Reel #540240
5 Card Index to Deeds
Marshall, Edward - Read, Charles
Indexes grantors and grantees
References given to deed volume &
page number
GSU Reel #540603
6 Card Index to Deeds
Read, Charles - Stockton, Richard
Indexes grantors and grantees
References given to deed volume &
page number
GSU Reel #540604
7 Card Index to Deeds
Stockton, Richard - Zutvin, Jacob
Indexes grantors and grantees
References given to deed volume &
page number
GSU Reel #540605
8 Card Index to Commissions
Name: A - I
Includes commissions as justices of
the peace, judges, etc.
References given refer to Commissions
volumes
GSU Reel #542530
9 Card Index to Commissions
Name: J - Z
Includes commissions as justices of
the peace, judges, etc.
References given refer to Commissions
volumes
GSU Reel #542531
10 Index to East Jersey Deeds,
1667-1726
Grantees: A - Z
GSU Reel #522742
11 East Jersey
Book 1 (1650-1678)
GSU Reel #522742
12 East Jersey
Books 3 & 4 (1665-1682)
Book 3, 1665-1682
Book 4, 1679-1682
GSU Reel #522743
13 East Jersey
Books A & B (1676-1688)
Book A, 1676-1688
Book B, 1680-1688
GSU Reel #522744
14 East Jersey,
Patents & Commissions
Book C (1670-1703)
See card index for names
GSU Reel #522745
15 East Jersey
Books D & E (1672-1698)
Book D, 1672-1694
Book E, 1672-1698
GSU Reel #522746
16 East Jersey
Books F & G (1680-1701)
Book F, 1680-1698
Book G, 1683-1702 
GSU Reel #460030
17 East Jersey
Books H, I & K-small (1702-1727)
Book H, 1702
Book I, 1703-1713
Book K-small, 1703-1727
GSU Reel #460031
18 East Jersey
Book K (1727-1737)
GSU Reel #460033
19 East Jersey
Books A-2 & B-2 (1714-1728)
Book A-2, 1714-1728
Book B-2, 1714-1720
GSU Reel #460032
20 East Jersey
Books C-2 & D-2 (1683-1725)
Book C-2, 1719-1725
Book D-2, 1683-1724
GSU Reel #460033
21 East Jersey
Books E-2 & F-2 (1737-1747)
Book E-2, 1737-1741
Book F-2, 1741-1747
GSU Reel #460034
22 East Jersey
Books G-2 & H-2 (1747-1757)
Book G-2, 1747-1751
Book H-2, 1752-1757
GSU Reel #460035
23 East Jersey
Books I-2 & K-2 (1757-1763)
Book I-2, 1757-1762
Book K-2, 1759-1763
GSU Reel #460036
24 East Jersey
Books A-3, B-3 & C-3 (1664-1766)
Book A-3, 1763-1764
Book B-3, 1764-1766
Book C-3, 1664-1736
GSU Reel #460037
25 East Jersey
Books D-3, E-3 & F-3 (1766-1772)
Book D-3, 1766-1767
Book E-3, 1767-1769
Book F-3, 1769-1772
GSU Reel #460038
26 East Jersey
Books G-3 & H-3 (1772-1791)
Book G-3, 1772-1774
Book H-3, 1774-1791
GSU Reel #460039
27 East Jersey, Commissions
Book A-A-A (1703-1774)
See card index for names
GSU Reel #460040
28 East Jersey, Commissions
Books A-B & C-2 (1768-1812)
Book A-B, 1768-1812
Book C-2, 1718-1772
See card index for names
GSU Reel #460041
29 East Jersey, Commissions
Books C-3 & C-4 (1772-1851)
Book C-3, 1772-1844
Book C-4, 1845-1851
See card index for names
GSU Reel #460042
30 Index to West Jersey Deeds
Grantors: A - Z
GSU Reel #460043
31 Index to West Jersey Deeds
Grantees: A - Z
GSU Reel #460044
32 West Jersey (1681-1701) Acts of the General Assembly,
1681-1701
Concessions & Agreements,
1681-1699
33 West Jersey (1687-1755) Basse's Book of Surveys,
1687-1755
Revel's Book of Surveys,
Book A, 1680-1704
34 West Jersey (1676-1705) Fenwick's Surveys, 1676-1705
Salem Town Grants, Book A,
1679-1699
Greenwich Town Lots, 1686-1703
Burlington Records, 1680
GSU Reel #460076
35 West Jersey
Gloucester Deeds
Grantor and Grantee Indexes
Gloucester Deeds, Book A,
1714-1772
Gloucester Deeds, Book 1,
1650-1689
GSU Reel #460077
36 West Jersey
Gloucester Deeds
Gloucester Deeds, Book 2,
1652-1700
Gloucester Deeds, Book 3,
1681-1703
Gloucester Deeds, Book C,
1728-1779
GSU Reel #460078
37 West Jersey
Salem Surveys
Surveys, Book 1, 1676-1679
Surveys, Book 2, 1676-1688
Salem Surveys, 1676
Salem Surveys, 1684-1692
GSU Reel #460073
38 West Jersey
Salem Deeds
Book 1, 1664-1699; Book B,
1672-1702
Book 2, 1678-1686; Book 3,
1680-1687
Book 4, 1683-1689
Liber A [Jewell's Book], 1697-1710
GSU Reel #460074
39 West Jersey
Salem Deeds
Book 5, 1686-1695
Book 6, 1685-1699
Book 7, 1698-1703
GSU Reel #460075
40 West Jersey
Book A
[Nevill's Deeds] (1684-1692)
 
41 West Jersey
Book B (1677-1703)
GSU Reel #460046
42 West Jersey
Book A-A-A (1680-1719)
GSU Reel #460047
43 West Jersey
Books B-B & B-B-B (1686-1721)
Book B-B, 1719-1721
Book B-B-B, 1686-1714
GSU Reel #460048
44 West Jersey
Books D & D-D (1721-1734)
Book D, 1721-1725
Book D-D, 1730-1734
GSU Reel #460049
45 West Jersey
Books E & E-F (1730-1739)
Book E, 1734-1739
Book E-F, 1730-1734
GSU Reel #460050
46 West Jersey
Book G-H (1744-1747)
GSU Reel #460051
47 West Jersey
Books G-G, H & H-H (1704-1750)
Book G-G, 1747-1750
Book H, 1704-1749
Book H-H, 1749-1750
GSU Reel #460052
48 West Jersey
Books I-K & K (1750-1754)
Book I-K, 1750-1753
Book K, 1752-1754
GSU Reel #460053
49 West Jersey
Books L & M (1753-1774)
Book L, 1753-1774
Book M, 1754-1758
GSU Reel #460054
50 West Jersey
Books N & O (1756-1776)
Book N, 1756-1758
Book O, 1757-1776
GSU Reel #460055
51 West Jersey
Book P (1759-1762)
GSU Reel #460056
52 West Jersey
Books Q & R (1760-1774)
Book Q, 1760-1774
Book R, 1761-1765
GSU Reel #460057
53 West Jersey
Books S & T (1762-1765)
Book S, 1762-1765
Book T, 1763-1765
GSU Reel #460058
54 West Jersey
Books U & W (1764-1773)
Book U, 1764-1773
Book W, 1765-1768
GSU Reel #460059
55 West Jersey
Book X (1766-1768)
GSU Reel #460060
56 West Jersey
Books Y & Z (1767-1773)
Book Y, 1676-1773
Book Z, 1768-1770
GSU Reel #460061
57 West Jersey
Books A-B & A-C (1769-1776)
Book A-B, 1769-1775
Book A-C, 1770-1776
GSU Reel #460062
58 West Jersey
Books A-D & A-E (1771-1774)
Book A-D, 1771-1774
Book A-E, 1772-1774
GSU Reel #460063
59 West Jersey
Books A-F & A-G (1773-1776)
Book A-F, 1773-1775
Book A-G, 1773-1776
GSU Reel #460064
60 West Jersey
Book A-H (1774-1779)
GSU Reel #460065
61 West Jersey
Book A-I (1775-1779)
GSU Reel #460045
62 West Jersey
Book A-K (1776-1783)
GSU Reel #460065
63 West Jersey
Books A-L & A-M (1776-1784)
Book A-L, 1776-1784 
Book A-M, 1783-1784
GSU Reel #460066
64 West Jersey
Books A-N & A-O (1784-1790)
Book A-N, 1784-1786
Book A-O, 1786-1790
GSU Reel #460067
65 West Jersey
Books A-P & A-Q (1787-1797)
Book A-P, 1787-1790
Book A-Q, 1790-1797
GSU Reel #460068
66 West Jersey
Books A-R & A-S (1792-1798)
Book A-R, 1792-1797
Book A-S, 1792-1798
GSU Reel #460069
67 West Jersey
Books A-T & A-V (1795-1815)
Book A-T, 1797-1800
Book A-V, 1795-1815
GSU Reel #460070
68 West Jersey
Books A-W & A-X (1815-1856)
Book A-W, 1815-1833
Book A-X, 1833-1856
GSU Reel #460071
69 West Jersey
Book A-Y (1856-1890)
 


Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations