njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Superior Court of New Jersey
Subgroup: Probate Section
Series: Wills of Prominent New Jerseyans, 1804-1992
Accession #: 1965.003, 1966.002, 1968.008, 1970.002, 1971.006, 1978.043, 1980.015, 1989.021, 1997.039, 2001.039
Series #:  SSUPR001
Guide Date:  rev. 11/2001
Volume: 1.5 c.f. [3 boxes]

Box 2 | Box 3

Contents - Box 1

Name Noted for/Profession County Year Will No.
Abbett, Leon Governor Hud. 1895 7680-I
Ackerman, John Alfred Superior Court Judge Uni. 1976 W-3585-76
Ahr, George W. Catholic Bishop Mer. 1993 W-15712-93
Alampi, Phillip Secretary of Agriculture Mer. 1992 W-27993-92
Allen, Lyman Whitney Clergyman Ess. 1930 G-29842
Apgar, Virginia Physician/Researcher Ber. 1975 W-24226-74
Applebaum, Sada Wife of Samuel Applebaum, Musician Ess. 1976 W-18054-76
Aronson, Louis V. Inventor Ess. 1940 G-50151
Bamberger, Louis Merchant Ess. 1944 G-56532
Bateman, Ephraim, United States Senator Cum. 1829 2204-F
Beard, William M. Banker Uni. 1976 W-19533-76
Berman, Robert Physician Ess. 1975 W-10010-75
Bloomfield, Joseph Governor Bur. 1823 13320C
Bloomfiled, Joseph Governor [Guardianship of John M.White, son of John White] Bur. 1787 11213C
Borg, Donald G. Publisher, The Record Ber. 1975 W-5691-75
Brady, John P. Chief Toxicologist and Chemist, State of NJ Ess. 1974 W-17607-74
Brescher, Joseph L. Assembly Speaker Uni. 1976 W-13772-76
Brinckerhoff, Henry Morton Inventor Ber. 1949 W-1830-49
Brooks, Emerson Poet Mer. 1950 W-9591-49
Buchsbaum, Solomon Physicist Uni. 1993 W-3495-93
Bushnell, Asa S. College Athletics/Olympics Mer. 1975 W-3797-75
Butler, Thomas C. Chairman, Grand Union Ess. 1978 W-22863-77
Carll, Charles M.   Mer. 1976 W-26031-76
Carrington, Frank Co-founder, Paper Mill Playhouse Ess. 1975 W-10492-75
Carroll, Owen T. Baseball Player/Coach for Seton Hall Ess. 1975 W-10204-75
Cattell, Alexander G. United States Senator Cam. 1894 3358-D
Condit, John United States Senator Ess. 1834 12493-G
Crabiel, J. Edward Secretary of State, State Legislator Mid. 1992 W-13910-92
Crowell, Thomas Y. Publisher Ess. 1915 G-11074
Dana, John Cotton Librarian Ess. 1929 G-28844
Dayton, William L. United States Senator Mer. 1865 01629-K
Dickerson, Mahlon Governor/United States Senator Mor. 1853 3531-N
Dickerson, Philemon United States Senator Pas. 1862 752-P
Dickinson, Fairleigh S. Educator Ber. 1949 W-412-48
DiFrancesco, Clara Mother of Gov. Donald DiFrancesco   1993 W-23182-93
Dinnerstein, Dorothy Feminist author, Rutgers Professor Ber. 1993 W-8838-93
Dorrance John T. Campbell Soup Company Bur. 1930 C-6120
Driscoll, Alfred E. Governor Cam. 1975 W-6102-75
Dudiak, Stephen Real-Estate Developer/Republican Party Leader Pas. 1976 W-11218-76
Edge, Walter E. Governor Mer. 1957 W-14640-56
Edison, Theodore Miller Physicist Ess. 1992 W-24349-72
Edison, Thomas Alva Inventor Ess. 1931 3493-K
Einstein, Albert Mathematician Mer. 1955 W-14556-55
Elmer, Jonathan United States Senator Cum. 1817 1823-F
Fahy, Thomas G. Educator/President,Seton Hall University Ess. 1977 W-23397-76
Farley, Frank S. State Senator Atl. 1977 W-16442-77
Field, Richard Stockton United States Senator Mer. 1870 2069-K
Fielder, James F. Governor Sus. 1954 W-13269-54
Fisher, Harold H. Lindbergh Case Lawyer/Editor Ess. 1992 W-9754-92
Fort, George Governor Oce. 1872 385-O
Fort, John Franklin Governor Ess. 1920 G-16608
Frelinghuysen, Frederick United States Senator [original and copy] Som. 1804 1244-R
Frelinghuysen, Theodore United States Senator Mid. 1862 13281-L
Box 2
Gabrielson, Guy George Lawyer/Assemblyman Oce. 1976 W-12992-76
Garrison, Wendell Phillips Poet Ess. 1907 G-3785
Ginsberg, Louis Poet Pas. 1977 W-20448-76
Giuliano, Michael A. State Senator Ess. 1976 W-12271-76
Glenn, Tyree Jazz Trombonist Ber. 1974 W-15230-74
Grassman, Edward J. Real-Estate Investor Uni. 1973 W-5956-73
Grayson, Ira Gov. Cahill's Chief of Staff Mer. 1975 W-1222-75
Green, Robert S. Governor Uni. 1895 3824-T
Groover, Ralph D. Mayor, Liberty Twp. War. 1976 W-11964-76
Gross, Mason W. President, Rutgers University Mon. 1977 W-24044-77
Grossi, Anthony J. State Senator Pas. 1976 W-11194-76
Hague, Frank J. Mayor, Jersey City Hud. 1956 W-835-56
Haines, Daniel Governor Sus. 1876 4077-S
Hall, Edward, W. Clergyman Mid. 1922 L-4378
Heilman, William Owens Mayor of Millburn, NJ Ess. 1976 W-12525-76
Herberg, Will Writer/Educator Mor. 1977 W-2940-77
Hoffman, Harold G. Governor Mid. 1954 W-5772-54
Holland, John P. Inventor (submarine) Ess. 1914 G-10207
Johnson, James W. Johnson & Johnson Co. Mid. 1910 L-1522
Johnson, Keith Wold Johnson & Johnson Family Mer. 1975 W-3811-75
Johnson, Virgil S. Reporter Cum. 1976 W-23842-76
Johnson, Willard T. C. Johnson & Johnson Family Mer. 1975 W-11869-75
Katzenbach, Edward L. Attorney General Mid. 1974 W-107577-74
Kearns, Anthony P. Somerset County District Judge Som. 1976 W-2594-76
Kerney, James Justice, Court of Errors and Appeals Mer. 1934 K-9349
Kingman, Ethel Spences Widow of Russell Kingman, co-founder, NJ Symphony Orchestra Ess. 1975 W-16487-75
Kitchell, Aaron United States Senator Mor. 1820 1809-N
Kümmel, Henry B. State Geologist Mer. 1945 K-14119
Lambert, Grace Philanthropist Mer. 1993 W-15614-93
Lambert, John United States Senator Hun. 1823 3269-J
Larson, Morgan F. Governor Mid. 1961 W-5271-61
Leiby, Adrian C. Historian Ber. 1976 W-8408-76
Lenox, Walter Scott Business Mer. 1920 K-4278
Lewis, Vivian M. Politician (lost to Woodrow Wilson, 1910) Pas. 1950 W-10368-49
Luden, William H. Inventor (cough drop) Atl. 194 9W-8472-48
Madden, Thomas M. US District Court Judge Cam. 1976 W-5164-76
Manning, Harry Vice Admiral, U.S. Navy/Aviator Ber. 1974 W-20741-74
Maxim, Hud. Inventor (smokeless gunpowder) Sus. 1927 S-2171
McClellan, George B. Governor/ Commander in Chief of the Union Army Ess. 1888 22834-G
McGuire, John J. Surgeon/Secretary, State Board of Medical Examiners Ess. 1976 W-12350-76
McPherson, John R. United States Senator Hud. 1897 9234-I
Mehorter, Hugh L. Assembly Speaker/Acting Governor Glo. 1974 W-22098-73
Mennen, Gerhard Business (Mennen Co.) Ess. 1902 G-1078
Miers, Earl Schanck Author Mid. 1973 W-22563-72
Miller, Jacob W. United States Senator Mor. 1862 4181-N
Miller, William Tax Law Specialist Mer. 1977 W-9203-77
Moore, Arthur Harry Governor Hud. 1952 W-6386-52
Mosconi, William Professional billiards player Cam. 1993 W-18302-93
Munson, Henry Glass Engineer/War Hero Mer. 1975 W-11975-75
Murphy, Vincent J. Mayor of Newark/President, State AFL-CIO Mon. 1976 W-14153-76
Box 3
O'Hara, Katharine Barnes Widow of author John Barnes Mer. 1975 W-3889-75
Olden, Charles D. Governor Mer. 1876 2746-K
O'Neill, Gerard Physicist/Princeton Professor Mer. 1992 W-03572-92
O'Neill, Francis Jr. Chairman, National Mediation Board Mon. 1992 W-17066-92
Osmers, Frank C. Jr. US Congressman Ber. 1977 W-13584-77
Parker, Charles W. NJ Supreme Court Justice Mor. 1948 N-13837
Patterson, William Governor/Associate Justice of the United States Supreme Court/United States Senator Mid. 1807 10151-L
Pennington, William Governor Ess. 1826 11774-G
Pennington, William Governor Ess. 1862 15666-G
Powell, Clifford Senate President/Acting Governor Bur. 1973 W-3585-73
Preston, Everett Conant Trenton Educator Cam. 1976 W-16813-76
Randolph, Theodore F. Governor Mor. 1884 6199-N
Roebling, Helen P. Widow of Engineer John A. Roebling Som. 1969 W-11969-69
Rushmore, Samuel Willis Inventor (autos) Uni. 1948 W-5365-48
Saybolt, F. Merton Chief Registrar, State Bureau of Vital Statistics Mer. 1977 W-21728-76
Schairer, Otto S. RCA Executive/Pioneer of Television Technology Mer. 1976 W-6356-76
Schulte, David A. Business (Schulte Cigar Stores) Mon. 1949 W-907-49
Schureman, James United States Senator Mid. 1824 11022-L
Seeley, Elias P. Governor Cum. 1846 2707-F
Selikoff, Irving J. Scientist/Cancer Researcher Ber. 1992 W-14841-92
Serraino, Charles Commissioner of Labor Ber. 1992 W-15090-92
Shanley, Bernard M. 3rd White House Aide/Republican Party Leader Som. 1992 W-10046-92
Sherry, Sol Heart disease research pioneer Cam. 1993 W-25339-93
Siperstein, Harry Paint and Wallpaper Retailer Hud. 1992 W-9345-92
Smith, Francis X. State Assemblyman Hud. 1976 W-18585-76
Stockton, Richard United States Senator [copy, original has been conserved] Som. 1828 2187-Q
Stockton, Robert F. United States Senator Mer. 1866 1760-K
Stokes, Edward C. Governor Cum. 1942 F-7144
Stratton, Charles C. Governor Glo. 1859 5223-H
Ten Eyck, Abram W. Mayor of Bedminster Som. 1977 W-24000-76
Ten Eyck, John C. United States Senator Bur. 1879 18893C
Thomas, Clifford I. Assembly Speaker Uni. 1976 W-13284-76
Thompson, Beatrice J. Wife of Frank Thompson, Trenton Journalist; mother of U.S. Congressman Frank Thompson Jr. Mer. 1975 W-20893-75
Unger, Milton M. Newark Attorney Ess. 1976 W-12611-76
Vroom, Peter D. Governor Mer. 1873 2439-K
Walling, Jean S. Mayor of East Brunswick Mid. 1975 W-10853-75
Weinstein, Berel Inventor/Industrialist Ber. 1975 W-5290-75
Weintraub, Joseph New Jersey State Supreme Court Chief Justice Ess. 1977 W-4297-77
Wescott, Barbara Widow of Lloyd Westcott, Former Chair, New Jersey Board of Control Hun. 1977 W-3275-77
Weston, Edward Inventor (dynamo-electric) Ess. 1936 G-41680
White, Elizabeth G. Cranberry Farming Bur. 1954 W-12871-54
Williamson, Isaac H. Governor Ess. 1857 15068-G
Wilson, James J. United States Senator Hun. 1824 3429-J
Wright, William United States Senator Ess. 1866 16411-G

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations