njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Supreme Court of New Jersey


Searchable Database

Institutional History

The Supreme Court of New Jersey was established in 1704 when Governor Cornbury published "An Ordinance for Establishing Courts of Judicature" upon his appointment as royal governor of the colony. Placed under the jurisdiction of the English Parliament, the supreme court was granted the same powers as the courts of the queen's (king's) bench, common pleas and exchequer, namely, to have "cognizance of all Pleas, civil criminal and mixt" (Bradford, Ordinance of 1704). The court could either hear original cases or receive appeals from lower courts, such as justices of the peace and county courts of common pleas. In practice, the court's original civil jurisdiction tended to be limited to cases involving land or relatively large sums of money. Appeals from the supreme court itself could be made only to the governor and council.

The court's jurisdiction remained relatively unchanged under the state's first and second constitutions. The first constitution (1776) adopted the colonial judicial system almost wholesale. The supreme court's jurisdiction remained untouched, except that appeals would now be made to an elective governor and legislative council, rather than to their appointive predecessors. The second constitution (1844) somewhat diminished the court's stature by requiring that appeals from circuit courts be made not to it, but rather to a newly formed court of errors and appeals.

During the colonial period, the Supreme Court met somewhat irregularly in the first few decades before settling into a fairly steady pattern of meeting four times each year, at Perth Amboy in March and August and at Burlington in May and November. Between 1777 and April 1780, the British occupation of New York City forced the court to move its East Jersey sessions from Perth Amboy to a variety of safer locations, including New Brunswick and Hillsborough. Beginning in April 1780, the court convened all four sessions at Trenton. Court terms were set by statute in 1798 as the months of February, May, September and November.

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations