njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Supreme Court of New Jersey
Series: Oaths of Justices, 1927-1948
Accession #: 1992.061
Series #:  SSV00006
Guide Date:  7/1992 (JK)
Volume: 0.25 c.f. [1 box]


Institutional History | Contents


Content Note

This series contains oaths of office of New Jersey Supreme Court justices from 1927 to the reorganization of the New Jersey court system in September 1948 (under the 1947 Constitution). Included are oaths for associate and chief justices of the Supreme Court (a seven-year term, with appointment by the governor), and oaths of circuit court judges (who were authorized to hear Supreme Court cases).



Contents

1. Ackerson, Henry E., Jr., Circuit Court Judge, 1938.
2. Black, Charles C., Associate Justice, 1929.
3. Bodine, Joseph L., Associate Justice, 1929, 1936 & 1943 [3 items].
4. Brogan, Thomas J., Associate Justice, 1932, and Chief Justice, 1933 & 1940 [3 items].
5. Brown, Thomas, Circuit Court Judge, 1944.
6. Burling, Albert E., Circuit Court Judge, 1942, and Associate Justice, 1947 [2 items].
7. Campbell, Luther A., Associate Justice, 1931.
8. Case, Clarence E., Associate Justice, 1929, 1936 & 1943, and Chief Justice, 1946 [4 items].
9. Colie, Frederic R., Associate Justice, 1941 & 1948 [2 items].
10. Daly, Peter F., Associate Justice, 1930.
11. Donges, Ralph W. E., Associate Justice, 1930, 1937 & 1944 [3 items].
12. Eastwood, Howard, Circuit Court Judge, 1944, and Associate Justice, 1946 [3 items].
13. Gummere, William S., Chief Justice, 1929.
14. Heher, Harry, Associate Justice, 1932, 1933, 1940 & 1947 [4 items].
15. Jacobs, Nathan L., Associate Justice, 1948.
16. Jayne, Wilfred H., Circuit Court Judge, 1940.
17. Katzenbach, Frank S., Jr., Associate Justice, 1927.
18. Lloyd, Frank T., Associate Justice, 1931.
19. Lloyd, Frank T., Jr., Circuit Court Judge, 1947.
20. Oliphant, A. Dayton, Associate Justice, 1945.
21. Parker, Charles W., Associate Justice, 1928, 1935 & 1942 [3 items].
22. Perskie, Joseph B., Associate Justice, 1933 & 1940 [2 items].
23. Porter, Newton H., Associate Justice, 1938 & 1945 [2 items].
24. Proctor, Haydn, Circuit Court Judge, 1947.
25. Smith, Joseph L., Circuit Court Judge, 1947.
26. Trenchard, Thomas W., Associate Justice, 1928 & 1935 [2 items].
27. Vanderbilt, Arthur T., Circuit Court Judge, 1947.
28. Wachenfeld, William A., Associate Justice, 1946.

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations