njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Supreme Court of New Jersey
Series: Dockets and Indexes, 1842-1948
Accession #s: 1982.018, 2000.002
Series #:  SSV00018
Guide Date:  DJ; rev. 10/1998 [JK]; rev. 03/1999 (SC)
Volume: 28 c.f. [110 vols.]


Institutional History | Contents | Index to Dockets

Content Note

Judgment Dockets are arranged by docket number, and are filed chronologically by the date the affidavit was initially filed (the date the entry was docketed). Docket numbers begin at “1” within each volume up until volume 20 (c.1897), at which point the numbers begin to continue volume by volume creating a continuous numbering system (at this time the indexes begin citing this specific docket number). The numbering begins at “1” again part-way through volume 44 after number 99,999 was recorded. After this, the numbering continued uninterrupted, ending at 158,493 (volume 70). The date range below refers to the affidavit filing date of the first docket within a particular volume, to the affidavit filing date of the last. The actual date range of each volume, however, expands beyond this as notes were made for each subsequent action pertaining to any given docket. The date range is further corrupted due to active dockets being “transferred” or copied to the back of each volume due to lack of space within the original record. Each of these records refers to the original docket number as well as the page number of the original record within the volume. The dates of these records usually far transcends the actual last filing date within the volume.



Contents

No. Covers Docket Nos. Date Range
1. 1 - 2745 November 1842 - October 1850 [Includes Index]
2. 1 - 2677 October 1850 - June 1860
3. 1 - 1626 February 1857 - November 1861
4. 1 - 3474 June 1859 - November 1866
5. 1 - 3584 January 1865 - March 1871
6. 1 - 3326 August 1868 - March 1872
7. 1 - 3527 November 1870 - November 1872
8. 1 - 3591 September 1872 - June 1873
9. 1 - 3479 February 1874 - February 1875
10. 1 - 3531 April 1875 - March 1876
11. 1 - 3548 June 1876 - September 1877
12. 1 - 3565 September 1877 - February 1879
13. 1 - 3576 June 1879 - February 1885
14. 1 - 3580 June 1882 - July 1885
15. 1 - 3619 July 1885 - June 1888
16. 1 - 3620 July 1888 - December 1890
17. 1 - 3667 December 1890 - January 1893
18. 1 - 3638 January 1893 - December 1894
19. 1 - 3656 January 1895 - April 1897
20. 1 - 3075, 3472 - 3473 April 1897 - April 1899
21. 3080 - 7206 May 1899 - July 1901
22. 7210 - 11231 July 1901 - August 1903
23. 11234 - 15311 August 1903 - August 1905
24. 15326 - 19378 August 1905 - August 1907
25. 19379 - 23422 August 1907 - August 1909
26. 23431 - 27596 August 1909 - July 1911
27. 27597 - 31821 July 1911 - March 1913
28. 31822 - 36111 March 1913 - November 1914
29. 36118 - 40433 November 1914 - March 1916
30. 40441 - 44757 March 1916 - September 1917
31. 44758 - 48723 September 1917 - January 1919
32. 48724 - 52614 January 1919 - February 1920
33. 52615 - 56454 February 1920 - March 1921
34. 56455 - 60368 March 1921 - January 1922
35. 60369 - 64317 January 1922 - November 1922
36. 64324 - 68369 November 1922 - August 1923
37. 68370 - 72387 August 1923 - March 1924
38. 72398 - 76413 April 1924 - November 1924
39. 76446 - 80735 November 1924 - July 1925
40. 80736 - 84582 July 1925 - February 1926
41. 84583 - 88635 February 1926 - August 1926
42. 88636 - 92931 August 1926 - January 1927
43. 92932 - 96989 January 1927 - June 1927
44. 96990 - 99999;
57 - 1552
June 1927 - August 1927
August 1927 - October 1927 [renumbering starts at 57]
45. 1553 - 5700 October 1927 - March 1928
46. 5701 - 10707 March 1928 - July 1928
47. 10707 - 16447 July 1928 - December 1928
48. 16474 - 21061 December 1928 - April 1929
49. 21143 - 26116 April 1929 - August 1929
50. 26117 - 30946 August 1929 - December 1929
51. 30978 - 35794 December 1929 - April 1930
52. 35795 - 40214 April 1930 - August 1930
53. 40303 - 44890 July 1930 - October 1930
54. 44891 - 49306 October 1930 - February 1931
55. 49307 - 53000 February 1931 - June 1931
56. 53001 - 56623 May 1931 - September 1931
57. 56624 - 60241 September 1931 - January 1932
58. 60242 - 63844 January 1932 - March 1932
59. 63845 - 67470 April 1932 - July 1932
60. 67471 - 71113 August 1932 - November 1932
61. 71114 - 74752 October 1932 - March 1933
62. 74753 - 78392 March 1933 - June 1933
63. 78393 - 81993 August 1933 - December 1933
64. 82000 - 85615 January 1934 - June 1934
65. 85616 - 89250 July 1934 - December 1934
66. 89251 - 92898 December 1934 - June 1934
67. 92899 - 96490 June 1935 - December 1935
68. 96497 - 100100 November 1935 - August 1936
69. 100101 - 103700 July 1936 - February 1937
70. 103701 - 107300 February 1937 - November 1937
71. 107301 - 110900 July 1937 - March 1938
72. 110901 - 114500 April 1938 - December 1938
73. 114501 - 118109 September 1938 - August 1939
74. 118110 - 121723 August 1939 - May 1940
75. 121724 - 125339 June 1940 - April 1941
76. 125340 - 128950 March 1941 - December 1941
77. 128951 - 132576 December 1941 - October 1942
78. 132577 - 136195 October 1942 - November 1943
79. 136196 - 139813 November 1943 - December 1944
80. 139814 - 143388 December 1944 - December 1945
81. 143389 - 146963 December 1945 - November 1946
82. 146964 - 150558 November 1946 - June 1947
83. 150559 - 154153 July 1947 - January 1948
84. 154154 - 157768 January 1948 - July 1948
85. 157769 - 158445 August 1948 - November 1947
  158446 - 158493 (blank, numbers not used)


Index to Dockets

These indexes pertain to cases filed within the 85 bound docket volumes. Each volume covers several dockets, and individuals are indexed by first surname/corporation letter and docket number. For example, the first index covers Dockets 2-6, and first indexes “A” surnames filed within Docket 2, followed by “A” surnames within Docket 3 … to “A” surnames within Docket 6, followed by “B” surnames for Docket 2, and so on. Entries are only listed by Plaintiff (not by Defendant) and take the form of “Plaintiff” vs. “Defendant” followed by page number within the Docket for which the entry is made. In later years (after Volume 20, circa 1897) this entry is preceded with the actual docket number. For example, under the heading of “Docket No. 33” within Index No. 7 (1916-1924) can be found the full entry:

         52623 Agman vs. Public Service 2

This record, docket number 52623, can be found on page 2 in Volume 33. As there are usually only around five or six entries per page, it is not necessary to have the docket number to successfully use these indexes. The indexes are, however, only useful when the Plaintiff’s name is known, as well as either the Docket number or date range of the specific case.

NOTE: Docket No. 1 is indexed within its own volume.


  Number Covers Year Span
1. Index No. 1: Dockets 2-6 [1850-1870]
2. Index No. 2: Dockets 7-9 [1870-1875]
3. Index No. 3: Dockets 10-14 [1875-1885]
4. Index No. 4: Dockets 15-20 [1885-1899]
5. Index No. 5: Dockets 21-29, A - L [1898-1915]
6. Index No. 6: Dockets 21-29, M - Z [1898-1915]
7. Index No. 7: Dockets 30-38, A - L [1916-1924]
8. Index No. 8: Dockets 30-38, M - Z [1916-1924]
9. Index No. 9: Dockets 39-48, A - L [1924-1928]
10. Index No. 10: Dockets 39-48, M - Z [1924-1928]
11. Index No. 11: Dockets 49-63, A - E [1929-1933]
12. Index No. 12: Dockets 49-63, F - K [1929-1933]
13. Index No. 13: Dockets 49-63, L - Q [1929-1933]
14. Index No. 14: Dockets 49-63, R - Z [1929-1933]
15. Index No. 15: Dockets 64-76, A - E [1934-1941]
16. Index No. 16: Dockets 64-76, F - K [1934-1941]
17. Index No. 17: Dockets 64-76, L - Q [1934-1941]
18. Index No. 18: Dockets 64-76, R - Z [1934-1941]
19. Index No. 19: Dockets 77-85, A - E [1941-1948]
20. Index No. 20: Dockets 77-85, A - E
(Typed copy of Index No. 19)
[1941-1948]
21. Index No. 21: Dockets 77-85, F - K [1941-1948]
22. Index No. 22: Dockets 77-85, F - K
(Typed copy of Index No. 21 [partial])
[1941-1948]
23. Index No. 23: Dockets 77-85, L - Q [1941-1948]
24. Index No. 24: Dockets 77-85, L - Q
(Typed copy of index No. 23)
[1941-1948]
25. Index No. 25: Dockets 77-85, R - Z [1941-1948]

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations