njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Tax Department
Subgroup: Engineering Division
Series: Published Annual Reports of Railroad Companies, 1896-1940
Accession #: 1993.033
Series #:  STAEN001
Guide Date:  5/1993 (JK)
Volume: 4.5 c.f. [9 boxes]


Contents

Content Note

As early as 1852, railroad companies in New Jersey were required to file with the state annual reports showing the value of stock "paid in," income and expenditures, operating and construction costs, etc. (Laws of 1852, chap. 90). An 1873 supplement to this law provided for the filing of annual reports with the Comptroller of the Treasury, who was directed in turn to present printed copies to the legislature (Laws of 1873, chap. 491). A later amendment in 1910 allowed the Comptroller to designate portions of the reports to be printed for the legislature as appropriate (Laws of 1910, chap. 275).

The published annual reports contained in this series date from the period following the 1910 legislation, with the exception of a few items from earlier years. It is not known whether this series was once the Comptroller's record copy of railroad company annual reports. Items from the late 1930s are stamped as having been received by the Tax Department, Engineering Division; the collection may have been maintained originally for reference by one of the Engineering Division's predecessor agencies.



Contents

Box Contents
1 Central Railroad Company of New Jersey, 1909/10-1939
2 Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad Company, 1907, 1910-1923, 1925-1939
3 Erie Railroad Company, 1909/10-1913/14, 1915-1921, 1923, 1925-1939
4 Hudson and Manhattan Railroad Company, 1911/12-1940
Lehigh and New England Railroad Company/Lehigh Coal and Navigation
Company, 1911/12-1915/16, 1917-1923, 1924 (LCN only), 1925-1926
5 Lehigh and New England Railroad Company, 1927-1939
Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, 1896/97-1900/01, 1902/03, 1909/10-1928
6 Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, 1929-1939
New York Central and Hudson River Railroad Company, 1910-1914
New York Central Railroad Company, 1915-1918, 1920-1930
7 New York Central Railroad Company, 1932-1939
New York, Susquehanna and Western Railroad Company, 1912/13-1913/14, 1915-1921, 1925-1939
Pennsylvania Railroad Company, 1910-1915
8 Pennsylvania Railroad Company, 1916-1923, 1925-1939
9 Philadelphia and Reading Railway Company/Reading Company, 1911/12-1939
West Jersey and Seashore Railroad Company, 1912-1914, 1918-1920

Created April 2005
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations