njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of the Treasury
Subgroup: Division of Taxation
Series: Railroad Revaluation Field Books, 1941-1963
Accession #: 1993.007
Series #:  STSTA003
Guide Date:  2/1993 (JK)
Volume: 1.5 c.f. [56 vols.]


Contents

Content Note

The origin of this record series is unclear. The field books were apparently generated by staff members of the Division of Taxation and its predecessor agencies in the Department of Taxation and Finance. The volumes generally include notes on improvements made by the railroad companies--especially on signalling and interlockings systems, and catenary structures.

The list below represents a rough inventory of the field books; however, because the field information is cryptic in nature, accurate description of the contents of each book is difficult. NOTE: Two volumes (#16 and #24) were missing from this series at the time of accession by the State Archives.



Contents - Box 1

No. Description Years Covered
1 New York Bay Railroad--electrification 1947
2 New York Central Railroad--signals and interlockings 1941
3 United New Jersey Railroad and Canal Company main line--
bridge electrification, New Brunswick to Passaic River
no date
4 [West Shore Railroad?]--auto sections;
Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad--interlockings
1941
5 Central Railroad of New Jersey--interlockers key 1946
6 Erie Railroad--interlockings 1941
7 United New Jersey Railroad and Canal Company,
Trenton to Jersey City main line--electrification,
Trenton to New Brunswick
no date
8 Central Railroad of New Jersey, Newark and New York Branch;
Lehigh and Hudson River Railway; Pennsylvania Railroad;
Pennsylvania-Reading Seashore Lines; [N.Y.N.H.& H.?] equipment
1949
9 Pennsylvania Railroad/Central Railroad of New Jersey--interlockings 1941-1942
10 Central Railroad of New Jersey--interlockings sketches 1942
11 Central Railroad of New Jersey--interlockings 1941
12 Pennsylvania Railroad Company--National Docks Connection
and Waldo Avenue Yard electrification
1944
13 Lehigh Valley Railroad--signals and interlockings 1942
14 Central Railroad of New Jersey main line--block signals 1950
15 Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad/New York
Central Railroad--interlockings
1941
16 [missing]
17 Lehigh Valley Railroad--interlockings 1942
18 Central Railroad of New Jersey/Delaware,
Lackawanna and Western Railroad/Pennsylvania Railroad--
interlockings
1942-1943
19 Pennsylvania Railroad--reverse signalling 1943
Box 2  
No. Description Years Covered
20 Pennsylvania Railroad--reverse signalling 1943
21 Pennsylvania Railroad--signals 1942
22 Pennsylvania Railroad/Delaware, Lackawanna and
Western Railroad--interlockings and automatics
1944-1945
23 Erie Railroad/Central Railroad of New Jersey/New York
and Long Branch Railroad--interlockings and signals
1950
24 [missing]
25 Kinkora Railroad/[Paterson and Hudson Railroad?]/Philadelphia
and Reading Railroad--signalling
1945
26 Central Railroad of New Jersey-interlockings 1945
27 Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad/
Pennsylvania-Reading Seashore Lines/Lehigh Valley
Railroad Company/United New Jersey Railroad
and Canal Company--interlockings, etc.
1947
28 Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad/Pennsylvania-
Reading Seashore Lines/Erie Railroad/
New York and Greenwood Lake Railway
1946-1947
29 Atlantic City Railroad/West Jersey and Seashore
Railroad/Delaware River Railroad and Bridge Company--signals;
West Jersey and Seashore Railroad train starting system
1947-1952
30 Pennsylvania-Reading Seashore Lines/West Jersey and
Seashore Railroad--signals and electrified territory
1947-1951
31 Pennsylvania-Reading Seashore Lines/West Jersey
and Seashore Railroad-substations
1947
32 New York Central Railroad/Delaware River Railroad and
Bridge Company/United New Jersey Railroad and Canal Company
1946-1947
33 Camden to Amboy--relays 1946-1947
34 Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad;
Lehigh and Hudson Railroad--signals
1946-1948
35 Delaware and Bound Brook Railroad/Central Railroad
of New Jersey/Delaware, Lackawanna and Western
Railroad-- signals and interlockings
1949-1950
36 Central Railroad of New Jersey 1950
37 Central Railroad of New Jersey/Erie Railroad 1950
38 Central Railroad of New Jersey/Pennsylvania Railroad/
Cape May Branch, Pennsylvania-Reading Seashore Lines--
interlockings, lines, telephone and telegraph cable prices
1951-1952
39 Lehigh Valley Railroad--main line telephone and telegraph,
signals; Pennsylvania Railroad
1953
Box 3  
No. Description Years Covered
40 Central Railroad of New Jersey/Delaware, Lackawanna
and Western Railroad/Lehigh Valley Railroad/
Erie Railroad--interlockings
1956-1957
41 Lehigh Valley Railroad--buildings and interlockings 1958-1960
42 Pennsylvania Railroad/Delaware, Lackawanna and Western
Railroad/Lehigh Valley Railroad/New York Central Railroad--
revaluation of Newark improvements
1961
43 Pennsylvania Railroad/Lehigh Valley Railroad/
Central Railroad of New Jersey and others
1962-1963
44 [Central Railroad of New Jersey?]/Delaware, Lackawanna
and Western Railroad/New York and Long Branch Railroad/
Erie Railroad/Reading Railroad/New York, Susquehanna
and Western Railroad--interlockings
1941
45 New Jersey Junction Railroad/Delaware, Lackawanna
and Western Railroad--interlockings
1941
46 Central Railroad of New Jersey--interlockings 1941
47 Central Railroad of New Jersey--interlockings 1941
48 Western Union/Central Railroad of New Jersey/
New York, Susquehanna and Western Railroad-telephone
and telegraph lines
1953-1954
49 Pennsylvania Railroad/Pennsylvania-Reading Seashore
Lines/Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad-field work
1944
50 Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad 1945
51 Central Railroad of New Jersey/New York and Greenwood
Lake Railroad/Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad--
signals, etc.
1948-1949
52 Lehigh Valley Railroad--telephone and telegraph signals;
Reading Railroad--cable runs
1952-1953
53 Philadelphia and Reading Railroad--telephone and telegraph lines 1952-1953
54 Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad/
Pennsylvania Railroad/Central Railroad of New Jersey/
Lehigh Valley Railroad--interlockings, lines, etc.
1952-1954
55 Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad/
Lehigh Valley Railroad/Central Railroad of New Jersey/
Western Union
1954-1955
56 Lehigh Valley Railroad/Reading Railroad/Atlantic City
Railroad/New York and Long Branch Railroad/
Central Railroad of New Jersey/Pennsylvania Railroad
and others--signals, towers, etc.
1954-1956
57 Pennsylvania-Reading Seashore Lines/Central Railroad
of New Jersey/Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad/
Erie Railroad
1957-1958
58 Reading Railroad/Lehigh Valley Railroad/
Pennsylvania Railroad--revaluation
1958-1959

Created April 2005
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations