njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Treasury
Subgroup: State Treasurer's Office
Series: Attendance Certificates of Legislators and Members of the Electoral College, 1761, 1776-1804
Accession #: 1995.005, 2003.076, 2004.014, unknown
Series #:  STSTR001
Guide Date:  4/1995 (JK); rev. 3/2004 (EC)
Volume: 0.25 c.f. [1 box]


Contents

Content Note

These certificates, or pay vouchers, were signed by the speaker, president, or secretary of the legislative body (or by the governor for Privy Council attendance), and presented to the provincial, state or legislative treasurer. They usually record the dates and total number of days in attendance, mileage compensation, and the total pay due. The collection is arranged chronologically by the date of the certificate. NOTE: Several items were previously filed in the series AM Papers.



Contents

1. Joseph Borden Jr., attended the General Assembly at Burlington during July 1761 [no place], 8 July 1761.
2. Abial Brown, attended the Provincial Congress at Trenton and New Brunswick during October 1775, [no place], 2 March 1776.
3. John Cooper, attended the Provincial Congress at Trenton during October 1775, [no place], 9 July 1776.
4. Jonathan Ayars, attended the Provincial Congress at Burlington and Trenton during June-July 1776, [no place], 9 August 1776.
5. Jonathan Bowen, attended Convention of the State of New Jersey at Burlington, Trenton and New Brunswick, [no place], 9 August 1776.
6. Peter Tallman, attended the late Convention, [no place], 17 September 1776 [217 AM].
7. James Linn, attended the Legislative Council at Trenton and Princeton, [no place], 18 April 1778.
8. Ephraim Harris, attended the Legislative Council, Trenton, 12 June 1779.
9. Garret Leydecker, attended the General Assembly, 29 December 1781.
10. John Covenhoven, attended the General Assembly during the Third Sitting of the Sixth Legislature, [Trenton], 5 October 1782.
11. Abraham Clark, attended the General Assembly during November-December 1783, [no place], 23 December 1783 [184 AM].
12. Philemon Dickinson, attended the Legislative Council, [no place], 24 December 1783 [63 AM].
13. James Schureman, attended the General Assembly, [Trenton], 24 December 1783.
14. Aaron Hankinson, attended the General Assembly, [Trenton], 2 September 1784.
15. James Schureman/Schuurman attended the General Assembly, New Brunswick, 2 September 1784.
16. Ephraim Martin, attended the Privy Council during April 1786, New Brunswick, 31 May 1786 [2129 AM]. 
17. Samuel Fitzrandolph, attended the Privy Council during January and April 1786, New Brunswick, 1 June 1786.
18. Ephraim Martin, attended the Legislative Council during the First Sitting of the Twelfth Legislature, [no place], 7 November 1787 [144 AM].
19. John Peck, attended Privy Council during December 1787, and January and April 1788, Trenton, 22 May 1788 [accession #1995.005].
20. Jonathan Dayton, attended Congress from November 1787 to November 1788, [no place], 3 November 1788. 
21. Benjamin Holme, attended the General Assembly at Perth Amboy during the Second Sitting, [no place], [ca. 1789].
22. John Chetwood, Jeremiah Eldrige, John Mayhew and Samuel Ogden, attended the Privy Council at Elizabeth Town, Elizabeth Town, 19 March 1789 [4 items]. 
23. John Rutherfurd, attended the General Assembly, Burlington, 29 November 1790 [182 AM].
24. William Woodhull, attended the Privy Council at New Brunswick during February and June 1791, [no place], 22 October 1791.
25. Elias Dayton, attended the General Assembly during the Second Sitting of the Sixteenth Legislature, Trenton, 2 June 1792. 
26. Franklin Davenport and Aaron D. Woodruff, attended the Electoral College at Trenton, [no place], 6 December 1792 [2 items; attached to a 1793 receipt from the series James Mott Papers]. 
27. Samuel Dick, Richard Stockton [3283 AM], and John W. Van Cleve, attended the Electoral College at Trenton, [no place], 6 December 1792 [3 items].
28. Thomas Henderson, attended the Legislative Council, [no place], 21 February 1794.
29. James H. Imlay, attended the General Assembly during the Second Sitting of the Eighteenth Legislature, Trenton, 25 February 1794.
30. William McCullough [147 AM], Benjamin Peck, John Sinnickson [196 AM], and Elisha Walton, attended the General Assembly during the Second Sitting of the Twentieth Legislature, Trenton, 18 March 1796 [4 items].
31. William Colfax, attended the Electoral College at Trenton, [no place], 7 December 1796.
32. Elias Dayton, attended the General Assembly during the Second Sitting of the Twenty-First Legislature, Trenton, 10 March 1797 [804 AM].
33. Abel Clement, attended the General Assembly during the Second Sitting of the Twenty-Second Legislature, 16 March 1798.
34. William S. Pennington, attended the General Assembly during the Second Sitting of the Twenty-Third Legislature, Trenton, 21 February 1799.
35. John Neilsen, attended the General Assembly during the First Sitting of the Twenty-Fifth Legislature, Trenton, 20 November 1800.
36. Richard Stockton, attended the Electoral College at Trenton, Trenton, 5 December 1800.
37. William S. Pennington, attended the Legislative Council during the First Sitting of the Twenty-Seventh Legislature, Trenton, 2 December 1802 [169 AM].
38. Samuel Hough, attended the Privy Council at Trenton during December 1804, Trenton, [no date]. 

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations