| Record
Group: |
Department
of Treasury |
| Subgroup: |
State
Treasurer's Office |
| Series: |
Miscellaneous
Accounts [No. 1], 1776-1799 |
| Accession
#: |
Unknown |
| Series
#: |
STSTR002 |
| Guide
Date: |
8/1997
(EC) |
| Volume: |
0.25
c.f. [1 disbound vol.]; 1 reel [35-mm] |
Contents
| Reel
List
| Content
Note
This
volume, now disbound and foldered, contained several unrelated account
booklets documenting Revolutionary War-period and post-war finances.
The booklets were bound together apparently sometime in the nineteenth
century—probably by the Adjutant General's Office. Although
the volume was labeled "Miscellaneous Accounts - Revolutionary
War, No. 1," no subsequent volumes of this type are known to
have been created. In the interest of maximizing access to the accounts,
two sections have been removed and placed in series of similar records:
| Page
#s |
Account
Title |
|
See
Series |
|
|
|
|
| 256-335 |
"A
Register of Depreciation Notes on which interest has been paid
by James Mott, Treasurer" |
|
Accounts
and Receipts for Payments on
Revolutionary War Depreciation Notes, 1781-1796 |
|
|
|
|
| 372-557 |
"Return
of Certificates Issued to Officers, Non-Commissioned Officers
and Privates of the New Jersey Line by John Pierce, Esquire,
Commissioner on a final settlement of their Accounts." |
|
Accounts
of Interest Paid on Revolutionary War Pay
Certificates Issued by John Pierce and Benjamin
Thompson, 1785-1791 |
The remaining sections are described below as items 1-5.
| Item
1 |
This
section includes two accounts, both labeled "The Old
Loan Office Accounts." They record transactions with
county loan offices resulting from legislation passed 11 March
1774, which authorized the loan of 1776.
(After the loan of 1786 was authorized, the commissioners
appointed in 1776 were referred to as belonging to the "old
loan offices"). The accounts record principal and interest
payments received as well as quota and salary payments made,
covering the period 1776-1790. The second account appears
to be a revision of the first. |
|
|
| Item
2 |
This
account is labeled "A Register of Notes and Certificates
received of Sundry Persons," and consists of lists of
Revolutionary War payment notes received by the state treasurer
during the period 1786-1796. Included are depreciation notes,
militia indents ["notes"], Condict's certificates,
and notes of commissioners of forfeited estates.
The notes had been presented by various government officials,
including commissioners of the county loan offices, agents
for forfeited estates, and sheriffs who had presumably received
them as payments for fines or fees. The following information
is generally included in each list: date received, from whom
received, certificate or note number, to whom issued, certificate
amount, annual interest, and total payment. |
|
|
| Item
3 |
The
first account included in this booklet is labeled "A
List of Certificates left at the Treasury Office by John Peck
and John Blair, Agents appointed to deliver the said certificates
to the New Jersey Line." It is a semi-alphabetical list
of recipients of Pierce's certificates (soldiers' pay) claimed
by either the soldier or his representative during the period
1786-1799.
This account provides the following information: regiment
(First or Second), certificate number, to whom payable, certificate
amount, date retrieved, and name of person collecting certificate.
The booklet also includes "An Account of Certificates
Given by the Inspector to invalids belonging to the State
of New Jersey." This record appears to be the direct
result of "An act to provide for Officers, Soldiers or
Seamen, who have been disabled in the Service of the United
States" (Acts of the Tenth General Assembly of the
State of New Jersey, chap. 122, p. 245, 1786), which
required the state treasurer to make a list of soldiers eligible
to receive compensation as invalids. The list covers the period
1786-1788, and includes the following information: date given
or presented, to whom given, regiment or corps, residence,
amount allowed per month, and date allowance commenced. Despite
the title of the account, this list does not record certificate
numbers. |
|
|
| Item
4 |
This
account is labeled "Pierce's, Thompson's and Loan Office
Certificates," and documents interest payments made by
State Treasurer James Mott on John Pierce's soldiers' pay
notes, Benjamin Thompson's contractors' certificates and Continental
Loan Office certificates during the period 1790-1791.
The following information is provided: date paid, to whom
paid, number of certificates, and amount paid. |
|
|
| Item
5 |
This
account is labeled "Register of Payments on Contractors'
Certificates," and documents interest paid by State Treasurer
James Mott on county contractors certificates (payment
notes given to suppliers of military goods and services) during
the period 1783-1785. The following information is provided:
voucher number, certificate number, county, contractor, payable
to whom, date paid, certificate amount, annual interest paid. |
NOTE: Sections
of this series are indexed by the Revolutionary War service cards
and slips as "Miscellaneous Accounts No. 1" (referencing
the stamped page numbers.)
|
1.
Laws of the Royal Colony of New Jersey, Vol. V, p. 212. For an
institutional history of the county loan offices see the guide to the following
series: Gloucester County/ Loan Office/ Mortgage Registers, Minutes
and Ledger, 1776-1799.
2.
For a discussion of the legislative history of some of these payment notes
see the guides to the following series in the Department of Treasury/ State
Treasurer's Office subgroup: Accounts and Receipts for Payments on Revolutionary
War Depreciation Notes, 1781-1796; Receipts and Registers for Interest Paid
on Revolutionary War Militia Indents, 1787-1796; and Accounts and
Receipts for State Notes issued by Silas Condict and Maskell Ewing for Revolutionary
War Contractors' and Surplus Certificates, ca. 1785-1796.
3.
A photocopy of this section has been placed with the series: Department
of Treasury/ State Treasurer's Office/ Accounts of Interest Paid on Revolutionary
War Pay Certificates Issued by John Pierce and Benjamin Thompson, 1785-1791.
See the guide to this series for a legislative history of these payment
notes.
4.
Photocopies of the Loan Office interest payments have been placed with the
series: Department of Treasury/ State Treasurer's Office/ Accounts of
Interest Paid on Continental Loan Office Certificates, 1785-1786. The
interest payments on Pierce's and Thompson's certificates are duplicated
in the series: Department of Treasury/ State Treasurer's Office/ Accounts
of Interest Paid on Revolutionary War Pay Certificates Issued by John Pierce
and Benjamin Thompson, 1785-1791. See the guides to these series for
legislative histories of these payment notes.
| 1. |
"The
Old Loan Office Accounts," 1776-1790 [pp. 1-26 and 32-60]. |
| 2. |
"A
Register of Notes and Certificates received of Sundry Persons"
[includes some blank pages]: |
| |
| Pages |
Description |
| 66-80 |
Depreciation
notes, 21 November 1786 - 19 February 1796 |
| 84-123 |
Militia
indents ["notes"], 21 Nov 1786 - 11 April 1789 |
| 124-151 |
Condict's
notes, 20 March 1787 - 25 March 1793 |
| 152-158 |
Notes from
commissioners of forfeited estates, 20 March 1787 - 20 June
1794 |
| 170-171 |
Militia
indents ["notes"], 16 April 1787 - 19 February 1796 |
| 176-222 |
Militia
indents ["notes"], 28 April 1789 - 28 May 1796 |
| 230-231 |
Condict's
notes, 16 May 1793 - 19 February 1796 |
|
| 3a. |
"A
List of Certificates left at the Treasury Office by John Peck and
John Blair, Agents appointed to deliver the said certificates to the
New Jersey Line," 1786-1799 [pp. 336-354]. |
| 3b. |
"An
Account of Certificates Given by the Inspector to invalids belonging
to the State of New Jersey," 1786-1788 [pp. 360-363]. |
| 4. |
"Pierce's,
Thompson's & Loan Office Certificates" [includes some blank
pages]: |
| |
| Pages |
Description |
| 560-566 |
Pierce's
notes, 9 December 1790 - 1 February 1791 |
| 570-583 |
Thompson's
notes, 6 December 1790 - 1 February 1791 |
| 592-607 |
Continental
Loan Office certificates, 6 December 1790 - 1 February 1791 |
| 608 |
Total interest
paid on all notes |
|
| 5. |
"Register
of Payments on Contractors' Certificates" [includes some blank
pages]: |
| |
| Pages
|
Description |
| 660-696 |
18 December
1783 - 27 October 1784 |
| 699-728 |
1 February
1785 - 26 November 1785 |
|
Reel
Listing - REVOLUTIONARY WAR |
| Reel |
Contents |
Explanatory
Notes |
| 181 |
Accounts
[including Pay Records]
[See Guides] |
Miscellaneous
Accounts (1776-1799)
Accounts of Interest Paid (1785-1791)
Accounts of Joseph Lewis (1778-1780)
Accounts of Payments on Depreciation Notes (1781-1796) |
|