njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Treasury
Subgroup: State Treasurer's Office
Series: Receipts and Accounts of Joseph Lewis, Paymaster for the Sussex, Morris and Bergen Militia, 1778-1780
Accession #: 1968.001 or 1968.002
Series #:  STSTR003
Guide Date:  7/1997 (EC)
Volume: 0.25 c.f. [1 disbound vol.]; 1 reel [35-mm]


Reel List

Content Note

Joseph Lewis (1748-1814) served as militia paymaster for Sussex, Morris and Bergen counties from December 1777 until at least May 1780. As such, he was responsible for the distribution of pay to militia companies serving from this area of the state. When on active duty, militiamen were paid by the state at the same rate as Continental troops with additional bonuses or "bounty" pay to non-commissioned officers and privates. Legislative minutes indicate that funding for these payments came from both the state treasury and loans from the Continental Congress. When funds were available, they were distributed to the militia paymasters, who would in turn distribute them to an officer from each company.

The records in this volume (now disbound and foldered) document the pay given to militia companies of Sussex, Morris and Bergen which served between September 1777 and December 1779. Recorded first are pay receipts (#1-#390, listed on pages 1-111). Following several blank pages are then receipts for bounty pay (#27-#278, listed on pages 116-189; the first 26 receipts are not included.) The receipts contain the following information: place of payment, date, amount in "proclamation money" (colonial money valued lower than pound sterling), number of men in the company, where the company served, name of the commanding officer, dates of active service, signature of officer receiving the pay (usually a captain), and the receipt number. Finally, the volume includes a summary account of the receipts recorded on pages 1-111. It appears that Lewis received funding for this pay from the Continental Congress, since the account is headed "The United States to Joseph Lewis for the payment of the militia of Morris, Sussex and Bergen."

NOTE: This volume is indexed by the Revolutionary War cards and slips as "Militia Pay - Morris, Sussex and Bergen Counties."


1.  Votes and Proceeding of the First General Assembly of New Jersey, 1777, p. 39. Assembly minutes report that Jonathan Styles Jr. was appointed paymaster for Morris, Sussex and Bergen on 20 March 1780; however, the records in this series show that Lewis continued in an official capacity as late as May of that year.

2.  Votes and Proceedings of the First General Assembly of New Jersey, 1777, p. 169; Acts of the First General Assembly of the State of New Jersey, chap. 20, p. 26, 1777; Acts of the Second General Assembly of the State of New Jersey, chap. 20, p. 42, 1778. At the beginning of the war, the Continental Congress set pay at just under $7 per month for privates and $20 per month for captains. Bounty pay approved by the state legislature ranged from 30-50 shillings per month. For a complete listing of the pay of Continental officers and men, see the Journal of the Continental Congress, Vol. II, p. 220, 1775. Also, an overview of Revolutionary War-era militia laws in New Jersey can be found in John R. Anderson's "Militia Law in Revolutionary Jersey," Proceedings of the New Jersey Historical Society, LXXVI (Oct. 1958), 280-296 and LXXVII (Jan. 1959), 9-21.



Reel Listing - REVOLUTIONARY WAR

Reel
Contents
Explanatory Notes
181 Accounts [including Pay Records]
[See Guides]
Miscellaneous Accounts (1776-1799)
Accounts of Interest Paid (1785-1791)
Accounts of Joseph Lewis (1778-1780)
Accounts of Payments on Depreciation Notes

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations