njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Treasury
Subgroup: State Treasurer's Office
Series: Accounts of Interest Paid on Revolutionary War Pay Certificates Issued by John Pierce and Benjamin Thompson, 1785-1791
Accession #: Unknown
Series #:  STSTR007
Guide Date:  8/1996 (EC)
Volume: 1.3 c.f. [4 disbound vols., 2 booklets and 1 photocopied manuscript]


Contents | Reel List

Content Note

The records in this series document New Jersey pay certificates issued by John Pierce and Benjamin Thompson, and include an accounting of interest paid on the certificates by the state treasurer. John Pierce, Paymaster General and Commissioner of Army Accounts for the United States, was authorized by Congress on 4 July 1783 to settle pay accounts with the officers and soldiers of the Continental Line (Journal of the Continental Congress, vol. XXIV, p. 426). His certificates were distributed in New Jersey as early as October of that year. Benjamin Thompson was appointed, also in 1783, as Commissioner of Accounts in New Jersey. He was nominated by Robert Morris, Superintendent of Finances for the Continental Congress, and was confirmed by the New Jersey Legislature in November of that year (Journal of the Proceedings of the Legislative-Council of the State of New Jersey, 1783, p. 8 and Votes and Proceedings of the Eighth General Assembly of the State of New Jersey, 1783, p. 15). As commissioner, Thompson had the authority, by a 1782 resolution of the Continental Congress, to settle accounts with citizens of New Jersey who had supplied the United States Army during the course of the war (Journal of the Continental Congress, vol. XXII, pp. 84-86.)

Pierce's and Thompson's certificates (referred to as "continental certificates" or "final settlement notes") bore interest of 6% annually until the principal could be paid. The Continental Congress, however, had difficulty making the interest payments. To avoid the devaluation of the notes, New Jersey's General Assembly made provisions to pay the annual interest on Thompson's and Pierce's certificates issued to New Jersey citizens until 1808 (Acts of the Eighth General Assembly of the State of New Jersey, chap. XXI, p. 44, 1783). There were also two individuals, Anthony Broderick and John Vleet, who were paid "fifth-year" interest by authority of a 25 November 1789 resolution of the General Assembly (Votes and Proceedings of the Fourteenth General Assembly of the State of New Jersey, 1789, p. 100). In November 1790, however, an assembly resolution ordered the treasurer to end payments on Pierce's, Thompson's and other continental certificates after 1 February 1791 (Votes and Proceedings of the Fifteenth General Assembly of the State of New Jersey, p. 98, 1790).


Item 1
This booklet contains returns of certificates issued by John Pierce, recording the following information: certificate number, check letter, certificate date, to whom issued (soldiers' name), interest commencement date, and certificate amount. Parts of the list are in certificate order while others are not. NOTE: This booklet was originally bound as part of "Miscellaneous Accounts No. 1" and is indexed as such in the Revolutionary War service cards and slips.
Item 2
This item is a photocopy of an account labeled "A List of Certificates left at the Treasury Office by John Peck and John Blair, Agents appointed to deliver the said certificates to the New Jersey Line." It is a semi-alphabetical list of recipients of Pierce's certificates (soldiers' pay) claimed by either the soldier or his representative during the period 1786-1799. The following information is included: regiment (First or Second), certificate number, to whom payable, certificate amount, date retrieved, and name of person collecting certificate. NOTE: The original manuscript is part of "Miscellaneous Accounts No. 1" and is indexed as such in the Revolutionary War service cards and slips.
Item 3
This booklet contains corrections to the first volume of a registry of Pierce's certificates published in 1786. The corrections were issued by the Office of Army Accounts on 27 April 1789. NOTE: A register of Pierce's certificates, arranged alphabetically by the recipients' names, has been published as Pierce's Register (Washington, 1915; reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., Baltimore, 1976). This publication does not include the corrections contained here.
Items 4-6
These three volumes are accounts of first-, second- and third-year interest payments made by the New Jersey State Treasurer on Pierce's notes. The following information is included: date of payment, voucher number, person paid, certificate number, certificate date, signed by whom (always John Pierce), payable to whom (soldier's name), interest commencement date, certificate amount, annual interest, and total paid. NOTE: The last several dozen pages of Item 6 were unused and have been discarded.
Item 7
The last item includes abstracts of accounts of the first through fifth year's interest paid on Pierce's and Thompson's notes (including, in part, abstracts of the accounts included in Items 4-6). The following information is included: date of payment, voucher number, person paid, number of certificates (on which interest was being paid), and amount paid (first in pounds, later in dollars). Accounts were also begun in this volume [on pp. 102 & 197] for interest paid on Pierce's notes delivered to John Peck, Paymaster to the 2nd Regiment of New Jersey, who had evidently deposited the certificates with the State Treasurer to be picked up by the payees at a later date. These accounts are crossed out and followed by the notation "entered in another book."

The volume is arranged roughly chronologically by the beginning date of each account. As a result, Pierce's and Thompson's accounts are mixed throughout the volume. The Contents listing below identifies the various accounts by page number. NOTE: This volume appears to be partially indexed by the Revolutionary War service cards and slips. The cards give no page numbers, but begin by quoting the account: “The State of New Jersey to James Mott ... for one years interest on Continental Certificates given by [Thompson or Pierce] ...” The abstract then provides voucher number, certificate number and date. To find the entry, you must look for the appropriate date.


It should also be noted that Pierce's and Thompson's certificates were used as currency and often changed hands. The person collecting interest, therefore, was not necessarily the original payee. Items 1-6 of this series include the name of the soldier or officer being paid. Items 4-6 also include the person collecting the interest. Item 7, however, lists only the person collecting the interest.

Contents

1. Returns of certificates issued by John Pierce.
2. List of certificates left at the Treasury Office by John Peck and John Blair [photocopy].
3. List of errors in printed registry of certificates issued by John Pierce.
4. Accounts of first-year interest paid on notes issued by John Pierce, 1785-1791.
5. Accounts of second-year interest paid on notes issued by John Pierce, 1786-1791.
6. Accounts of third-year interest paid on notes issued by John Pierce, 1787-1791.
7. Accounts of interest paid on Pierce's and Thompson's notes, 1785-1791:
 
  John Pierce's notes, first-year interest [abstracts of Item 4]
    8 April 1785 - 27 October 1785 [pp. 1-12]
7 November 1785 - 2 October 1786 [pp. 42-46]
23 November 1786 - 24 October 1787 [pp. 103-107]
26 November 1787 - 29 October 1788 [pp. 198-199]
10 December 1788 - 17 September 1789 [p. 291; misidentified as Benjamin Thompson's
    certificates, see Item 4, p. 20]
30 December 1789 - 19 October 1790 [p. 376]
15 - 31 January 1791 [p. 426]
  John Pierce's notes, second-year interest [abstracts of Item 5]
    30 March 1786 - 9 September 1786 [pp. 74-81]
23 November 1786 - 25 October 1787 [pp. 108-117]
5 November 1787 - 24 October 1788 [pp. 200-202]
10 December 1788 - 17 September 1789 [p. 292]
30 December 1789 - 19 October 1790 [p. 377]
14 - 31 January 1791 [p. 426]
  John Pierce's notes, third-year interest [abstracts of Item 6]
    8 November 1787 - 29 October 1788 [pp. 203-212]
17 November 1788 - 14 October 1789 [pp. 293-295]
11 December 1789 - 19 October 1790 [pp. 378-379]
9 December 1790 - 31 January 1791 [p. 427]
  John Pierce's notes, fourth-year interest
    11 January 1788 [p. 212]
1 December 1788 - 29 October 1789 [pp. 296-301]
10 December 1789 - 19 October 1790 [pp. 380-384]
9 December 1790 - 29 January 1791 [p. 428]
  John Pierce's notes, fifth-year interest (paid to Anthony Broderick)
    6 January 1790 [p. 384]
  Benjamin Thompson's notes, first-year interest
    14 April 1785 - 29 October 1785 [pp. 13-41]
3 November 1785 - 23 October 1786 [pp. 47-73]
23 November 1786 - 23 October 1787 [pp. 118-146]
5 November 1787 - 27 October 1788 [pp. 213-223]
12 December 1788 - 30 September 1789 [pp. 302-306]
3 December 1789 - 25 October 1790 [pp. 385-388]
6 December 1790 - 1 February 1791 [p. 429]
  Benjamin Thompson's notes, second-year interest
    30 March 1786 - 12 October 1786 [pp. 82-102]
23 November 1786 - 23 October 1787 [pp. 147-196]
5 November 1787 - 27 October 1788 [pp. 224-236]
10 December 1788 - 30 September 1789 [pp. 307-313]
3 December 1789 - 25 October 1790 [pp. 389-393]
6 December 1790 - 1 February 1791 [p. 430]
  Benjamin Thompson's notes, third-year interest
    5 November 1787 - 28 October 1788 [pp. 237-289]
10 December 1788 - 6 October 1789 [pp. 314-331]
3 December 1789 - 25 October 1790 [pp. 394-401]
6 December 1790 - 1 February 1791 [p. 431]
  Benjamin Thompson's notes, fourth-year interest
    11 January 1788 [p. 290]
6 December 1788 - 29 December 1789 [pp. 332-375]
3 December 1789 - 25 October 1790 [pp. 402-424]
1 December 1790 - 1 February 1791 [p. 432]
  Benjamin Thompson's notes, fifth-year interest (paid to Anthony Broderick & John Vleet)
    6 & 26 January 1790 [p. 425]
  Account of interest paid on certificates originally received by John Peck, Paymaster to
the 2nd New Jersey Regiment
    10 June 1786 - 3 August 1786 [p. 102]
18 November 1786 - 18 August 1787 [p. 197]

Reel Listing - REVOLUTIONARY WAR

Reel
Contents
Explanatory Notes
185 Accounts [including Pay Records]
[See Guide]
Records of Revolutionary War Pay
Certificates Issued by John Pierce
and Benjamin Thompson
(1785-1799)


Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations