njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Department of Treasury
Subgroup: State Treasurer's Office
Series: Receipts and Registers for Interest Paid on Revolutionary War Militia Indents, 1787-1796
Accession #: Unknown
Series #:  STSTR008
Guide Date:  10/1996 (EC)
Volume: 2.0 c.f. [5 disbound vols., 6 booklets]; 2 reels [35-mm]


Contents | Reel List

Content Note

The records in this series document interest paid by the State Treasurer on "militia indents" given to the officers and soldiers of New Jersey during the Revolutionary War. Militia indents were pay certificates issued as a result of "An Act to procure an Estimate of the Sums due the Militia and Troops who have been raised for the Defence of the Frontiers of the State, and to provide for the Settlement of the Same" (Acts of the Eighth General Assembly of the State of New Jersey, chap. 20, p. 40, 1783). This law appointed commissioners for each county to review militia payrolls, determine payments due, and issue payment notes (i.e., indents). The indents were to bear 6% interest annually until the principal was paid; however, the law did not stipulate when the principal would be due and made no provision for funding the interest payments.

It was not until November 1787 that the first interest payments were made as a result of "An Act to raise the Sum of Twelve Thousand Five Hundred Pounds per Annum, for the Term of twenty-two Years, for the Purpose of paying the Interest on the Debt due from this State to the Inhabitants thereof" (Acts of the Eleventh General Assembly of the State of New Jersey, chap. 208, p. 429, 1787). This law directed the treasurer to make interest payments on state-issued certificates each year for a period of twenty-two years. Three years later, however, the law was repealed and interest payments on certain state-issued certificates were limited to four years (Acts of the Fifteenth General Assembly of the State of New Jersey, chap. 323, p. 675, 1790).

Below are descriptions of the six items included in this series followed by a detailed list of the contents of each.


Item 1
This is a disbound volume of receipts for interest payments on the militia indents. The majority are for first-year payments, but there are also a few for the third year. The receipts contain the following information: voucher number, certificate number, signed by whom (one of the county commissioners), payable to whom (soldier's name), amount of principal, and amount of interest. Following each receipt is the statement "Received [date] of James Mott" followed by the payment amount and the signature of the recipient. The back of each page is endorsed with the inscription "Examined and allowed" followed by three signatures of Legislative Council and General Assembly committee members assigned to settle treasurer's accounts.

This volume is made up of separate "booklets" of receipts which were bound and given page numbers. Unfortunately, the booklets were bound out of their proper date/voucher order. While the disbound booklets (now foldered) remain arranged by page number, they are cited in the Contents list below in order of payment year and then by date/voucher number. It should also be noted that the first booklet of receipts from this volume (pages 1-12), recording interest payments on "depreciation notes," has been placed with related records in the series Department of Treasury/ State Treasurer's Office/ Receipts for Interest Paid on Revolutionary War Depreciation Notes, 1788-1792.

Item 2
Items 2a through 2d are separate booklets of receipts for fourth-year interest payments on militia indents which were never bound into a hard cover. Their format is similar to that of Item 1, and they are arranged in date/voucher order. Item 2e consists of photocopies of receipts for second- and fourth-year interest payments from an original booklet containing receipts for interest payments on several types of state notes (see the series: Department of Treasury/ State Treasurer's Office/ Account and Receipts for State Notes Issued by Silas Condict and Maskell Ewing, ca. 1786-1792).
Items 3-6
Items 3 through 6 are registers of the first-, second-, third- and fourth-year interest payments on militia indents. These volumes, in part, duplicate information recorded in Items 1 and 2. The following is included for each payment: payment date, voucher number, person paid, certificate number, certificate date, signed by whom (one of the county commissioners), payable to whom (soldier's name), certificate amount, annual interest, and total paid. An abstract of first-year payments made from November 1787 to October 1788 is included with Item 3. Also, the second-year payment register (Item 4) includes a semi-alphabetical index which is followed by the continuation of the third-year payment register (Item 5). Finally, the fourth-year register (Item 6) ends with a combined register of first, second, third and fourth year payments made from November 1792 to April 1796. Apparently, as the number of payments dwindled, it was decided to register them in a single account.
 

It should also be noted that Militia indents were used as currency and often changed hands. The person collecting the interest, therefore, was not usually the original payee. All of the receipt books and registers in this series, however, list the name of the soldier or officer originally paid as well as the person holding the certificate (i.e., collecting the interest).

Finally, Item 1 (Receipts for interest paid on militia indents, 1787-1792) is indexed by the Revolutionary War service cards and slips as "Indents A - Revolutionary War." Item 4 (Register of Second Year's Interest Paid on Militia Indents, 1788-1792) is indexed by the service cards and slips as "Militia Indents, Second Year." The registers for the first, third and fourth year were not indexed—apparently because they record interest payments on the same notes referred to in the register of second year's interest payments.


Contents

1. Receipts for interest paid on militia indents, 8 November 1787 - 25 October 1792 [arranged by page number but listed below by payment year and then in date/voucher order].
 
  First-year payments: Page Nos.
  8 November 1787 - 28 October 1788, vouchers #1-54 81-228
  27 December 1787 - 31 March 1788, vouchers #55-137 129-176
  1 April 1788 - 4 September 1788, vouchers #138-253 177-224
  4 September 1788 - 28 October 1788, vouchers #254-262 225-232
  26 November 1788 - 23 February 1789, vouchers #1-#78 233-279
  25 February 1789 - 7 October 1789, vouchers #79-142 334-355
  3 December 1789 - 28 September 1790, vouchers #1-105 280-323
  20 November 1790 - 16 February 1791, vouchers #1-62 13-38
  18 February 1791 - 16 May 1791, vouchers #63-120 39-58
  17 May 1791 - 24 October 1792, vouchers #121-205 59-80
  9 December 1791 - 25 October 1792, vouchers #1-39 324-333
  Third-year payments:  
  20 and 26 November 1790, vouchers #1-2 356
  17-18 January 1791, vouchers #71-72 357
2. Receipts for interest paid on militia indents, 16 December 1790 - 6 April 1796.
 
  Fourth-year payments:
  a. 16 December 1790 - 24 January 1791, vouchers #62-130  
  b. 24 January 1791 - 18 February 1791, vouchers #131-205  
  c. 18 February 1791 - 1 June 1791, vouchers #206 - 320  
  d. 9 December 1791 - 25 October 1792, vouchers #1-52  
  Second- and fourth-year payments:  
  e. 8 January 1796 - 6 April 1796, vouchers #1-5 [photocopy]  
3a. Register of first-year interest paid on militia indents, 8 November 1787 - 25 October 1792.
3b. Abstract of first-year interest paid on militia indents, 8 November 1787 - 28 October 1788
(see Register pages 1-152).
4a. Register of second-year interest paid on militia indents, 26 November 1788 - 25 October 1792
(pages 1-296 and index).
4b. Register of third-year interest paid on militia indents (continued), 9 July - 25 October 1792
(pages 297-[299], following index).
5. Register of third-year interest paid on militia indents, 3 December 1789 - 9 July 1792.
6a. Register of fourth-year interest paid on militia indents, 20 November 1790 - 25 October 1792
(pages [1]-[126]).
6b. Register of first- through fourth-year interest paid on militia indents, 10 November 1792 - 6 April 1796
(pages [127]-[130]).

Reel Listing - REVOLUTIONARY WAR

Reel
Contents
Explanatory Notes
183 Accounts [including Pay Records]
[See Guides]
Receipts and Registers for Interest Paid on Revolutionary War Militia Indents (1787-1796) [part]
184 Accounts [including Pay Records]
[See Guides]
Receipts and Registers for Interest Paid on Revolutionary War Militia Indents (1787-1796) [cont'd]

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations