| Record
Group: |
Department
of Treasury |
| Subgroup: |
State
Treasurer's Office |
| Series: |
Auditor's
Account Books, 1776-1830 |
| Accession
#: |
Unknown |
| Series
#: |
STSTR013 |
| Guide
Date: |
9/1997;
rev. 11/1998 (EC) |
| Volume: |
1.5
c.f. [3 disbound vols., 3 folders] |
Content
Note
Contents - Book
A [Ledger B] | Book
B [Ledger A] | Book
C
Reel List
Legislative
History
The
responsibility for auditing state government finances was first
codified during the Revolutionary War by an act of the legislature
dated 22 June 1778 (Laws of 1778, Chap. XXXV). This law established
a three-man committee for collecting, adjusting, and settling the
public accounts of the state. However, with wartime finances becoming
more complicated, the legislature replaced the committee in December
1779 with an Auditor of Accounts to be elected at a joint meeting
of the legislature (Laws of 1779, Chap. CLXXX). The 1779
act gave the auditor the responsibility and authority to examine--by
subpoena if necessary--all accounts of state expenditures and income.
The law also required that the records of the former accounts committee
be delivered to the new state auditor.
Subsequent legislation enacted in the 1780s defined in greater detail
the auditor's authority over the accounts of a variety of officials,
including county clerks, sheriffs, commissioners of forfeited estates,
and army contractors and paymasters. The auditor's importance appears
to have waned in the 1790s, perhaps because the coming of peace
and federal assumption of state debts greatly simplified New Jersey's
finances. The office of Auditor of Accounts was dissolved by the
legislature in 1798 (Laws of 1798, Chap. DCCXL), and its
records, and most of its responsibilities, were transferred to the
Secretary of State.
Content
Note
This
series includes three disbound State Auditor's ledgers containing
accounts from the Revolutionary War period to as late as 1830. Cross-references
between the first two volumes show that the ledgers are related,
although they were mislabeled at some point. Book A is actually
Ledger B and vice versa. This mislabeling has been retained because
the volumes are cited with the incorrect titles in the Revolutionary
War service cards and slips. Also included at the end of this series
are two booklets of auditor's notes and two loose audited accounts.
Below are general descriptions of each item followed by a detailed
Contents list for Books A, B and C.
| Book
A |
As
mentioned above, this volume was originally referred to as
Ledger B. It contains a variety of records, including: rosters
of Revolutionary War soldiers (returns and "after-returns");
accounts of the State of New Jersey against the United States
for soldier's pay, military supplies and services; and accounts
of state treasurers, county sheriffs, receivers of Continental
taxes, and Continental loan officers. The records date from
the period 1776-1830, and most include only a notation of
the year. They are listed below by account type (thereunder
chronologically) and referencing the stamped page number.
The returns and after-returns were gathered in compliance
with "An Act for making compensation to the troops of
this State, in the service of the United States, for the Depreciation
of their pay" and were used to distribute depreciation
notes (Acts of the Fifth General Assembly of the State
of New Jersey, chap. 11, p. 32, 1781; for further information
see the series: Department of Treasury/ State Treasurer's
Office/ Accounts and Receipts for Payments on Revolutionary
War Depreciation Notes). NOTE:
The portions of this volume which document military service
or contributions of services or supplies are indexed in the
Revolutionary War service cards and slips. The remaining portions
of the volumes are not. Also, the last several dozen pages
of this volume were unused and have been discarded. |
|
|
| Book
B |
As
mentioned above, this volume was originally referred to as
Ledger A. It was used to audit a wide variety of accounts
of state and county officials from the period 1776-1799. Some
were reviewed and settled by state auditors James Ewing or
Aaron Dunham; others were settled by a joint committee of
the legislature. The accounts are cited in the Contents
list below by account type, and are thereunder alphabetically
by official's name. In general, they identify sources of funding
and give a brief description of expenditures. Certain accounts,
however, provide more detailed information. Militia payroll
abstracts, for example, provide the names of officers collecting
the militia pay. Clothier and supply records often include
specific lists of the materials purchased and to whom they
were delivered. Accounts of forfeited estates list former
owners and the value of property being sold. And lastly, sheriffs'
accounts list the names of those fined and their offenses.
NOTE: The portions of this volume
which document military service or contributions of services
or supplies are indexed in the Revolutionary War Service cards
and slips. The remaining portions of the volumes are not.
|
|
|
| Book
C |
This
volume appears to have been used to record monies owed by
the United States government to the State of New Jersey for
supplying and paying Revolutionary War troops. The first section
(pages 1-5) is an account against the United States for payments
made to the militia by county and company paymasters for the
period 1776-1779. The second section (pages 9-68) is an account
of bounty, subsistence, mileage and cash paid to the Jersey
Brigade for the period 1 July 1776 to 3 March 1781. NOTE:
This volume is indexed by the Revolutionary War service cards
and slips. The majority of the pages, however, were not used
and the blank pages have been discarded. |
|
|
| Item
1 |
This
small booklet contains notes which question aspects of the
accounts in Book B. In general, the entries note whose account
is being reviewed followed by questions or comments about
certain information. |
|
|
| Item
2 |
The
first section of this small booklet, "Names of Persons,
who have not accounted with the sums they have to account
for," duplicates some of the information found in Book
B. It includes a table of contents which provides the official's
name and the (handwritten) number of the page on which his
account is found. The second section is entitled "Accounts
of Public Sales made of the Estates of Fugitives of the County
of Sussex by Isaac Martin and Samuel Meeker by order of the
Commissioners." These accounts cover the period 1777-1779
and include the name of the fugitive, date of sale, item sold,
buyer's name and price paid. NOTE:
The back page of this booklet is labeled "Continental
& Militia Officers, Payment and Service, 1775-1783."
It is assumed that this notation refers to the accounts of
monies received by various paymasters recorded in the first
part of the book. The accounts do not provide lists
of soldiers being paid. |
|
|
| Item
3 |
This
manuscript contains two audited accounts. The first, "Account
of Notes Issued to the Troops of this State in the service
of the United States for the Depreciation of their pay,"
is an abstract of information from the "Return"
section of Book A. The second is entitled "Account of
Notes issued by the Commissioners of the Several Counties
of this State in the Service of the United States," and
includes summary information about the total amount of "indents"
issued by county commissioners (for further information on
"indents" see the series: Department of Treasury/
State Treasurer's Office/ Receipts and Registers for Interest
Paid on Revolutionary War Militia Indents, 1787-1796).
Both of these accounts were audited by Aaron Dunham on 1 October
1786. (There are two copies of the manuscript.) |
|
Contents
- Book A [Ledger B] |
| Returns: |
|
|
|
|
| |
Sheldon's
Regiment, 1778-1781 [p. 1]
Hazen's Regiment, 1777-1781 [p. 2]
Capt. John Heard, 1777-1781 [p. 2]
Capt. Zebulun Pike of Moylan's Regiment, 1777-1781 [p. 2]
Dr. Thomas Reed, Surgeon of Col. James Livingston's Regiment, 1776-1781
[p. 2]
Lamb's Artillery, 1777-1781 [p. 3]
Ogden's Regiment, 1777-1781 [p. 4]
Shreve's Regiment, 1777-1781 [p. 5]
Dayton's Regiment, 1777 - ca. 1781 [p. 6]
Spencer's Regiment, 1777 - ca. 1781 [p. 7]
First Regiment, 1777 - ca. 1781 [pp. 8-17]
Second Regiment, 1777 - ca. 1781 [pp. 18-27]
George Washington's Guards, 1780 - ca. 1781 [p. 28]
Regiment of Artificers, 1779 - ca. 1781 [p. 28]
Lt. John Sharp of the Artillery Artificers, 1777 - ca. 1781 [p. 28]
Invalids, 1777 - ca. 1781 [p. 30]
Holme's Company, 1777 - ca. 1781 [pp. 31-32] |
|
|
|
|
| After-returns
[supplemental returns]: |
|
|
|
|
| |
1777
- ca. 1781 [p. 27]
ca. 1777 - ca. 1781 [pp. 29-30]
1777-1794 [pp. 33-54, 149-156] |
|
|
|
|
| Accounts
against the United States: |
|
|
|
|
| |
Soldier's
Pay |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Militia
Pay: |
| |
|
|
1776
[pp. 63-64]
1777 [pp. 65-66]
1778 [pp. 67-68]
1780 [pp. 69-70]
1781 [pp. 71-72] |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Bounty
Pay: |
| |
|
|
Paid
to the militia and recruits of the Jersey Brigade, no date [pp. 85-88]
1776 [pp. 75-76]
1777 [pp. 77-78]
1778 [pp. 79-80]
1779 [pp. 81-82] |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Monies
paid to wounded and disabled officers and soldiers: |
| |
|
|
1777
[pp. 91-92]
1778 [pp. 91-92]
1779 [pp. 93-94]
1780 [pp. 93-94]
5 January - 8 October 1781 [pp. 95-96]
On warrants, 2 November 1781 - 5 October 1782 [pp. 127-128]
5 October - 7 November 1782 [pp. 129-130]
22 April - 5 October 1782 [pp. 129-130] |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Monies
paid to troops of New Jersey in the service of the United States for
the
depreciation of their pay to
1 August 1780 [pp. 135-136] |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Cash
paid to paymasters of the first and second Jersey regiments, 12 October
1782
[p. 137] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Supplies
and services to the army |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Clothing: |
| |
|
|
Purchased
1776 [pp. 55-58]
Purchased for the Army by law passed 25 November 1777, 1777-1782 [pp.
59-60] |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Arms
and military stores: |
| |
|
|
1776
[pp. 97-98]
1777 [pp. 97-98]
1778 [pp. 99-100]
1779 [pp. 99-100]
1780 [pp. 101-102] |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Specific
supplies furnished the army (as of general account A), no date [pp.
161-164] |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
For
sundry services: |
| |
|
|
1776
[p. 105]
1777 [p. 107]
1778 [pp. 109-111]
1779 [p. 111]
1780 [p. 113]
1781 [pp. 115, 117]
1782 [pp. 118]
1782-1785 [p. 118]
Total for 1776-1782 [p. 146] |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Warrants
of Congress paid by New Jersey, December 1779 - June 1780 [pp. 125-126] |
|
|
|
|
| State
Treasurer's accounts: |
|
|
|
|
| |
James
Mott, monies received from Loan Office Commissioners, collectors and
others,
7 January 1790 - 15 March 1798
[pp. 169-208] |
|
|
|
|
| |
James
Salter: |
| |
|
Monies
received from sheriffs, 21 November 1799 - 9 November 1802 [pp. 235-236]
Monies received on forfeited estates, 1 November 1800 - 1 November
1802 [pp. 249-250]
Monies received for exempt taxes, 15 January 1800 - 7 September 1804
[pp. 261-262]
Monies received from Loan Office Commissioners, 25 February 1800 -
29 July 1801, [pp. 269-270]
Monies received from collectors, 21 December 1799 - 28 December 1802
[pp. 279-280] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Peter
Gorden: |
| |
|
Monies
received from sheriffs, 9 November 1803 - 6 November 1812 [pp. 235-236]
Monies received for exempt taxes. 21 December 1803 - 12 January 1816
[pp. 263-264]
Monies received from collectors, 21 December 1803 - 9 January 1818
[pp. 281-290]
Monies received as treasurer of the state, 22 December 1818 - 30 December
1825 [pp. 291-294] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Charles
Parker: |
| |
|
Monies
received as treasurer of the state, 24 December 1821 - 31 December
1830 [pp. 295-300]
Check ledger, 28 November 1821 - 9 February 1825 [pp. 1-8 back] |
|
|
|
|
| Sheriff's
fines: |
|
|
|
|
| |
Cape
May [continued from Book B, p. 322] |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Reuben
Townsend, February 1795 [p. 221]
Jacob Godfrey, May-August 1797 [p. 221] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Gloucester
[continued from Book B, p. 265] |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Samuel
Flannigan, March-October 1795 [p. 213]
Edward Vaughn, December 1795 - October 1797 [pp. 215, 217] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Hunterdon
[continued from Book B, p. 334] |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
John
Philips, February 1797 [p. 223] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Salem
[continued from Book B, p. 515] |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Clement
Acton, March 1796 - September 1797 [p. 209] |
|
|
|
|
| Continental
money paid to loan officers: |
|
|
|
|
| |
Joseph
Borden, November 1780 - July 1782 [p. 139]
James Ewing, February 1787 [p. 139] |
|
|
|
|
| Miscellaneous
accounts: |
|
|
|
|
| |
Stoppages
made from the pay of the three New Jersey regiments to reimburse the
United States for monies
advanced to procure arms and clothing,
1775 and 1776 [p. 55]
Azariah Dunham, Superintendent [of Purchasing for the State of New
Jersey, Commissary General's Office],
25 March 1780 - 15 June 1782 [pp.
227-232]
Cash paid William Churchill Houston, Receiver of Continental Taxes,
15 June 1782 - 30 April 1783 [p. 133] |
| |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
| Accounts
of militia paymasters [includes payroll abstracts]: |
|
|
|
|
| |
Caleb
Camp [Essex, Middlesex, and Somerset], April-November 1777 [pp. 105-106]
Thomas Carpenter, Salem and Gloucester, October 1777 - June 1780 [pp.
145-148]
Peter Covenhoven, Burlington and Monmouth, January 1780 - October
1783 [pp. 405-410]
Jacob Drake [Morris, Bergen and Sussex], April-October 1777 [pp. 103-104]
James Ewing, Cumberland and Cape May, 25 October 1777 - 2 July 1782
[pp. 151-156]
Benjamin Fenimore, Burlington, June 1782 - November 1785 [pp. 375-376]
Joseph Gaston, Sussex, June 1780 - March 1784 [pp. 383-384]
Issac Halsey, Essex and Middlesex, November 1777 - May 1782 [pp. 157-172]
Jesse Hart, Somerset and Hunterdon, December 1777 - June 1780 [pp.
181-188]
William Hough, Burlington and Monmouth, October 1777 - November 1779
[pp. 135-136]
Nathaniel Hunt, Hunterdon, June 1780 - November 1782 [pp. 465-466]
Joseph Lewis, Morris, Sussex, and Bergen, September 1777 - May 1780
[pp. 121-134]
Andrew Sinnickson, Salem, Gloucester and Cumberland, December 1776
- January 1778 [pp. 1-2]
Thomson Stella, Middlesex, June 1781 - May 1783 [pp. 433-436]
William Verbryck, Hunterdon and Somerset, June 1780 - May 1782 [pp.
413-416] |
|
|
|
|
Accounts
of county paymasters, commissioners and others assigned to pay troops
[does not include
payroll abstracts; militia pay unless otherwise specified]: |
|
|
|
|
| |
Peter
Barnett Shaffer, Sussex, 1778 - December 1782 [pp. 119-120]
Sidney Berry, bounty for five-months men, July 1776 [pp. 45-46]
Joseph Borden, Burlington, June-August 1776 & May-August 1778
[pp. 79-80]
Abraham Brewer, Bergen, April 1782 - April 1785 [pp. 387-388]
Edward Bunn, Somerset:
June 1779 [pp. 107-108]
Nine-month recruits, May-June
1778 [pp. 25-26]
Thomas Carpenter:
Bounty, Salem, August-September
1779 [pp. 11-12]
Bounty for nine-month men, Salem,
May 1778 - September 1778 [pp. 149-150]
Account "current" with
the State of New Jersey, September 1778 - August 1780 [pp. 149- 150]
Bounty for the Jersey Brigade,
May 1780 & December 1780 - June 1782 [pp. 149-150]
Mileage pay, Salem, 2-30 August
1780 [pp. 149-150]
John Covenhoven, militia stationed at Sandy Hook, April-May 1776 [pp.
21-22]
John Craig, bounty, subsistence and mileage, Monmouth, June 1779 -
February 1781 [pp. 107-108]
Thomas Denny, bounty, December 1776 - July 1777 [pp. 77-78]
Azariah Dunham, April 1776 - March 1777, and 1789 [pp. 503-504]
Edward Dunlop, Sussex:
Capt. Bonnel's Company, June 1781
- June 1782 [pp. 417-418]
[bounty and subsistence], November
1782 - May 1783 [pp. 417-418]
Bounty for the Jersey Brigade,
February-November 1781 [pp. 417-418]
Joseph Ellis, arms and pay for the Western Company of Artillery, April-May
1776 [pp. 373-374]
Eli Elmer, Cumberland and Cape May:
August 1781 - November 1782 [pp.
461-462]
November 1782 - May 1784 [pp.
477-478]
James Ewing, Paymaster and Clothier for nine-months men, May 1778
[pp. 37-38]
Moore Furman, Paymaster and Clothier for nine-months men, Hunterdon,
May-June 1778 [pp. 37-38]
Capt. George Green, Col. Smith's Battalion, Hunterdon, July 1776 [pp.
27-28]
John Griffith, Paymaster and Clothier for nine-months men, Gloucester
County, May-June 1778
[pp. 39-40]
Benjamin Halsey, bounty for five-months men, July 1776 & January-June
1777 [pp. 47-48]
Issac Halsy, Essex:
Bounty and subsistence, June-October
1779 [pp. 157-158]
April 1780 - December 1782 [pp.
171-172]
August-September 1782 [pp. 171-172]
Cornelius Haring, bounty, July 1779 [pp. 363-364]
Asher Holmes, bounty, June-July 1776 [pp. 95-96]
Samuel Hugg, clothing and pay for Western Artillery, 1776 [p. 373-374]
Nathaniel Hunt, Hunterdon, November 1782 - April 1784 [pp. 475-476]
Jonathan Jenkins, Paymaster and Clothier to nine-month recruits, Cape
May, May- October 1778
[pp. 31-32]
Samuel Kaighn, bounty, Gloucester, July-September 1779 [pp. 67-68]
William Kelsay, Cumberland and Cape May, June 1780 - November 1781
[pp. 461-462]
Gershom Lee, bounty, Hunterdon, July-November 1779 [pp. 95-96]
John Litle, Gloucester, July 1782 - May 1784 [pp. 479-480]
Col. Ephraim Martin, pay for his battalion, Sussex, April 1776 [pp.
7-8]
John Melham, Quartermaster General and Paymaster to a brigade of militia
stationed at Amboy,
April-August 1776 [pp. 117-118]
John Neilson, Middlesex:
June-September 1779 [pp. 107-108]
Paymaster and Clothier for nine-months
men, May-June 1778 [pp. 39-40]
Charles Rhodes, Sussex, June-July 1779 [pp. 67-68]
Ephraim Seeley, bounty, Cumberland, July 1779 [pp. 85-86]
William Shreve, bounty, Burlington, July 1779-December 1780 [pp. 7-8]
Thomas Sinnickson, appointed to muster in and pay bounty to the troops,
June-October 1776
[pp. 113-114]
Jonathan Stiles, Bergen, Morris and Sussex, 1 May 1780 - 11 October
1784 [pp. 175-176]
George Taylor, Commissary and Paymaster to guard stationed at Sandy
Hook, July 1776
[pp. 49-50]
David Thomson, Paymaster and Clothier for nine-months men, Gloucester,
May 1778 - May 1779
[pp. 41-42]
William White, bounty for nine-months men, Sussex, May-October 1778
[pp. 85-86]
Jacob Wikoff, bounty for nine-months men, Monmouth, May-June 1778
[pp. 63-64]
Isaac Woodruff:
Commissioner for paying the arrearage
of pay and subsistence, December 1778 [pp. 481-482]
Paymaster for nine-months men,
Essex, May 1778 [pp. 41-42]
Henry Y. Townsend, bounty, Cape May, June 1781 [pp. 117-118] |
|
|
|
|
| Accounts
of recruiting agents: |
|
|
|
|
| |
John
Black, Burlington, April 1781 - October 1782 [pp. 379-380]
Abram Brener, Bergen, 1781 - April 1785 [pp. 455-456; this account
was crossed out]
Nathaniel Hunt, Hunterdon, September 1781 - April 1783 [pp. 463-464]
Isaac Kay, Gloucester, April-November 1782 [pp. 425-426]
Bodo Otto, Gloucester, 1781 - April 1785 [pp. 425-426]
William Schenck, Salem:
October 1781 - May 1783 [pp. 473-474]
October 1781 - July 1784 [pp.
491-492] |
|
|
|
|
| Other
militia accounts: |
|
|
|
|
| |
Abraham
Clark, one of the delegates of this state in Congress [account of
monies drawn from
Continental Treasury and the Continental
Loan Office which were used to pay the militia and
other expenses], March-September
1777 [pp. 97-98]
Brigadier General William Livingston, for monies received for the
use of the militia,
August 1776 - March 1777 [pp.
41-42]
Robert Morss, "one of the Justices of the County of Gloucester
to whom returns were made
of the classes in Col. Somers
Regiment who neglected to procure subsistence for the Regiment of
militia embodied by law in the
year 1779," August 1780 [pp. 21-22] |
|
|
|
|
| Accounts
of commissioners, legislators and others assigned to purchase clothing: |
|
|
|
|
| |
Elisha
Bassett, Salem, 1776 - March 1777 [pp. 53-54]
David Board, Bergen, 1776 - June 1777 [pp. 59-60]
Jonathan Bowen, Cumberland, December 1776 - September 1777 [pp. 49-50]
John Buck, Cumberland, 1776 - March 1777 [pp. 55-56]
Edward Bunn, Somerset, December 1777 - May 1778 [pp. 27-28]
John Butler, Burlington, December 1777 - February 1779 [pp. 23-24]
Joseph Chamberlain, Hunterdon, June 1778 [pp. 75-76]
Alexander Chambers, Receiver General of clothing, January-November
1778 [pp. 109-110]
John Combs, see Benjamin Manning
Silas Condict, Morris, 1776 - May 1777 [pp. 57-58]
Stephen Conkling, Morris, January-February 1778 [pp. 33-34]
Ellis Cook, Morris, 1776 - November 1777 [pp. 51-52]
Charles Coxe, Hunterdon, 1776 - December 1776 [pp. 53-54]
Thomas Denny, Gloucester, July 1777 - September 1780 [pp. 77-78]
Samuel Dick, Bergen, 1776 [pp. 47-48]
Eli Eldridge, Cape May, 1776 - June 1777 [pp. 29-30]
Theophilus Elmer, Cumberland, 1776 - March 1777 [pp. 51-52]
Timothy Elmer, Cumberland, December 1777 - October 1778 [pp. 63-64]
John Fell, Bergen, November 1776 [pp. 59-60]
David Forman, Monmouth, March-June 1778 [pp. 35-36]
Moore Furman [account of clothing received from legislators], May
1777 [pp. 5-6]
William Garrison, Salem, December 1777 - January 1778 [pp. 23-24]
Hugh Gaston, Somerset, ca. 1777 [pp. 9-10]
Benjamin Halsey, August-November 1777 [pp. 75-76]
Jesse Hand, Cape May, February 1778 [pp. 31-32]
William Harriman, Essex, February 1778 - December 1780 [pp. 115-116]
John Hart, Hunterdon, November 1776 - May 1777 [pp. 5-6]
Hugh Hathorne, Cape May, 1776 - February 1777 [pp. 57-58]
John Holme, Salem, September 1777 - December 1779 [pp. 35-36]
Joseph Holmes, Monmouth, 1776 - February 1777 [pp. 55-56]
Enos Kelsy, April 1778 - May 1780 [pp. 537-540]
Benjamin Manning and John Combs, Middlesex, 1776 - May 1777 [pp. 61-62]
Robert Maxwell, Sussex, December 1777 - July 1778 [pp. 87-88]
James McComb, August 1780 - 1781 [pp. 543-546]
Alexander McEowen, Somerset, 1776 - October 1777 [pp. 61-62]
Issac Mickle, Gloucester, 1776 - March 1777 [pp. 57-58]
Ephraim Mills, Cumberland, January 1778 - April 1779 [pp. 11-12]
Michael Mount, Monmouth, May-October 1778 [pp. 455-456]
David Olden, Middlesex, December 1777 - April 1779 [pp. 29-30]
Samuel Pennington, Essex, January-May 1778 [pp. 21-22]
Thomas Peterson, Sussex, 1776 - May 1777 [pp. 39-40]
Joseph Potts, Middlesex, December 1777 - October 1778 [pp. 33-34]
Manasseh Reeve, Morris, February-May 1779 [pp. 113-114]
Nathaniel Scuddar, Monmouth, September 1776 - April 1778 [pp. 115-116]
Jared Sexton, Hunterdon, ca. November 1777 - March 1780 [pp. 25-26]
Caspar Shaffer, Sussex, 1776 - May 1777 [pp. 31-32]
Andrew Sinnickson, Salem, 1776 - April 1777 [pp. 55-56]
Richard Smith, Burlington, September 1776 - June 1777 [pp. 115-116]
John Stevens, Hunterdon, December 1776 [pp. 59-60]
Benjamin Stites, Cape May, February 1778 - June 1779 [pp. 31-32]
John Cleves Symmes, Sussex, 1776 - January 1777 [pp. 53-54]
Peter Talman, Burlington, 1776 - March 1777 [pp. 51-52]
John Tonkin, Burlington, 12 February 1778 - March 1779 [pp. 23-24]
Roeloff Vandike, Somerset, 1776 - June 1777 [pp. 61-62]
Richard Westcott, Gloucester, February-October 1778 [pp. 9-10]
Edmund Wetherby, Salem, 1776 - April 1777 [pp. 59-60]
William Woodhull, Morris, 1776 - July 1777 [pp. 45-46]
Peter Zabriskie, Bergen, September 1777 [pp. 43-44] |
|
|
|
|
| Accounts
of commissaries and other suppliers of goods and services: |
|
|
|
|
| |
Elisha
Boudinot, Commissary of Prisoners, May 1779 - December 1780 [pp. 103-104]
Alexander Chambers:
Barrackmaster at Trenton, March-November
1776 [pp. 109-110]
Commissary, May 1776 - January
1777 [pp. 111-112]
Whitten Cripps, Commissioner appointed to sell the temporary barracks
at Elsingburgh, April 1779 -
November 1791 [pp. 117-118]
Thomas Denny, appointed to muster and purchase arms for Col. Potter's
men, February-July 1777
[pp. 77-78; continued on inside
cover]
John Denton, Agent for purchasing ammunition, May 1779 - May 1780
[pp. 3-4]
Azariah Dunham, supplies furnished the state troops, April 1782 -
December 1782 [pp. 541- 542]
Thomas Fenimore, appointed to repair the jail and courthouse, Burlington
County,
September-November 1782 [pp. 379-380]
Hendrick Fisher:
Vice President of the Convention
in account of monies drawn from the treasury of the United States,
[includes a notation that this
money may have been used to purchase arms] February 1776 [pp. 5-6]
Barrackmaster at New Brunswick,
May 1776 - November 1776 [pp. 73-74]
Commissioner for purchasing arms
and military stores, April-November 1776 [pp. 73-74]
William Grinding, [for carting clothing], November-December 1776 [pp.
63-64]
James Hamilton, Commissary of Military Stores, September 1781 - November
1782 [pp. 447-448]
William Harriman, Commissioner appointed to sell the remains of the
barracks at Elizabeth Town,
January 1787 [pp. 437-438]
Bennoni Hathaway, Keeper of the magazine at Morristown, December 1778
- October 1780
[pp. 365-366]
John Hendry, Barrackmaster, Burlington County, December 1784 - October
1787 [pp. 395-396]
Benjamin Holme, Commissary to the Western Company of Artillery, May-July
1776 [pp. 43-44]
Edward Keasby, Commissary to the First Battalion of Salem County Militia,
August- November 1777
[pp. 7-8]
Henry Lummis, Commissary to the 2nd Battalion of Salem County Militia,
July-September 1777 [pp. 5-6]
John Neilson, monies for forwarding troops, prisoners, and baggage,
July 1776 - February 1778 [pp. 73-74]
Joseph Nickers, Barrackmaster at New Brunswick, May 1776 [pp. 481-482]
David Potter, appointed to sell ammunition, February-December 1786
[pp. 397-398]
John Schuurman:
Appointed to furnish baggage and
wagons for forwarding the troops, April-July 1776 [pp. 75-76]
Barrackmaster at New Brunswick,
April-May 1776 [pp. 75-76]
Timothy Shaler, for taking up and transporting prisoners of war, May
1777 [pp. 27-28]
William Tucker, Barrackmaster at Trenton, March-May 1776 [pp. 253-254]
Rensselaer Williams, appointed to repair barracks in Trenton, April-August
1781 [pp. 117-118]
William Winds, appointed to purchase lead, September-December 1778
[pp. 9-10]
Lieut. Col. William Winds, intrusted with money to purchase arms for
Lord Stirling's regiment,
December 1775 - March 1776 [pp.
119-120]
Elias Woodruff, Commissary of military stores, April 1779 - October
1782 [pp. 441-442, 445-446] |
|
|
|
|
| State
Treasurer's accounts: |
|
|
|
|
| |
Richard
Smith, receipts and disbursements, September 1776 - March 1777 [pp.
13-14]
John Stevens, Jr. [see also the series State Treasurer John Stevens
Jr./ Accounts, 1777-1783]:
State money received, November
1781 - October 1783 [pp. 139-144]
State money and Continental certificates
received, November 1781 - October 1783
[pp. 353- 354, 367-368]
Continental certificates received,
November 1781 - October 1783 [pp. 355-356]
Specie received: |
| |
|
|
October
1781 - August 1782 [pp. 357-358]
November 1781 - November 1782 [pp. 359-360]
June 1782 - November 1783 [pp. 360-362] |
| |
James
Mott, receipts:
December 1783 - February 1787
[pp. 483-490, 497-500]
February 1786 - January 1790 [pp.
517-536, 547-556] |
|
|
|
|
| Accounts
for attendance of Continental Congress delegates: |
|
|
|
|
| |
Jonathan
Elmer, October 1777 - October 1778 [pp. 107-108]
John Fell, April 1779 - June 1780 [pp. 67-68]
Frederick Frelinghuysen, March 1779 [pp. 11-12]
Nathaniel Scudder, November 1779 [pp. 7-8]
John Witherspoon, November 1779 [pp. 67-68] |
|
|
|
|
| Other
state government accounts: |
|
|
|
|
| |
President
and Council of Safety, [general expenses], April 1777 - October 1778
[pp. 363-364]
Caleb Camp, Treasurer to the Council of Safety, October 1777 - March
1778 [pp. 455-456]
John Dennis, one of the treasurers of the Provincial Congress, March-September
1776
[pp. 17-20]
James Ewing, Moore Furman, and Conrad Kott, appointed to procure a
house for Congress,
October-November 1784 [pp. 179-180]
Samuel Tucker, one of the treasurers of the Provincial Congress, March-August
1776
[pp. 15-16] |
|
|
|
|
Accounts
of commissioners and agents of forfeited estates, forfeitures of condemned
goods and
sequestered estates [forfeited estates unless otherwise noted]: |
|
|
|
|
| |
Bergen
County |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Cornelius
Haring:
March 1784 - November 1785 [pp.
381-382]
September 1781 - November 1783
[pp. 449-450]
Hendrick Kuyper, Garret Leydecker and James Board, July 1777 - May
1781 [pp. 427-432] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Burlington
County |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
John
Butler and Joseph Borden, May 1778 - December 1780 [pp. 99-100]
Thomas Fenimore:
Sequestered estates, 1782 - November
1785 [pp. 379-380]
[Sequestered estates?], November
1786 - November 1789 [pp. 397-398] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Cape
May County |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Jesse
Hand, May 1784 - May 1785 [pp. 179-180] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Cumberland
County |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
William
Kelsay, forfeited and sequestered estates, March-June 1783 [pp. 473-474]
Enos Seeley and William Kelsay, December 1778 - March 1780 [pp. 439-440] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Essex
County |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
John
Clawson and Daniel Marsh, March 1779 - August 1780 [pp. 411-412]
Samuel Hayes, Joseph Hedden and Thomas Canfield, July 1777 - February
1780
[pp. 399-404]
John Ogden, Jr., forfeitures of condemned goods, October 1781 - May
1782 [pp. 289-290]
Richard Townly, forfeitures of condemned goods, January 1781 - May
1782 [pp. 289-290]
Jonas Wade, forfeitures of condemned goods, June 1782 - January 1783
[pp. 289-290] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Gloucester
County |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
John
Sparks and Samuel Kaighn, March 1778 - April 1786 [pp. 441-444, 453-454] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Hunterdon
County |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Moore
Furman:
June 1782 - December 1783 [pp.
451-452]
January 1787 - November 1789 [pp.
395-396]
Jared Sexton, Nathaniel Hunt and Peter Brunner, August 1778 - March
1782 [pp. 69-72] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Middlesex
County |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Matthias
Baker, 1776 - September 1780 [pp. 403-404]
John Lloyd and William Scudder, October 1777 - May 1780 [pp. 65-66]
William Manning and Ebenezer Ford, August 1777 - June 1782 [pp. 89-94]
David Olden, sequestered estates, December 1782 - December 1784 [pp.
459-460] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Monmouth
County |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Samuel
Forman, Kenneth Hankinson and Jacob Wikoff, August 1778 - March 1780
[pp. 467-472]
John Stillwell:
March 1782 - November 1785 [pp.
377-378]
November 1786 - September 1791
[pp. 393-394]
Sequestered estates, November
1785 - March 1786 [pp. 377-378] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Morris
County |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Abram
Kitchel, March 1785 - November 1786 [pp. 371-372]
David Thompson, Alexander Carmichael and Aaron Kitchel, July 1777
- June 1782
[pp. 421-426] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Salem
County |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
William
Garrison and Thomas Sayre, April 1779 - April 1785 [pp. 81-84] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Somerset
County |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Jacob
Bergen and Hendrick Wilson, March 1779 - February 1784 [pp. 369-370]
Peter Dumont, Agent, April-December 1784 [pp. 365-366]
Frederick Frelinghuysen, July 1779 - 1782 [pp. 363-364]
Roeloff Sebring, March 1783 - December 1784 [pp. 451-452] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Sussex
County |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
William
Bond and George Warne:
December 1780 - March 1785 [pp.
419-420]
May-August 1779 [pp. 97-98]
William Hankinson and Thomas Anderson, September 1779 - April 1785
[pp. 95-96]
Isaac Martin and Samuel Meeker, May 1777 - December 1784 [pp. 137-138]
George Warne and John Barber, June 1777 - May 1779 [pp. 97-98] |
|
|
|
|
| Sheriff's
fines: |
|
|
|
|
| |
Bergen
County |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
William
Bell, March 1792 - June 1795 [pp. 235-236]
Adam Boyd:
January 1789 - November 1791 [pp.
233-234]
October 1778 - August 1782 [pp.
223-228]
Richard Dey, October 1783 - September 1785 [pp. 233-234]
Abram Manning, October 1781 - May 1791 [pp. 227-232]
Peter Ward, January 1786 - September 1788 [pp. 233-234]
John Westervelt, October 1794 - June 1797 [pp. 235-237]
Albert Zabrieskie, October 1797 - October 1798 [pp. 237] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Burlington
County |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
John
Elton, February-August 1797 [pp. 343]
Abraham Hewlings, November 1788 - August 1793 [pp. 341]
John Hollingshead, June 1786 - May 1789 [pp. 337-340]
Job Lippincott, February 1794 - October 1797 [pp. 343-344]
Joseph Mullen, November 1782 - September 1786 [pp. 335-338]
Jacob Philips:
November 1779 - September 1782
[pp. 331-333]
November 1781 - November 1790
[pp. 335-336]
John Rodman, August 1777 - September 1785 [pp. 331-332] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Cape
May |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Daniel
Garretson, October 1781 - October 1782 [pp. 319-320]
Philip Hand, October 1787 - February 1788 [pp. 321-322]
Eleazar Hand, October 1791 - August 1794 [pp. 321-322]
Nathaniel Hand, October 1780 - August 1781 [pp. 319-320]
Jonathan Hildreth, May 1783 - May 1784 [pp. 319-320]
Isaiah Stites, October 1778 - February 1780 [pp. 319-320]
Henry Stites, October 1788 - November 1791 [pp. 321-322]
Benjamin Taylor, May 1785 - August 1788 [pp. 319-322]
Richard Townsend, May-August 1780 [pp. 319-320]
Henry Young Townsend, February-September 1777 [pp. 319-320] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Cumberland |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
George
Bergen, November 1796 - June 1797 [pp. 345-346]
Reubin Bergen, November 1793 - 1796 [pp. 345-346]
Joseph Buck, February 1788 - December 1790 [pp. 495-496, 505-506]
Eli Elmer, June 1784 - September 1788 [pp. 493-496]
Joel Fithian, February 1777 - May 1781 [pp. 189-192]
William Kelsay, November 1779 - November 1785 [pp. 191-194]
Daniel Maskell, November 1781 - October 1784 [pp. 193-194]
David Potter, June 1791 - January 1794 [pp. 505-506] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Essex |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Caleb
Camp, January 1786 - May 1793 [pp. 281-282]
Joseph Crane, November 1782 - January 1785 [p. 279]
Joseph Ellis, March 1777 - October 1782 [pp. 255-256]
William Halstead, January 1789 - September 1791 [p. 281]
Israel Hedden, January 1778 - April 1785 [pp. 269-277]
James Hedden, December 1793 - June 1794 [p. 283]
Noah Marsh, January 1781 - September 1782 [pp. 277-279]
Jeramiah Smith, June 1777 - May 1779 [pp. 269-270]
Benjamin Williamson, January 1795 - June 1797 [pp. 283-284] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Gloucester
[continued in Book A, p. 213] |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Joseph
Blackwood, April 1785 - September 1788 [pp. 261-264]
John Blackwood, March 1788 - November 1792 [pp. 263-264]
Thomas Denny, December 1781 - April 1787 [pp. 259-262]
Samuel Flaningan, December 1793 - December 1794 [p. 265]
William Harrison,December 1777 - May 1781 [p. 255]
Joseph Matlack, December 1780 - November 1784 [pp. 259-260]
Charles West, December 1779 - October 1780 [pp. 255-257]
Benjamin Whitall, 1791 - October 1793 [p. 265] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Hunterdon
[continued in Book A, p. 333] |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
John
Anderson:
November 1782 - November 1785
[pp. 297-300]
1792 - November 1793 [pp. 333-334]
Joshua Corshon:
November 1785 - September 1789
[pp. 299-302]
October 1779 - September 1789
[pp. 295-296]
Joseph Inslee, May 1777 - October 1779 [pp. 291-296]
William Lowry, May 1789 - November 1792 [pp. 303-304]
Elias Philips, February-May 1796 [p. 333] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Middlesex |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
John
Conway, January 1782 - May 1790 [pp. 215-218]
John Lyle, January 1789 - April 1796 [pp. 219-221]
John Marsaillies, July 1796 - July 1797 [p. 221]
John Piatt, October 1778 - June 1783 [pp. 211-216]
Abram Schuyler, January 1783 - May 1789 [pp. 217-220]
Thompson Stella, January 1786 - April 1789 [pp. 219-220]
John Vankirk, January-December 1778 [pp. 209-210] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Monmouth |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
John
Burrowes, October 1781 - July 1784 [pp. 201-203]
David Forman, October 1779 - October 1785 [pp. 199-202]
Daniel Hendrickson, January 1788 - October 1790 [pp. 205-207]
Asher Holmes, July 1777 - June 1783 [pp. 195-196]
William Lloyd, January 1794 - October 1795 [p. 347]
James Lloyd, January-September 1797 [p. 347]
David Rhea, January 1785 - November 1792 [pp. 203-206]
Nicholas Vanbrunt, January 1778 - 15 October 1779 [pp. 195-200]
Elisha Walton, April 1791 - October 1793 [p. 207] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Morris |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Jacob
Arnold:
December 1786 - May 1793 [pp.
245-248]
July 1781- September 1783 [pp.
243-246]
Jabez Campfield, December 1796 - 1797 [pp. 249-250]
Alexander Carmichael, October 1777 - August 1781 [pp. 239-240]
John Cobb, 1793 - April 1794 [pp. 249-250]
Richard Johnson, January 1780 - December 1782 [pp. 239-242]
William Leddle, March 1784 - July 1786 [p. 245]
Hiram Smith, December 1794 - November 1796 [pp. 249-250] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Salem
[continued in Book A, p. 209] |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
[Name
omitted], November 1778 [p. 507]
Clement Acton, December 1795 [p. 515]
Whitten Cripps, December 1783 - September 1794 [pp. 511-515]
Edward Hall, March-September 1795 [p. 515]
John Smith, November 1780 - June 1783 [pp. 509, 511] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Somerset |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Joseph
Amin, January 1794 - September 1799 [pp. 329-330]
Peter Dumont, October 1778 - June 1779 [pp. 323-324]
Jonathan Hardenburgh, February 1786 - June 1788 [pp. 327-328]
Peter Schenck, January 1780 - October 1783 [pp. 323-324]
Robert Stockton, January 1785 - October 1791 [pp. 325-326]
Peter D. Vroom, April 1782 - September 1785 [pp. 325-326]
William Wallace:
April 1789 - April 1793 [pp. 327-328]
January-June 1791 [pp. 329-330] |
|
|
|
|
| |
Sussex |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
Philip
Dodderer, May 1777 - August 1779 [pp. 305, 307]
James Hyndshaw:
February 1789 - August 1791 [pp.
389-390]
November 1795 - February 1797
[p. 391]
William Kerr:
November 1779 - May 1794 [pp.
313-316]
November 1785 - August 1788 [pp.
389-390]
Mark Thompson:
November 1784 - May 1786 [pp.
315-316]
October 1783 - August 1784 [p.
309]
February 1792 - August 1795 [pp.
389-391] |
|
|
|
|
| Accounts
of county tax collectors: |
|
|
|
|
| |
John
Coate, Burlington, receiving money from Jacob Phips, May 1781 [p.
333]
Kenneth Hankinson, Monmouth, June 1781 - April 1785 [pp. 207-208]
Timothy Symmes, Sussex, August-June 1781 [pp. 491-492]
Richard Townley, Essex, May 1780 - January 1782 [pp. 491-492]
Jonas Wade, [Essex], June 1782 - June 1783 [pp. 289-290]
John Wilkins, Gloucester, April 1779 - May 1781 [pp. 85-86] |
|
|
|
|
| Miscellaneous
accounts: |
|
|
|
|
| |
Eli
Eldridge and Aaron Leaming, Commissioners of the Loan Office, Cape
May, April
1776 - August 1780 [pp. 101-102]
James Ewing, Continental Loan Officer, November 1785 - May 1789 [pp.
501-502]
William Houston, receiver of continental taxes, September 1782 - October
1784
[pp. 457-458]
Thomson Stella, agent [for raising a loan to fund bounty pay], Middlesex,
October 1781 -
May 1782 [pp. 433-436] |
| |
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
| The
United States to the State of New Jersey on account of militia service,
1776-1779 [pp. 1-5] |
|
|
|
|
| The
United States to the State of New Jersey for bounty, subsistence,
mileage and pay to militia and recruits for the Jersey Brigade, 1
July 1776 - 3 March 1781 [pp. 9-68] |
Reel
Listing - REVOLUTIONARY WAR |
| Reel |
Contents |
Explanatory
Notes |
| 186 |
Accounts
[including Pay Records]
[See Guide] |
Auditor's
Account Books (1776-1830) |
|