njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: American Fair Exhibit Commission
Series: Report, Photographs of Displays, Press Releases, etc., 1931
Accession #: 1993.060
Series #:  SZAMF001
Guide Date:  7/1993 (JK)
Volume: 0.25 c.f. [1 box]


Content Note | Contents

Legislative History

The "American Fair" was established during the summer of 1930 in Convention Hall, Atlantic City, as a national exposition of industrial and agricultural products. The state's participation the following year was authorized by an act of the legislature, passed 27 April 1931, which created New Jersey's American Fair Exhibit Commission (Laws of 1931, chap. 21). The commission, consisting of three members appointed by the governor, was to supervise the production of exhibits suitably representing the fair's host state. For the job, Gov. Morgan F. Larson chose Charles D. White (chairman), Harry Hackney (vice chairman), and John E. Beer (secretary).

In the next few months, the commission arranged for displays by most of the departments of state government and several permanent state commissions (see below). During the 1931 season, 16 July to 26 August, an estimated 1,168,725 visitors attended the fair. The commission made its official report to Gov. Larson on September 3rd, noting that the cost of participation by the state amounted to $19,000, though $25,000 had been appropriated.


Content Note

Included in the records of the American Fair Commission are: the report to Gov. Larson, 3 September 1931; forty-two photographs of displays by state government agencies; press releases; and the opening dinner program. Originally bound together in one volume presented to the governor, these items have been foldered (for the purposes of preservation) as shown below.



Contents

a. Report of the commissioners to Gov. Morgan F. Larson, 3 September 1931.
b. 42 B&W photographs of state agency displays by the Firestone Photo Service of Atlantic City, 8"x10"
on canvas backing:
 
1-2.
  Introductory display.
 
3-5.
  Gov. Morgan F. Larson, Mayor Harry Bacharach, and unknown man.
 
6-9.
  Department of Conservation and Development display (installed by State
Museum; includes New Jersey Forest Fire Service).
 
10-15.
  Fish and Game Department display.
 
16-18.
  Department of Motor Vehicles display.
 
19-20.
  State Highway Commission display.
 
21.
  Traffic Commission display.
 
22.
  State Police Department display.
 
23-24.
  Shell Fisheries Department display.
 
25-31.
  Department of Health display.
 
32.
  New Jersey Extension Service in Home Economics display.
 
33.
  Department of Agriculture display.
 
34.
  Agricultural Experiment Station display.
 
35.
  Public Library Commission display.
 
36.
  Rehabilitation Commission display.
 
37-38.
  Department of Public Instruction display.
 
39-40.
  Department of Institutions and Agencies display.
 
41.
  Department of Labor display.
 
42.
  Civil Service Commission display.
c. Press releases.
 
1.
  22 June 1931 [re: opening of state exhibit].
 
2.
  28 June 1931 [re: Shell Fisheries Department display].
 
3.
  3 July 1931 [re: Department of Motor Vehicles/Traffic Commission displays].
 
4.
  7 July 1931 [re: Department of Agriculture/Agricultural Experiment Station
displays].
 
5.
  11 July 1931 [re: opening ceremonies].
 
6.
  [1-?] July 1931 [re: Department of Conservation and Development/Fish and
Game Department displays].
 
7.
  22 July 1931 [re: Public Library Commission display].
 
8.
  30 July 1931 [re: Department of Health display].
 
9.
  1 August 1931 [re: Department of Education display].
 
10.
  15 August 1931 [re: Department of Institutions and Agencies/ Civil Service
Commission displays].
 
11.
  22 August 1931 [re: State Police Department display].
d. Program, opening dinner sponsored by the commission, Hackney's Restaurant, Atlantic City, [16 July 1931].
e. Original report cover.

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations