njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: State Board of Assessors
Series: Scrapbook of Secretary John T. Van Cleef, 1884-1888
Accession #: 1993.061
Series #:  SZASS002
Guide Date:  7/1993 (JK)
Volume: 0.5 c.f. [3 boxes]


Contents

Content Note

The State Board of Assessors was created by the New Jersey Legislature in 1884 to assess, for purposes of taxation, all property belonging to any railroad or canal company in the state (Laws of 1884, chap. 101). This series consists of a scrapbook of newspaper articles and other mementos (e.g. tickets, form letters) collected during the period 1884-1888 by the board's secretary, John Talmadge Van Cleef. The scrapbook not only documents the early history of the State Board of Assessors, but also includes information relating to various legal issues involving railroads and, in many cases, railroad items in general. Unfortunately, sources and dates are noted only for a small minority of the clippings.

NOTE: For the purposes of preservation, the scrapbook has been disbound and photocopied onto acid-free paper. The original pages should not be disturbed unless the photocopy is illegible.


Contents

Box 1
  Photocopy: cover, pages 1-65
Box 2 
  Photocopy: pages 66-135
Box 3 
  Original pages [access restricted as noted above]

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations