njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Commission to Investigate Communistic and Un-American Teachings and Activities in Public Schools
Series: Records, 1948-1953
Accession #: 1985.014
Series #:  SZCOM001
Guide Date:  Pre-1989 (DJ)
Volume: 2 c.f. [4 boxes]


Content Note | Contents

Institutional History

Assembly Concurrent Resolution No. 11 was passed by the New Jersey Senate on 31 March 1947, instructing Gov. Alfred E. Driscoll to "appoint a commission to investigate communistic and un-American teachings and activities." The governor appointed a five-member commission, chaired by Nichol H. Memory, Executive Secretary of Stevens Institute of Technology in Hoboken. Other commissioners were Charles J. McDermott of Madison (commission secretary), Margaret F. Brogley of New Brunswick, Mattie S. Doremus of Paterson, and Joseph G. Carty of Plainfield.

The commission was created in response to nationwide public concern about communist influence in public institutions during the late-1940s and early-1950s. The commission's specific purpose was to examine all educational institutions in New Jersey that received public funding, to determine whether any teachers or textbooks sympathetic to communism were present.

The commission organized on 7 May 1948 and concluded its work on 2 April 1953. Its findings were published in a report to Governor Driscoll on 26 May 1953. At its 35 sessions the commission met with a variety of New Jersey educators and officials, most of whom requested to meet with the commission to discuss evidence of communist influence in the public educational system. The commission also mailed questionnaires on the subject to all supervising principals (superintendents) and presidents of boards of education, and to all New Jersey Parent-Teacher Association presidents.

The commission's report concluded that New Jersey schools were "generally manned by loyal and patriotic American citizens," that teaching in tax-supported schools should emphasize more strongly "the advantages of living under the American system," and that any public school and university teacher "who refuse[d] to testify or answer questions before any legally authorized board of inquiry on the grounds of self-incrimination should be dismissed from his post." Still, the commission's findings and recommendations seem, by comparison with those of some contemporary boards of inquiry in other states and the federal government, fairly innocuous. Public response to the final report was registered in the correspondence of Gov. Alfred E. Driscoll.

Two important New Jersey investigations focused on, but not conducted by the commission, involved Rutgers University (the much-publicized dismissal of Professors Simon Heimlich and Moses Finley) and teachers in the City of Englewood school system.


Bibliography

New Jersey, Legislature, Report of the Commission to Investigate Communistic and Un-American Teachings
    and Activities in the Public Schools and Tax-Supported Colleges and Universities in the State of New Jersey to Gov.
    Alfred E. Driscoll. Trenton, 1953.

Rossiter, Clinton, Bibliography on the Communist Problem in the United States. The Fund for the Republic, Inc.,
    New York, 1955.

Records of Gov. Alfred E. Driscoll, vol. 1035, "Commission on Communistic and Un-American Teachings,"
    New Jersey Division of Archives and Records Management.

Records of Gov. Alfred E. Driscoll, vol. 1037, "Communism," New Jersey Division of Archives and Records
   Management.

Records of Gov. Alfred E. Driscoll, unnumbered box of subject files in alphabetical order (Rutgers - Sal), "Rutgers -
   Communist Activities," New Jersey Division of Archives and Records Management.


Content Note

The archives' holdings were deposited unarranged in the New Jersey State Library in Trenton upon the dissolution of the commission in 1953. The series consists of minutes of commission meetings, correspondence, subject files, questionnaires, stenotyped reports of interviews, copies of newspaper clippings, and miscellaneous printed documents collected and used by the commission for reference.


Contents

Box 1
Minutes, 1948
Minutes, January - May 1949
Minutes, June - December 1949
Minutes, 1950
Minutes, 1951
Minutes, 1952
Minutes, 1953
Correspondence, General, 1948 - 1953
Correspondence, Margaret F. Brogley
Correspondence, Joseph G. Carty
Box 2
Correspondence, Mattie S. Doremus
Correspondence, Governor's Office, 1948 - 1950
Correspondence, Institute for Public Services
Correspondence, Nichol H. Memory
Correspondence, Persons meeting with commission, 1948 - 1952
Correspondence, Requests for information from other states
Correspondence, Society for Constitutional Security
Correspondence, Smith Webb
Subject Files, Croatian Fraternal Union
Subject Files, Englewood Board of Education
Subject Files, Heimlich-Finley case, Rutgers
Subject Files, Loyalty oaths and school curricula
Sample questionnaire and letter to boards of education, and tabulated results
Questionnaire responses, A-L
Box 3
Questionnaire responses, M-Z
Questionnaire correspondence
Questionnaire to PTA presidents, tabulated results
Questionnaire responses, A-F
Questionnaire responses, G-O
Questionnaire responses, P-Z and unidentified
Questionnaire responses, textbooks used in NJ school districts, A-N
Box 4
Questionnaire responses,textbooks used in NJ school districts, O-Z
American Textbook Publishers Institute
Clippings, re questionnaires, 1947 - 1952
Clippings, Counterattack magazine, 1948
Clippings, Counterattack magazine, 1949
Clippings, Counterattack magazine, 1950
Clippings, Educational Reviewer magazine, 1949 - 1952
Miscellaneous pamphlets, un-American activities, nationwide
Miscellaneous pamphlets, un-American activities, New Jersey
Pamphlets, subversion in schools and textbooks
Clippings, general, 1948 - 1952

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations