njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: State Board of Control/Board of Institutional Trustees
Series: Administrative Orders, 1956-1974
Accession #: Unknown
Series #:  SZCTR004
Guide Date:  Pre-1989 (DJ)
Volume: 0.5 c.f. [1 box]


Contents


Content Note

On February 17, 1956, the State Board instituted a uniform set of procedures known as "Administrative Orders." This system replaced the mixture of correspondence used until 1956 with a codified policy handbook, in which the orders were organized into nine subjects, each assigned an arabic numeral. For some unknown reason, no filings were ever made in a subject series number 4, "Reports." In 1967, the administrative orders were reorganized into seven subject categories and renumbered accordingly.

The archives' holdings consist of three groups. The first six folders contain correspondence between the commissioner, who proposed the regulations, and the State Board, which approved them. Of particular interest is a memorandum (Commissioner John Tramburg to the State Board, February 6, 1956) initiating the administrative orders system. The files also contain an index and a guide to revisions/amendments. The second category is the Administrative Orders dating from 1956 to 1966. The last category consists of the orders issued after the 1967 revision, including Administrative Order 1.01, which put the revision into effect. In 1971 the Board of Control was renamed the Board of Institutional Trustees.


Contents

General Files  
Commissioner John W. Tramburg to State Board of Control, February 6, 1956 Index to Administrative Orders,
   1956-1966
1967 Revision, correspondence concerning
1967 Revision, unnumbered preliminary drafts (2 folders)
1967 Revision, guide to
Administrative Orders, 1956-1966 Subject
Nos. 1:02-1:10 Policy making-actions (general)
Nos. 1:11-1:29  
Nos. 1:30-1:43  
Nos. 2:01-2:19 Matters affecting organization
Nos. 2:20-2:33  
Nos. 3:01-3:15; 5:01-5:03 Personnel; budget
Nos. 6:01-6:03; 7:01-04; Fiscal and Property; Research
   8:01-8:02; 9:01-9:06 Public Relations; Legal Opinions
Administrative Orders, 1967-1974 Subject
Nos. 1:01-1:03; 1:15; 1:30; 1:44 General
Nos. 1:51-1:66; 1:91  
Nos. 2:01-2:14 Personnel
Nos. 3:01-3:04; 4:01-4:12 Legal Affairs; Service Functions
Nos. 5:01-5:10; 6:01-6:02 Fiscal and Property; Research
Nos. 7:01 Index

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations