njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: State Board of Control/Board of Institutional Trustees
Series: Subject Files, 1950-1977
Accession #: Unknown
Series #:  SZCTR006
Guide Date:  Pre-1989 (DJ)
Volume: 6 c.f. [12 boxes]


Contents

Content Note

The files of the Department of Institutions and Agencies contain material relating to bond issues, correspondences, reports, minutes of board meetings, etc. The records date from 1950 to 1977, and appear to have been generated (for the most part) by Lloyd B. Wescott, President of the State Board of Control, and James D. Compton, Chairman of the Board of Institutional Trustees. The files are arranged chronologically.


Contents

Box 1
1.
Bond Issue, 1961
Bond Issue -- Capital Construction Programs, 1964:
2.
  General, 1964-1967 (2 files)
3.
  Clinton Reformatory for Women:
    General, 1964-1966
    Maximum Security Building, 1965
4.
  Community Centers for the Retarded, no date
5.
  Community Mental Health Centers, 1966
6.
  Geriatric Psychiatric Nurse Unit, no date
7.
  Leesburg Medium Security Prison, 1961-1966
8.
  Neuro-Psychiatric Institute, 1965-1966
9.
  New Lisbon State Colony Project, 1964-1975
10.
  Psychologically Disturbed, Building for, 1965
11.
  Second Colony for Retarded (Hunterdon State School), no date
12.
  Training Schools for Boys, Skillman, 1964-1969
Bond Issue -- Capital Construction Programs ($12,000,000), 1968:
13.
  General, 1966-1974 (2 files)
Box 2
Bond Issue -- Capital Construction Programs ($12,000,000), 1968 (cont'd):
13.
  General, 1966-1974 (cont'd, 3 files)
14.
  Adult Diagnostic and Treatment Center for Sex Offenders, 1966-1971
15.
  Children's Psychiatric, Diagnostic and Treatment Center, Menlo Park,
  1966-1968
16.
  Emergency Reception and Child Care Facility (Bureau of Children's
  Services), 1966-1970
17.
  Greystone Park State Hospital:
    Affiliate Nurse Education and Training Center, 1966-1970
    Master Plan, 1969-1971
18.
  Jamesburg State Home for Boys:
    Administration Facilities Building, 1966-1969
    Replacement of Inmate Housing, 1969
19.
  Johnstone Training School -- Blind Children's Training Unit, 1966-1967
20.
  Leesburg Medium Security Prison -- Completion of Phase I, 1966-1969
21.
  Pre-Planning Programs, 1966-1968
22.
  Prison Hospital Complexes, Replacement of -- Rahway to Trenton,
  1969-1971
23.
  Trenton Psychiatric Hospital:
    Children's Cottages 2 & 3, Administration and Education Building,
  1966-1971
    Master Plan and Building Evaluation Study, 1970-1971
24.
  Trenton State Home for Girls -- Gymnasium Project, 1969-1971
Box 3
Bond Issue -- Capital Construction Programs ($12,000,000), 1968 (cont'd):
25.
  Vineland State School:
    Medical Facilities, Almond Road Colony, 1966-1968
    Replace Patient Buildings, 1966-1971
26.
  Woodbine State Colony -- Administration Facilities Building, 1966-1967
27.
Capital Needs of New Jersey, Governor's Commission to Evaluate the, 1968 (3 files)
28.
Children's Services, Committee on (Blum Committee):
  General, 1965-1968 (5 files)
  Ad Hoc Committee Report, 1967
Box 4
28.
Children's Services, Committee on (Blum Committee) (cont'd):
  Contacts with Schools, 1969
  Report, 1968
29.
Civil Disorders: Proceedings of the Public Policy Forum on Civil Disorders:
  Causes and Remedies, Rutgers University Bureau of Government
  Research..., May 1968
30.
Communications, Committee on (Administrative Order 1:42), 1964-1967
Control, State Board of:
31.
  Assistance to Families of Working Poor:
    General, 1971
    Proposed New Program, 1971
    Staff's response to report of the Governor's Task Force on Welfare
  Management, "The Work Incentive Program in New Jersey," 1971
32.
  Joint Meeting with boards of managers of State Mental Hospitals and
  Related Institutions, 1962
33.
  Minutes, etc., 1950-1954
34.
Diagnostic Center Study Committee:
  Meeting, 23 December 1964
  Interview with Dr. Brancale (Sec. I)
  Interview with Mr. Wagner (Sec. II)
  Interview with Dr. Davis (Sec. III)
  Interview with Mr. Urbaniak (Sec. IV), 13 January 1965
  Interview with Dr. Paul Haun (Sec. V), 13 January 1965
  Interview with Mr. Bixby (Sec VI), 13 January 1965
  Interview with Mr. Russoniello (Sec. VII), 13 January 1965
  Interview with Mr. Charles Swift (Sec. VIII), 13 January 1965
  Interview with Dr. Boyd Nelson (Sec. IX), 13 January 1965
  Interview with Dr. Maurice G. Kott (Sec. X)
  Interview with Dr. James B. Goyne (Sec. XI)
Box 5
34.
Diagnostic Center Study Committee (cont'd):
  Interview with Commissioner Bates (Sec. XII)
  Interview with Mr. Grodeck (Sec. XIII)
  Interview with Mr. Lampl (Sec. XIV)
  Interview with Miss Beck (Sec. XV)
  Interview with Mr. Robbins (Sec. XVI)
  Interview with Judge Weinstein (Sec. XVII)
  Interview with Mr. John Ott (Sec. XVIII)
  Interview with Mr. Mulks (Sec. XIX)
35.
Family Centered Maternity Care:
  General, 1969
  Implementing Family Centered Maternity Care With a Central Nursery by
  Doris and John Haire, 1968
36.
Fiftieth Anniversary Plans & Booklets, 1966-1968 (6 files)
Box 6
Goals:
37.
  Community Mental Health Advisory Council -- Future Programs, 1966
38.
  Community and Professional Services, Division of, 1967-1968
39.
  Control, State Board of/Division Directors -- Progress toward
  Objectives, 1966-1969
40.
  Correction and Parole, Division of, 1966-1969
41.
  Legal Affairs, Division of -- Statement of Objectives, 1969
42.
  Mental Retardation, Division of:
    General, 1966
    A Look Ahead: The Future Type and Function of Public Institutions
  for the Mentally Retarded in the State of New Jersey, report
  prepared by Ronald Marlowe, 1967
    Report on Accomplishments (F.Y. 1967) for State Board of Review,
  1967
    Report on Accomplishments (F.Y. 1968) for State Board of Review,
  1968
43.
  Mental Health and Hospital, Division of:
    Progress in Achievement of Division Goals during Fiscal Year 1967
    Progress in Achievement of Division Goals during Fiscal Year 1968
    Progress in Achievement of Division Goals during Fiscal Year 1969
44.
  Public Welfare Objectives, Goals and Accomplishments, 1966-1969
45.
Greystone Park State Hospital Investigation (re: Sexual Offense
  Allegations), 1969
46.
Hospital Advisory Council, 1967-1969 (4 files)
Box 7
47.
Housing, Staff (State Building Authority):
  General, 1952-1976 (6 files)
  Excerpts from Minutes, 1957-1965
  Newspaper Criticisms, 1969-1975
48.
Institutions, Health and Welfare, Senate Committee on --"On the
  Reorganization of the Department of Institutions and Agencies" (staff
  report), June 1976
49.
Institutions and Agencies, Governor's Commission to Study the Department
  of, 1959-1970
50.
Institutions and Welfare, Senate Committee on -- report submitted by the
  American Psychiatric Association: Mental Health Needs and Resources of
  New Jersey, 1970
Box 8
51.
Law, Public Safety and Defense, Public Hearing before Senate Committee on,
  September 1968 (3 files)
52.
Management Commission, Governor's:
  General, 1970-1972
  Survey report and recommendations, 1970
  Final report and recommendations, 1971
Box 9
53.
Maternal, Child Health and Newborn Services in Hospitals, Standards for,
  1967-1969 (2 files)
54.
Maternity Bed Utilization, 1960-1966 (2 files)
Medicaid (Title XIX):
55.
  General, 1968-1969 (3 files)
Box 10
Medicaid (Title XIX) (cont'd):
56.
  Social Security Act of 1965 - Implementation in New Jersey, 1967
  (2 files)
57.
  Payment to Doctors, 1969-1970
58.
  Pre-Natal Care for Pregnant Mothers, 1969-1970
59.
Mental Retardation, The New Jersey Comprehensive Plan to Combat, 1966
60.
New Jersey Bell: Article by Robert H. Yard --"Department of Institutions
  and Agencies," February 1961
61.
New Jersey Statutes Annotated (re: Institutions and Agencies), 1965-1978
  (2 files)
62.
New Jersey Taxpayers Association -- New Jersey's Institutional Needs: An
  Appraisal of 101 Construction Projects Proposed by the Department of
  Institutions and Agencies, ca. 1949
63.
Patient and Inmate Trust Funds, 1959-1975
Pre-Planning Programs:
64.
  General, 1966-1968
65.
  Ancora State Hospital Improvement Study, 1967
66.
  Annandale Reformatory -- Renovation of Cottages, 1967-1971
Box 11
Pre-Planning Programs:
67.
  Arthur Brisbane Child Treatment Center School and Multi-Purpose
  Building, 1967-1970
68.
  Bordentown Reformatory for Males, 1968-1970
69.
  Employee Housing (at State Institutions), Development of Prototype
  Plans and Specifications for, 1966-1969
70.
  Glen Gardner Sanitorium for Chest Diseases, 1968-1970
71.
  Greystone Park State Hospital:
    Kitchen and Dining Room Facilities, 1966
    Master Plan, 1967-1970
    Planning Funds, 1968-1970
72.
  Hard-to-Place Children, Units for (Division of Public Welfare), 1969-1971
73.
  Jamesburg State Home for Boys -- Master Site Plan/Master Utilities
  Study, 1966
74.
  Mental Retardation -- New Facilities, 1966-1971
75.
  Narcotic and Drug Abusers, Facility for, 1969-1970
76.
  New Jersey Neuro-Psychiatric Institute, 1968-1970
77.
  North Jersey Training School, Totowa:
     Building and Evaluation Study, 1970
     Master Utilities Study, 1967
78.
  Somerset State School:
     General, 1968-1970
     Engineering Survey, 1967-1968
79.
  Trenton Psychiatric Hospital -- Renovation & Fireproofing of Center Main
  Building and Additional Dining Room Facilities, 1966-1971
80.
  Trenton State Home for Girls:
    General, 1967
    Additional Classrooms, 1968-1970
81.
  Trenton State Prison -- Classrooms & Offices, 1968-1970
82.
  Vineland Soldiers Home:
    General, 1968-1970
    New Kitchen Facility, 1967-1968
83.
  Vineland State School:
    Colony, 1967
    Main Hospital, 1967
    Master Site Plan/Master Utilities Study (and Woodbine State School),
  1966-1968
84.
  Woodbine State Colony:
    General, 1968-1970
    Master Site Plan/Master Utilities Study -- see Vineland State School
85.
  Woodbridge State Schools, 1967
86.
Progress Report, no date
87.
Public Medical Care, The New Jersey Commission to Study the Administration
  of -- report and recommendations, no date
Box 12
Public Welfare, Board of: 
88.
  American Public Welfare Associations -- Position Statement re: H.R. #1, 1972
89.
  "Blindness and the Vintage Years...," 1972  
90.
  Welfare Study Commission:
    General, 1971
    Report and recommendations, 1971
Welfare:
91.
  Student Unrest, Dr. Haun's Observations on (for Welfare Reporter), 1969  
92.
  Summary of Allocated Funds and Budgeted Positions, 1969 
93.
  Lazaro, Philip F. -- Talk given at Municipal Welfare Association
  Conference, 1971
94.
Welfare Funds, 1965-1977 (6 files)   

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations