njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group:

New Jersey Defense Council



Institutional History

The New Jersey Defense Council found its origins in Gov. A. Harry Moore's Emergency Committee, established by executive order in September 1939 after the outbreak of World War II. The committee was formed for the purpose of planning civil defense measures, and was the first World War II state-level agency for civil defense in the country. In December 1940, the state legislature confirmed the committee's powers by creating the New Jersey Defense Council (P.L. 1940, Chap. 238 and P.L. 1941, Chap. 376). Composed of the heads of state government agencies, the council was organized into ten advisory committees for areas of defense concern (e.g. housing, human resources, health, industrial resources, transportation), and five administrative committees.

Implementing the 1940 Defense Council legislation, three laws were enacted on 14 April 1941 empowering municipalities to appoint local defense councils and special bodies to conserve the welfare of soldiers, or local defense service councils (P.L. 1941, Chaps. 45-47).


Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations