njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: State Board of Education
Series: Records relating to the Family Life Education Mandate, 1980-1985
Accession #: 1997.025
Series #: 

SZEDU002

Guide Date:  6/1997 (JK)
Volume: 0.75 c.f. [1 box]



Content Note

This series includes various records of the State Board of Education relative to the implementation of the "Family Life Education" (a.k.a. "sex education") program in New Jersey's public schools. The program was mandated in 1980 amidst considerable public controversy. Included are copies of State Board minutes and public hearing transcripts relative to the mandate, as well as hearing transcripts, statements and letters (mostly in protest) relative to reconsideration of the program in 1985.



Contents

1. Minutes of the State Board, 6 February 1980 [includes proposal of Family Life Education program and public testimony; certified original].
2. Transcript of public hearing on the adoption of a rule for Family Life Education programs, 8 April 1980 [Volume I missing]:
  a. Volume II [2 certified originals].
  b. Volume III [certified original].
  c. Volume IV [2 certified originals].
3. Minutes of the State Board, 11 June 1980 [includes motion to advertise the rule in the New Jersey Register and public testimony; certified original].
4. Minutes of the State Board, 6 August 1980 [includes discussion of changes to administrative rule and public testimony]:
  a. Volume I [certified original].
  b. Volumes II & III [certified originals].
5. Transcripts of public hearings on Family Life Education, 20 February 1985:
  a. Session A - Testimony before State Board Member Marik and Hearing Officer Dean, Department of Education Building [certified original and 2 photocopies]
  b. Session B - Testimony before State Board Members Wolfenbarger and Schaenen, Department of Education Building [2 certified originals and 1 photocopy].
  c. Session [C?] - Testimony before Hearing Officer Dahme and others, State Board Conference Room [certified original and 2 photocopies].
  d. Sessions D & E - Testimony before Hearing Officer Dillman and Assistant Commissioner Calabrese, State Library [certified original and 2 photocopies].
6. Statements and letters to the State Board, 15-20 February 1985 [20 items, some numbered; includes some originals].
7. Comments on Family Life Education (letters from the public) circulated to State Board members, 1 March 1985 [3 photocopies].
8. Miscellaneous materials from the Millville Public Schools Family Life Committee, 1982-1983 [photocopies].

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations