njhome my new jersey people business government departments
Archives collection guides


Record Group: Commission on Legal and Ethical Problems in the Delivery of Health Care
(New Jersey Bioethics Commission)
Series: Records, ca. 1986-1992
Accession #: 1992.092
Series #:  SZLEG001
Guide Date:   10/1992 (JK)
Volume:  14 c.f. [14 boxes]


Contents

Content Note

The New Jersey Commission on Legal and Ethical Problems in the Delivery of Health Care was created in November 1985 as a permanent state bioethics agency (P.L. 1985, chap. 363). The commission's duties were outlined as follows: 1) to clarify issues for persons making decisions about health care; 2) to gather data about decision-making regarding the termination and refusal of care and treatment; 3) to assess the need for additional programs and services relating to medical decision-making; 4) to suggest improvements in public policy relating to medical treatment at various levels; and 5) to offer guidance, through published reports, for people involved in making medical care decisions. The commission was authorized to hold public hearings for the purpose of gathering information and views from interested parties. It was also required to make triennial reports, beginning on 31 December 1988, to include information on the status of various ethical issues, such as treatment termination and living wills. Though created as a permanent body, the commission's funding expired in September 1992, after less than six years of operation.

This series consists of the general administrative records of the New Jersey Bioethics Commission, including minutes, public hearing transcripts, publications, subject files, committee and task force files, and audio tapes of meetings.



Contents

Box 1
  Minutes
  Budget materials
  "Living will" newspaper clippings
Box 2
  Hearings and submissions
  Publications
Box 3
  Subject files: A - P
Box 4
  Subject files: R - T
  Miscellaneous correspondence
  New Reproductive Practices Task Force (NRPTF): Chronological files, 1986-1987
Box 5
  NRPTF: Chronological files, 1988-1989
Box 6
  NRPTF: Chronological files, 1990
  Institutional Ethics Committee (IEC) files
  Public and Professional Education Task Force (PPETF) files
Box 7
  PPETF files (cont'd)
  Commission meetings files
Box 8
  Commission meetings files (cont'd)
  Public hearings files
Box 9
  Commission meetings/public hearings files (cont'd)
Box 10
  Legislative bill files
Box 11
  Miscellaneous correspondence
Box 12
  Audio tapes: Commission meetings
Box 13
  Audio tapes: NRPTF meetings
Box 14
  Audio tapes: PPETF meetings, hearings, retreat, IEC meetings, and miscellaneous

 
Created April 2004  

Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations