njhome my new jersey people business government departments
Archives collection guides


Record Group: Louisiana Purchase Exposition Commission (1902-1904)/Jamestown Tercentennial
Commission (1905-1908)
Series: Photograph Albums, 1907-1908
Accession #: 1992.073, 1997.055
Series #:  SZLOU001
Guide Date:   8/1992 (JK); rev. 11/1998 (EC)
Volume:  0.6 c.f. [2 vols.]


Content Note | Contents

Institutional History

The Louisiana Purchase Exposition was a federally funded international event commemorating the centennial anniversary of the Louisiana Purchase of 1803. The exposition was held in 1904 in the city of St. Louis, Missouri. New Jersey's participation in the event was authorized by an act of the state legislature passed 28 March 1902 (Laws of 1902, chap. 55). This law directed the governor to appoint a commission of eleven state residents for the purpose of preparing and managing displays illustrating New Jersey's manufactures, arts, natural and industrial resources, history and progress, and moral and material welfare. The commission was also authorized to construct and furnish a building in St. Louis for the state's use during the period of the exposition.

Three years later, Congress funded another international exhibition--to commemorate the tercentennial anniversary of the landing at Jamestown, Virginia. The Jamestown Tercentennial Exposition was designed as both an "international naval, marine, and military celebration" (funded by Congress), as well as an industrial and historical exhibition (funded by the Virginia General Assembly). The event was held near the waters of Hampton Roads, and continued from May through November 1907. An act of the New Jersey legislature passed 27 March 1905 authorized the Garden State's participation in the exposition (Laws of 1905, chap. 61). Similar to the law creating the Louisiana Purchase Exposition Commission, this legislation provided for a commission of eleven New Jersey residents responsible for arranging displays illustrating the state's history, development, and moral and material welfare. The act appropriated $25,000 for participation in the event, including the construction and furnishing of a New Jersey state building. Though the commission was not directed in its chartering legislation to re-use exhibits from the Louisiana Purchase Exposition, the Jamestown commission probably recycled the St. Louis displays to some extent. Following the close of the exposition, the state legislature authorized the removal of the New Jersey building in Virginia from the exposition grounds, and its re-erection on the campus of the State Home for Girls in Ewing Township, NJ (Laws of 1908, chap. 268). The building was apparently destroyed by the Department of Corrections circa 1971-72.


Content Note

This series consists of two copies of a joint souvenir photograph album showing the New Jersey buildings and state displays at St. Louis and Hampton Roads. Among the state agencies and topics featured were the State Museum, the State Geological Survey, the Agricultural Experiment Station, "New Jersey Social Economy," and the "New Jersey Road Exhibit." One of the copies was presented by the Jamestown Tercentennial Exposition Commission to Governor Stokes in 1908, and is prefaced by a letter of appreciation to the governor from commission members. Each album contains twenty-nine B&W prints, roughly 7.5" x 9.5".



Contents

Copy 1 ["Photographs of the Exhibits, New Jersey Jamestown Tercentennial Exposition
Commission, 1907."]
Copy 2 [Souvenir presented to Governor Edward C. Stokes, 1908].

 
Created April 2004  

Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations