njhome my new jersey people business government departments
Archives collection guides



Record Group: Commission to Investigate and Report upon the Abandonment of Navigation of the Morris Canal
Series: Reports and Photographs, 1903
Accession #: 1979.005
Series #:  SZMOR001
Guide Date:   3/1992 (JK); rev. 7/1997 (LHB)
Volume:  0.5 c.f. [1 box]


Contents | Images

Content Note

On 31 March 1903, the state legislature adopted a resolution to provide for the appointment of commissioners to investigate whether legislation should be enacted permitting the abandonment of navigation on the Morris Canal. The commission reported that the canal no longer had economic justification and recommended its abandonment. This series consists of: I.) the commissioners' report, II.) a brief prepared by the counsel of the Lake Hopatcong Protective Association in response to the investigation, and III.) Morris Canal Views... (a photographic supplement to the report, showing views of the canal from the Hudson to the Delaware).



Contents
1.
Report of the Commissioners Appointed under Concurrent Resolution of March 31, 1903, To Investigate and Report Upon the Abandonment of Navigation of the Morris Canal, by George T. Werts, John W. Griggs, and Foster M. Voorhees, Commissioners.

2.
In the Matter of the Investigation before Hon. George T. Werts, Hon. John W. Griggs and Hon. Foster M. Voorhees, Commissioners, Pursuant to a Concurrent Resolution of the Senate and General Assembly of the State of New Jersey (passed by the Assembly and concurred in by the Senate, March 31, 1903), to provide for the Appointment of Commissioners to examine into the report upon the question whether legislation should be enacted permitting the abandonment of navigation on the Morris Canal. Brief of Roderick Byington, Counsel of the Lake Hopatcong Protective Association, 12 August 1903.

3.

Morris Canal Views: supplementing report, N. J. Commissioners to investigate the Morris Canal, 1903. Note: This photographic supplement to the commissioners’ report consists of 91 captioned 7 ½” x 9 ½” B&W prints showing the canal from Jersey City to Phillipsburg. The “views” were originally bound into an album, which has been dismantled for purposes of preservation. The images are arranged geographically, east to west from Jersey City to Phillipsburg. The captioning shown includes the original identifications as they appear on the album sheets, along with additional annotation in brackets provided in 1997 by James Lee and William Moss, directors of the Canal Society of New Jersey.

Page 1: Images 1-17, Jersey City to Bloomfield
Page 2: Images 18-32, East of Paterson to Montville
Page 3: Images 33-52, East of Boonton to Wharton
Page 4: Images 53-75, Ledgewood - West of Hackettstown
Page 5: Images 76-91, Near Port Colden - Phillipsburg



 
Created September 2003  
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations