njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Commission to Investigate and Report upon the Abandonment of Navigation of the Morris Canal
Series: Reports and Photographs, 1903
Accession #: 1979.005
Series #:  SZMOR001
Guide Date:   3/1992 (JK); rev. (LHB)
Volume:  0.5 c.f. [1 box]


Content Note | Contents


Page 1: Images 1-17, Jersey City to Bloomfield
Page 2: Images 18-32, East of Paterson to Montville
Page 3: Images 33-52, East of Boonton to Wharton

Page 4: Images 53-75, Ledgewood to West of Hackettstown
Page 5: Images 76-91, Near Port Colden to Phillipsburg



Images 18-32, East Paterson to Montville

No.
Caption
Image
18.
"Near Van Winkle's Tavern, East of Paterson." [looking north]
"Near Van Winkle's Tavern, East of Paterson." [looking north]
19.
"Near Little Falls."
"Near Little Falls."
20.

"View of Paterson, looking North from the Canal."

"View of Paterson, looking North from the Canal."
21.
"Mead's Basin west of Little Falls." [Mountain View; may be the Pompton River, looking south toward the Pompton Aqueduct]
"Mead's Basin west of Little Falls." [Mountain View; may be the Pompton River, looking south toward the Pompton Aqueduct]
22.
"Canal at Little Falls."
"Canal at Little Falls."
23.
"East of Pompton Iron Works, Little Falls in the distance."
"East of Pompton Iron Works, Little Falls in the distance."
24.
"Canal, showing Pompton Feeder, near Mountain View." [looking north up the Pompton Feeder from the main line of the canal; the bridge is the towpath bridge over the mouth of the feeder]
"Canal, showing Pompton Feeder, near Mountain View." [looking north up the Pompton Feeder from the main line of the canal; the bridge is the towpath bridge over the mouth of the feeder]
25.
"Canal at Pompton Feeder Junction." [looking west on the main canal; New York and Greenwood Lake Railroad]
"Canal at Pompton Feeder Junction." [looking west on the main canal; New York and Greenwood Lake Railroad]
26.
"The Canal crossing the Pequannock River." [actually the Pompton River, looking north]
"The Canal crossing the Pequannock River." [actually the Pompton River, looking north]
27.
"Canal at Whitehall." [Montville]
"Canal at Whitehall." [Montville]
28.
"Beavertown." [Lincoln Park; looking south toward Lower Montville, not Beavertown; plane house for Plane 9 East can be seen in left background]
"Beavertown." [Lincoln Park; looking south toward Lower Montville, not Beavertown; plane house for Plane 9 East can be seen in left background]
29.
"View of Canal at Montville."
"View of Canal at Montville."
30.
"Head of Plane 10 East, Montville." [looking north; the bridge is Route 202]
"Head of Plane 10 East, Montville." [looking north; the bridge is Route 202]
31.
"Montville, from Head of Plane 8 East." [looking north]
"Montville, from Head of Plane 8 East." [looking north]
32.
"Montville from Plane 8 East." [looking north toward the top of Plane 9 in the distance]
"Montville from Plane 8 East." [looking north toward the top of Plane 9 in the distance]


Consult the Reference services page and/or the Guide to Reproduction and Research Services, Policies and Fees for information on reproduction of images included in this collection.


Created September 2003


Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations