njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Commission to Investigate and Report upon the Abandonment of Navigation of the Morris Canal
Series: Reports and Photographs, 1903
Accession #: 1979.005
Series #:  SZMOR001
Guide Date:   3/1992 (JK); rev. (LHB)
Volume:  0.5 c.f. [1 box]


Content Note | Contents


Page 1: Images 1-17, Jersey City to Bloomfield
Page 2: Images 18-32, East of Paterson to Montville
Page 3: Images 33-52, East of Boonton to Wharton

Page 4: Images 53-75, Ledgewood to West of Hackettstown
Page 5: Images 76-91, Near Port Colden to Phillipsburg


Images 53-75, Ledgewood to West of Hackettstown

No.
Caption
Image
53.
"From Head of Plane 2 East, near Lake Hopatcong." [Ledgewood; looking south; Plane 3 cradle visible in distance]
"From Head of Plane 2 East, near Lake Hopatcong." [Ledgewood; looking south; Plane 3 cradle visible in distance]
54.
"Canal at Will's Basin, near Lake Hopatcong." [top of Plane 1 East, looking west]
"Canal at Will's Basin, near Lake Hopatcong." [top of Plane 1 East, looking west]
55.
"Canal at Lake Hopatcong, Lackawanna R. R. Station." [looking west from the station]
"Canal at Lake Hopatcong, Lackawanna R. R. Station." [looking west from the station]
56.
"Near Lake Hopatcong Station." [Will's Basin; similar to #54]
"Near Lake Hopatcong Station." [Will's Basin; similar to #54]
57.
"Lake Hopatcong, Lock at the Feeder." [looking north; actually the stop gate, not the lock]
"Lake Hopatcong, Lock at the Feeder." [looking north; actually the stop gate, not the lock]
58.
"The Feeder leading from Lake Hopatcong to the Morris Canal." [looking north; lock on left]
"The Feeder leading from Lake Hopatcong to the Morris Canal." [looking north; lock on left]
59.
"Canal at Port Murray." [looking east]
"Canal at Port Murray." [looking east]
60.
"Canal at Stanhope." [towpath across Lake Musconetcong, looking west toward Stanhope]
"Canal at Stanhope." [towpath across Lake Musconetcong, looking west toward Stanhope]
61.
"Head of Plane 1 West, near Port Morris." [actually at Port Morris, looking west]
"Head of Plane 1 West, near Port Morris." [actually at Port Morris, looking west]
62.
"Stanhope Furnaces."
"Stanhope Furnaces."
63.
"Wharton Furnace from the Canal at Wharton." [looking north]
"Wharton Furnace from the Canal at Wharton." [looking north]
64.
"Wharton from the Wharton Furnace on the Canal." [looking west]
"Wharton from the Wharton Furnace on the Canal." [looking west]
65.
"Plane No.7, near Port Washington." [looking northwest]
"Plane No.7, near Port Washington." [looking northwest]
66.
"Canal showing Lock 4 West, near Lowrance's Landing." [Guinea Hollow Lock, Elsie's Tavern; looking north]
"Canal showing Lock 4 West, near Lowrance's Landing." [Guinea Hollow Lock, Elsie's Tavern; looking north]
67.
"Canal and Plane 1 East, Shippenport." [looking north]
"Canal showing Lock 4 West, near Lowrance's Landing." [Guinea Hollow Lock, Elsie's Tavern; looking north]
68.
"Canal near Waterloo."
"Canal near Waterloo."
69.
"Canal at Waterloo." [questionable]
"Canal at Waterloo." [questionable]
70.
"Lock 5 West, near Hackettstown." [Saxton Falls; looking northeast]
"Lock 5 West, near Hackettstown." [Saxton Falls; looking northeast]
71.
"Hackettstown." [West of Hackettstown, looking northeast; Centenary College in the distance]
"Hackettstown." [West of Hackettstown, looking northeast; Centenary College in the distance]
72.
"Canal East of Hackettstown."
"Canal East of Hackettstown."
73.
"Hackettstown, Canal on the North East." [possibly taken from Centenary College; canal on the left center; looking northeast]
"Hackettstown, Canal on the North East." [possibly taken from Centenary College; canal on the left center; looking northeast]
74.
"Hackettstown, looking South from the Canal." [looking southeast]
"Hackettstown, looking South from the Canal." [looking southeast]
75.
"Canal west of Hackettstown." [Washington crossed out; image is identical to #71]
"Canal west of Hackettstown." [Washington crossed out; image is identical to #71]


Consult the Reference services page and/or the Guide to Reproduction and Research Services, Policies and Fees for information on reproduction of images included in this collection.


Created September 2003


Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations