njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Commission to Investigate and Report upon the Abandonment of Navigation of the Morris Canal
Series: Reports and Photographs, 1903
Accession #: 1979.005
Series #:  SZMOR001
Guide Date:   3/1992 (JK); rev. (LHB)
Volume:  0.5 c.f. [1 box]


Content Note | Contents


Page 1: Images 1-17, Jersey City to Bloomfield
Page 2: Images 18-32, East of Paterson to Montville
Page 3: Images 33-52, East of Boonton to Wharton

Page 4: Images 53-75, Ledgewood to West of Hackettstown
Page 5: Images 76-91, Near Port Colden to Phillipsburg


Images 76-91, Near Port Colden to Phillipsburg

No.
Caption
Image
76.
"Canal near Port Colden." [actually at Port Colden; looking north]
"Canal near Port Colden." [actually at Port Colden; looking north]
77.
"Near Port Colden and Port Murray, Plane 6 West in the distance." [looking east from below Plane 6 West, Port Colden]
"Near Port Colden and Port Murray, Plane 6 West in the distance." [looking east from below Plane 6 West, Port Colden]
78.
"Canal near Port Murray."
"Canal near Port Murray."
79.
"Washington, looking West."
"Washington, looking West."
80.
"The Canal at Washington." [looking southwest]
"The Canal at Washington." [looking southwest]
81.
"Foot of Plane 9 West, Port Warren." [looking east]
"Foot of Plane 9 West, Port Warren." [looking east]
82.
"Brass Castle, near Port Washington on the Canal."
"Brass Castle, near Port Washington on the Canal."
83.
"Canal at Broadway."
"Canal at Broadway."
84.
"Edison's Portland Cement Works at New Village Landing."
"Edison's Portland Cement Works at New Village Landing."
85.
"Canal at Stewartsville." [looking northeast]
"Canal at Stewartsville." [looking northeast]
86.
"Lock 10 West, Green's Bridge." [looking northeast]
"Lock 10 West, Green's Bridge." [looking northeast]
87.
"Cooper's Furnace, near Phillipsburg, on the Canal." [actually at Phillipsburg; photo may have been printed backwards]
"Cooper's Furnace, near Phillipsburg, on the Canal." [actually at Phillipsburg; photo may have been printed backwards]

88.

 

"Cooper's Furnace. Canal on the North." [Canal in foreground; Delaware River in background; looking south]
"Cooper's Furnace. Canal on the North." [Canal in foreground; Delaware River in background; looking south]
89.
"The Canal Boats at Port Delaware." [looking southeast]
"The Canal Boats at Port Delaware." [looking southeast]
90.
"Plane at Port Delaware, showing the Entrance to the Canal from the Delaware River, boarded up." [entrance arch boarded up; looking northwest]
"Plane at Port Delaware, showing the Entrance to the Canal from the Delaware River, boarded up." [entrance arch boarded up; looking northwest]
91.
"Entrance to Canal from Delaware River, closed up, showing the abandonment of the Canal." [looking down Plane 11 West, toward the Delaware River; canal arch boarded up; looking northwest]
"Entrance to Canal from Delaware River, closed up, showing the abandonment of the Canal." [looking down Plane 11 West, toward the Delaware River; canal arch boarded up; looking northwest]


Consult the Reference services page and/or the Guide to Reproduction and Research Services, Policies and Fees for information on reproduction of images included in this collection.


Created September 2003


Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations