njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group:

New Jersey State Board of Examiners of Nurses

Accession #: 1986.022



Institutional History

The New Jersey State Board of Examiners of Nurses was established by "An Act to regulate the practice of nursing in the State of New Jersey, to register nurses with the privilege of using the abbreviation 'R. N.' and to punish persons violating the provisions thereof," which was passed by the state legislature on 1 April 1912 (Laws of 1912, chap. 354). Composed of five experienced nurses, the board was given the authority to hold examinations for the purpose of qualifying nurses for state registration. Applicants were required to be twenty-one years of age, of good moral character, having grammar school and high school certificates (or their equivalent), and a graduate of a training school for nurses meeting specified criteria. Registered nurse certificates were granted to applicants scoring at least 70% on the examination overall, and at least 60% in each subject. The certificates were also recorded by the county clerk in the nurse's county of residence.

The 1912 legislation further provided for registration without examination for qualified nurses who had graduated prior to passage of the law, as well as reciprocal registration of nurses registered by other states. The board was also authorized to revoke a certificate by unanimous vote in cases of proved dishonesty, incompetence, unsafe habits, or fraud.

The State Board of Examiners of Nurses continued in operation under this name for thirty-five years. In 1947, however, the agency was reconstituted as the New Jersey Board of Nursing and given expanded responsibilities: e.g., the accreditation of nursing schools (Laws of 1947, chap. 262).



Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations