njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group:

New Jersey State Board of Examiners of Nurses

Series: Logbooks of Applications for Examination and Reciprocity, 1912-1932
Accession #: 1986.022
Series #:  SZNUR001
Guide Date: 5/1993 (JK)
Volume: 1 c.f. [10 vols.]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

The logbooks included in this series contain abstracts of applications for registration from the period 1912-1932. While the format of the abstracts varies over the years, the following information is usually recorded: application number and date received, nurse's name and address, education and training information, date of diploma, date of certificate (if registered), and comments regarding the application (e.g., re: questions not answered). The abstracts were apparently discontinued after 1932, since the information required by law to be recorded for each applicant was included in the board's registers.

NOTE: Applications for registration by reciprocity were at first logged along with applications for examination (in volume nos. 5-9). Beginning in 1923, however, applications for reciprocity were assigned "R" numbers and abstracted in separate logbooks (volume nos. 2 & 3). Volume No. 4 is an index of registered nurses corresponding to the first three logbooks (nos. 5-7). Arranged by the initial-letter of the surname only, the index provides both application and registration numbers.



Contents

No. Description Dates
 4 Index of Registered Nurses 1912-1914
 5 Applications for Examination, #399-796 1913
 6 Applications for Examination, #797-1119 1914
 7 Applications for Examination, #1120-1663 1914
 8 Applications for Examination, #1664-2278 1914-1922
 9 Applications for Examination, #2279-3167 1918-1924
10 Applications for Examination, #3168-5258 1924-1929
11 Applications for Examination, #5259-6568 1929-1931
 2 Applications by Reciprocity, Book I 1923-1931
 3 Applications by Reciprocity, Book II 1931-1932

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations