njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Board of Pharmacy
Series: Records, 1900-1958
Accession #: 1992.002
Series #:  SZPHA001
Guide Date:  2/1992 (JK)
Volume: 2.5 c.f. [3 boxes]


Contents

Institutional History

To regulate the practice of pharmacy in New Jersey (including state registration of pharmacists), the Board of Pharmacy was first established by legislative act on 9 March 1877 (see P.L. 1877, chap. 133, and others). After the reorganization of state government in 1948 (resulting from the 1947 constitution), the board was assigned to the administration of the Department of Law and Public Safety, Division of Professional Boards.

Dr. Robert P. Fischelis served as secretary of the board from 1926 to 1944. While his papers contain information about the board from as early as 1900 and as late as 1958, the records primarily relate to his tenure as secretary. These records were originally part of Dr. Fischelis's personal papers belonging to the State Historical Society of Wisconsin, and were transferred to the New Jersey State Archives in 1992.

This series includes Minutes and Monthly Reports, Annual Reports and Audits, State Board Examination Materials and Subject Files. The minutes of meetings of the Board of Pharmacy have been filed by month, and can include the following: rough minutes and notes; final minutes; and monthly reports of the treasurer, inspections committee, chemist, etc., for the previous month. The annual report files can contain the following: final annual reports; preliminary reports to the New Jersey Pharmaceutical Association; treasurer's fiscal reports; notes and statistics. The series also includes two audit reports by the Office of the State Auditor for 1935-1937 and 1943-1944. The Subject files include correspondence, reports, statistical information, copies of legislation, and copies of forms and notices.



Contents

Box 1
  Minutes and Monthly Reports
    August 1926 - December 1937

Box 2
  Minutes and Monthly Reports [cont'd]
    January 1938 - August 1944
  Annual Reports and Audits
    Annual Reports, FY 1928/29 - 1943/44 and 1949/5
    Audits, 1935-1937 and 1943-1944
  State Board Examination Materials
    General information and announcements, 1918-1943
    Applications, 1924 and 1934
    Registered Pharmacist examinations, 1929-1943
    Registered Assistant Pharmacist examinations, 1928-1932
    Laboratory and written examinations, 1932-1934
    Practical Pharmacy examinations, 1931-1937
    Statistics, 1900-1944

Box 3
  Subject Files
1.   Miscellaneous correspondence and notes, 1926-1944
2.   Analysis of drug samples, 1933-1938
3.   Apprentices, 1927
4.   Budget information, 1933-1943
5.   Certificates, Program of Awards for, 28 June 1934
6.   Complaints, 1928-1937
7.   County Allied Medical Professions - delegates to state conference and county conferences, 1941
8.   Education, 1933
9.   Hospital questionnaire, 1930
10.   Inspection of pharmacies, 1931-1944
11.    Legislation, 1901-1958
12.    New Jersey Pharmaceutical Association, 1929-1942
13.    Notices to merchants, 1934-1937
14.    Pharmacy schools, 1926 
15.    Practical experience regulations, 1936 
16.    Prescription scales - specifications and tolerances, New Jersey Department of Weights and Measures, 1940
17.    Registration of pharmacies/permits - forms and form letters, 1934-1948
18.    Resolutions of the Board, 1916-1943
19.    Rules and regulations of the Board, 1901-1922 
20.    Slot machines in drug stores, 1938
21.    Statistics - pharmacies, 1934-1942
22.    Statistics - pharmacists, 1937-1943
23.    Violations of pharmacy law, 1924-1938
24.    Vitamins, 1942

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations