njhome my new jersey people business government departments
Archives collection guides


Record Group: Public Library Commission of New Jersey
Series: Annual Reports, 1923-1944
Accession #: 1993.026
Series #:  SZPUL001
Guide Date:   3/1993 (JK)
Volume:  0.25 c.f. [20 reports]


Content Note | Contents

Institutional History

The Public Library Commission of New Jersey was created in the year 1900 by "An Act to promote the establishment and efficiency of free public libraries," passed by the state legislature on March 20th of that year (Laws of 1900, chap. 62). The five-member commission was given the responsibility of advising interested persons on the establishment, maintenance, and administration of free public libraries, and on the selection and cataloging of books. The commission was also authorized to make donations to free public libraries for the purpose of book purchases.

New Jersey's Public Library Commission existed as an independent body until March 1945, at which time it became the advisory board of the newly created Division of the State Library, Archives and History, within the New Jersey Department of Education (Laws of 1945, chap. 50).


Content Note

This series consists of a near-complete set of typed (carbon duplicate or mimeographed) annual reports of the Public Library Commission submitted to Governors Silzer, Moore, Larson, Hoffman, Edison, and Edge during the period 1923-1944. Two reports were missing at the time of accession: 1923-1924 and 1935-1936. The reports contain information on commission programs and appropriations, and on the establishment of public libraries in New Jersey.



Contents

1922-1923
  1933-1934
1924-1925
  1934-1935
1925-1926
  1936-1937
1926-1927
  1937-1938
1927-1928
  1938-1939
1928-1929
  1939-1940
1929-1930
  1940-1941
1930-1931
  1941-1942
1931-1932
  1942-1943
1932-1933
  1943-1944

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations