njhome my new jersey people business government departments
Archives collection guides


Record Group: Public Record Office
Series: Publications Relating to Public Records in New Jersey, 1899-1940
Accession #: 1993.088
Series #:  SZPUR001
Guide Date:   3/1994 (JK); rev. 7/2003 (EC)
Volume:  0.25 c.f. [5 vols., 1 photocopy, 20 circular letters]


Institutional History | Contents

Content Note

The Public Records Office was established by the New Jersey Legislature on 26 March 1920 to examine the condition of public records throughout the state and to "acquire, preserve, classify and collate official records, letters and other material bearing upon the history of the government and the people of New Jersey" (P.L. 1920, chap. 46, p. 93). This series consists of published material relating to public records in New Jersey, including two reports which predate the creation of the Public Records Office. Also included are twenty circular letters from the Public Records Office issued during the period 1920-1940, reporting new regulations or legislation.



Contents

1. First Report of the Public Record Commission. (New Jersey Public Record Commission, 1899).
2. The Public Archives of New Jersey. (Washington D.C.: American Historical Society, 1903) [photocopy].
3. Report on the Condition of the Public Records of New Jersey by a Committee of Citizens to the Legislature, Session of 1917. (Trenton, NJ: 1917) [2 copies, 1 disbound].
4. Condition of the Public Records in the State of New Jersey. (New Jersey Public Records Office, 1921).
5. Public Records Office circular letters, 1920-1940 [20 items].

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations