njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Board of Public Utility Commissioners
Series: Annual Reports of Municipal Water Departments, 1913-1958
Accession #: 1975.006
Series #:  SZPUU001
Guide Date:  2/1993 (JK)
Volume: 1.3 c.f. [4 boxes, 87 reports]


Contents

Content Note

The Board of Public Utility Commissioners was created to replace the State Board of Railroad Commissioners by an act of the New Jersey legislature passed 31 December 1910 (Laws of 1910, chap. 41). This legislation gave the new board expanded jurisdiction to include all public utilities (e.g. gas, water, electric power, telephone, and telegraph companies), as well as transportation companies. Subsequent legislation passed in 1911, further expanding the board's authority, gave it the power to require from every public utility annual reports of finances and operations (Laws of 1911, chap. 195).

This series consists of a sampling of municipal water department annual reports to the Board of Public Utility Commissioners from the period 1913-1958. Four municipalities in Bergen and Hudson counties are represented. While the printed report form saw minor variations over the years, it generally included space for recording at least the following information: directors' names/terms and officers' names; asset and liability balances; funded/long-term debt; reserve accounts; income, earned surplus, and profit/loss; operating revenues and expenses; length of mains; employees and wages; consumers' services; data on fire hydrants; territory served; data on consumers' meters; rents; and sources of water supply. Each report also contains a sworn verification of the report information, signed by the president and treasurer of the company.



Contents

Box 1
  Jersey City, Hudson Co., 1955-1958 [4 items].
  Lyndhurst Twp., Bergen Co., 1917-1932 [16 items].
Box 2 
  Lyndhurst Twp., Bergen Co., 1933-1936, 1938, 1939, 1941-1954 [20 items].
Box 3
  Lyndhurst Twp., Bergen Co., 1955-1958 [4 items].
  North Arlington Bor., Bergen Co., 1913-1916, 1918-1930, 1933-1936 [22 items].
Box 4
  North Arlington Bor., Bergen Co., 1937-1954 [18 items].
  Union Twp., Bergen Co., 1914-1916 [3 items].

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations