njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: New Jersey Salvage Committee
Series: Records, 1942-1944
Accession #: Unknown
Series #: 

SZSAL001

Guide Date:  Pre-1998 (DJ)
Volume: 3 c.f. [4 boxes]


Content Note | Contents

Institutional History

The New Jersey State Salvage Committee originated as early as March 1942, but its existence remains largely undocumented until Charles A. Eaton, then executive vice-president of the New Jersey State Chamber of Commerce, was appointed chairman in July. His time was probably loaned to the committee by the chamber, because he continued to operate from its office in Newark. Beginning in December 1942, he was assisted in the same office by an administrative director, Robert B. Skinner. The committee's authority came from a hybrid of state and federal jurisdictions. Eaton received his appointment from Governor Charles Edison, and was notified of the same by Leonard Dreyfuss, state civilian defense director. Dreyfuss's office was created by P.L. 1942, c. 251, passed May 23.

The committee appears to have received direction principally from Clinton M. White, the executive secretary for New Jersey of the General Salvage Branch, Conservation Division, of the federal War Production Board. The board itself had been created by executive order of President Roosevelt on January 16, 1942. The salvage committee's authority to accept federal direction probably derived from P.L. 1941, c. 393, passed December 23, which sweepingly empowered the governor "to render to the government of the United States, ...any and all resources within the state." Among its many activities, the War Production Board directed the salvage and recycling of fat, rubber, tin, and newspapers to support wartime production. It operated through a field structure that included 12 regional offices and 101 district offices. Oddly, however, neither these records nor histories of the board indicate that New Jersey (or Newark, where Clinton White's office was located) served as either a regional or district office.


Bibliography

Blum, John Morton, V Was for Victory. Harvest/HBJ, New York, 1976.

Civilian Production Administration, Bureau of Demobilization, Field Organization and Administration of the War
      Production Board and Predecessors, May 1940 to November 1945
. Historical Reports on War Administration:
      War Production Board, Special Study No. 25.


Content Note

The records consist of correspondence files, minutes, press releases, other publicity, local salvage ordinances, and financial records. The correspondence files contain the most useful information, tracing the activities of the committee from March 1942 to September 1944. They are primarily of three types: 1) Eaton's and Skinner's correspondence with Clinton White, of the War Production Board's Newark branch, addressing key aspects of the salvage programs; 2) their correspondence with the business community to encourage its participation; and 3) internal correspondence between Eaton and Skinner and the district chairmen that document most of the day-to-day operations of the committee. Since there are few other organizational materials, the correspondence files serve as the principal record of the committee's structure and activities. Less crucial to the committee's documentation are administrative files: a ledger book, and a few folders of minutes, press releases, and newsclippings. Rounding out the collection are several publicity files of the War Production Board and other non-New Jersey salvage organizations, including newsletters, advertisements and posters.

In processing these records, the following types of documents were destroyed: duplicate copies, newsclippings not directly related to the activities of the committee, canceled checks, and letters documenting the monthly reimbursements made to members of the committee.



Contents

Box 1

Correspondence, March - June 1942
Correspondence, July 1942
Correspondence, August 1942
Correspondence, September - October 1942
Correspondence, November 1942
Correspondence, December 1942
Correspondence, January 1943
Correspondence, February 1943
Correspondence, March 1943
Correspondence, April 1943
Correspondence, May 1943
Correspondence, June 1943
Correspondence, July 1943
Correspondence, August 1943
Correspondence, September 1943
Correspondence, October 1943
Correspondence, November - December 1943
Correspondence, January 1944

Box 2

Correspondence, February 1944
Correspondence, March 1944
Correspondence, April - September 1944


Committee administration:

Ledger Book - Receipts/Disbursements, December 1942 - September 1944
Lists of County/Regional/Local Chairmen, January 1943, September 1943 & undated
Local ordinances regarding tin cans, November - December 1942
Meeting Minutes, December 1942 & February 1944
Publicity (Releases), June 1942 - March 1944
Radio Programs, December 1942 & undated


Non-New Jersey Publicity files:

Fat Salvage Committee Releases, not dated
The Scrapper, published by American Industries Salvage Committee, not dated
Newsclippings - New Jersey, March 1942 - March 1944
Newsclippings - other, 1942 - 1943
Publications Citing Salvage Activities in New Jersey, various dates
Publications Citing Salvage Activities Across U.S., various dates
War Production Board Bulletins, April - May 1943
War Production Board Posters and Leaflets, various dates
War Production Board Publications, 1941 - 1943
War Production Board Publications, 1944
War Production Board Releases and Field Service Memos, June 1942 - July 1943

Box 3

Unprocessed Material

Box 4

Weeded Material


Created November 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations