njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: New Jersey Social Security Commission
Series: Minutes and Reports, 1935-1936
Accession #: 1992.004, 1996.023
Series #:  SZSOC001
Guide Date:   1/1992 (JK)
Volume:  0.25 c.f. [1 box]


Contents

Content Note

The New Jersey Social Security Commission was created by the legislature on 18 May 1935 by Joint Resolution Nos. 7 & 15. The commission of nine unpaid members was charged with the duty of studying "the problems of unemployment insurance, the liberalization of old age relief, compulsory retirement annuity legislation, aid to dependent or crippled children, maternal and child welfare, public health, and the aid to the blind in co-operation with the Federal government." This series of commission minutes and Report No. 1 belonged to Dr. Robert P. Fischelis, a member of the Social Security Commission from its organization on 13 August 1935 to its final meeting on 2 December 1936. The records were removed from Dr. Fischelis's personal papers maintained by the State Historical Society of Wisconsin and transferred to the New Jersey State Archives in 1992. Copies of the Commission's published Reports No. 1 and 2 [items 3 and 4 below] have also been added.



Contents

1. Minutes, 1935-1936:
  a. 13 August 1935
  b. 19 September 1935
  c. 26 September 1935
  d. 7 October 1935
  e. 16 October 1935
  f. 22 November 1935
  g. 4 December 1935
  h. 12 December 1935
  i. 20 December 1935
  j. 2 January 1936
  k. 10 January 1936
  l. 17 January 1936
  m. 31 January 1936
  n. 20 March 1936
  o. 27 March 1936
  p. 3 April 1936
  q. 14 April 1936
  r. 23 July 1936
  s. 10 September 1936
  t. 16 October 1936
  u. 13 November 1936
  v. 2 December 1936
2. Report No. 1, Analysis of Federal Act: Recommendations to the New Jersey Legislature..., January 1936 [typescript].
3. Report No. 1, Analysis of Federal Act: Recommendations to the New Jersey Legislature..., January 1936 [published version].
4. Report No. 2, Report on Unemployment Compensation: To the Honorable Harold G. Hoffman, Governor..., December 1936 [published version].

Created April 2004
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations