njhome my new jersey people business government departments
Archives collection guides


Record Group: New Jersey State Commission of the South Jersey Exposition (1926)
Series: Report and Photographs, 1926
Accession #: 1992.073
Series #:  SZSOU001
Guide Date:   8/1992 (JK)
Volume:  2 vols. [2 copies of 1 report]


Content Note

Institutional History

The South Jersey Exposition was held at the Camden Civic Center during July-September 1926 to commemorate the opening of the Delaware River bridge. The event was designed to advertize the industrial, agricultural, residential, and recreational advantages of southern New Jersey counties. By Joint Resolution No. 15, passed 1 April 1926, the state legislature authorized the creation of a special commission for state participation in the exposition. The commission was composed of twenty-two members, with the following officers: Volney Bennett (Camden County), President; James J. Scott, Secretary-Treasurer; and J. David Stern (Camden County), Vice President. With an appropriation of $50,000, the commission arranged exhibits intended to better acquaint the public with the functions and activities of state departments. During their three-month display, the state exhibits were viewed by approximately 275,000 visitors. The commission awarded engraved diplomas to the participating departments (whose directors personally manned the exhibits).


Content Note

The report of the State Commission of the South Jersey Exposition is essentially a photograph album showing the various state government displays at the exposition. The photographs are 8"x10" B&W glossy prints; each is accompanied by a description of the exhibit shown. This series includes two copies of the commission report, one of which was apparently presented to Governor A. Harry Moore.


 
Created April 2004  

Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations