njhome my new jersey people business government departments


Record Group: Bureau of Statistics of Labor and Industries
Series: Annual Reports, 1878-1917
Accession #: 1993.081, 1999.070, 2001.13
Series #:  SZSTX001
Guide Date: 11/1993 (EC); rev. 7/2005 (LB)
Volume: 9 c.f. [9 boxes, 101 vols.]


Content Note | Contents

Institutional History

In 1878, the Bureau of Statistics of Labor and Industries was established by the New Jersey Legislature to "collect, assort, systematize and present in annual reports to the legislature ... statistical details relating to all departments of labor in the state, especially in its relations to commercial, industrial, social, educational and sanitary condition of the laboring classes" (P.L. 1878, chap. 105, p. 169). The agency's name was changed to the Bureau of Industrial Statistics in 1914 (P.L. 1914, chap. 156, p. 287) and merged with the Department of Labor in 1915 (P.L. 1915, chap. 351, p. 657), where it continued to publish the annual reports until 1917.



Content Note

This series consists of the annual reports of the Bureau of Statistics of Labor and Industries to the New Jersey Legislature. The reports provide detailed information on New Jersey manufacturing, trade and agriculture. Report formats varied from year to year, as did subject matter. The following information was regularly included: business openings and closings, goods produced, employment rates, wages, industrial accidents, and trade union activities. In addition to raw data, throughout the series are special reports covering a variety of topics, for example: "Pauperism" (1883), "The Oyster Industry of New Jersey" (1896), and "Economic Changes in the Building Trades" (1907). Volumes up to 1894 include both a table of contents and a subject index; after 1894, only the table of contents is included. Reports up to the year 1904 are also indexed in Adelaide R. Hasse's Index of Economic Material in Documents of the States of the United States: New Jersey, 1789-1904, which is available in the Archives Search Room.



Contents

Box 1
1878 [2 copies]
1879 [2 copies]
1880 [3 copies]
1881 [2 copies]
1882 [3 copies]
Box 2
1883 [3 copies]
1884 [3 copies]
1885 [3 copies]
1886
Box 3
1886 [2 copies]
1887 [2 copies]
1888 [3 copies]
1889 [2 copies]
Box 4
1889 [2 copies]
1890
1891
1892 [2 copies]
1893
1894
1895 [2 copies]
1896
Box 5
1896 [2 copies]
1897 [3 copies]
1898 [3 copies]
1899 [3 copies]
Box 6
1900
1901 [3 copies]
1902 [3 copies]
1903 [3 copies]
1904
Box 7
1904
1905 [2 copies]
1906 [4 copies]
1907 [2 copies]
Box 8
1907
1908 [2 copies]
1909 [3 copies]
1910 [4 copies]
1911 [3 copies]
1912
Box 9
1912 [4 copies]
1913 [2 copies]
1914 [4 copies]
1915 [2 copies]
1916 [2 copies]
1917

Created January 2006
Contact Information below

Relative to research and mail reference services - archives.reference@sos.state.nj.us
Relative to records transfers and donations - archives.collections@sos.state.nj.us


225 West State Street
P.O. Box 307
Trenton, NJ 08625-0307
609.292.6260 (general information)
609.633.8334 (administrative office)
609.292.9105 (fax)


Please send comments concerning this website to: webmaster.darm@sos.state.nj.us
Link to the State of New Jersey, Department of State Open Public Records Act (OPRA) Web Page
New Jersey State Archives Catalog Searchable Databases Image Collections Documentary Treasures Reference Services Collections Publications Directions Frequently Asked Questions Staff Site Map
 
contact us privacy notice legal statement NJ Home
department: njsos home | opra
njdarm: home | about us | state archives | records management | microgaphics & imaging | records storage | related organizations
statewide: njhome | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2003-2004
New Jersey State Archives Site Map Frequently Asked Questions Staff Directions Publications Reference Services Searchable Databases Imaged Collections Documentary Treasures Catalog Collections New Jersey Department of State Click here to go to NJDARM Home Click here to learn About Us Click here to learn What's New at Darm Click here to go to Records Management Click here to go to Micrographics Click here to go to Records Storage Click here to see Related Organizations